We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to Stay at in the Diamond City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Kimberley
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have stayed at this establishment on numerous occasions and have stayed here again in May 2013. This hotel has always been great and for that reason I have been returning to this place whenever there is a requirement for accommodation in Kimberley.

The rooms are large and neat, but décor slightly outdated. We always have a pleasant experience at this establishment. The breakfast is great and having a good steakhouse attached to the hotel is very welcoming.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

I will return to this hotel the next time I am in Kimberley.

Room Tip: Rooms on all floors appear to be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezign99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and will pass your comments on to our team.
We endeavour to create great experiences and look forward to your next visit.

warm regards
Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 360 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Must say we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff were very friendly, the hotel beautiful, the rooms comfortable and the breakfasts delicious. The staff went the extra mile. Will make a point of staying there when visiting Kimberley.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elize H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review and will pass your comments on to our team and we most definitely look forward to your next visit to Kimberley.

Warm regards
Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good clean and centrally located.I was a bit afraid of drinking the tap water as it was a little off colour so suggest you keep some bottled water handy. The aircon is quite noisy making it difficult to get a good nights sleep especially if you there during the very hot summer months. The hotel doesn't serve lunch or supper but the Spur is connected to the hotel and if you get a bit tired of Spur there is a lovely Italian restaurant within walking distance called Mario's.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizC312612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review and will pass your comments on to our team.
We are due to upgrade our bedrooms in the next couple of months and have made available bottled water from the front desk on request.
We trust we'll be your first port of call on your next vist to Kimberley.

Warm regards
Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Everything was perfect as it should be and the staff was efficient, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic, and the service as well. Will visit the hotel again. Highly recommended. The room was clean, the bathroom well stocked with amnesties.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryperd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review and will pass your comments on to our team.
I'm also glad that you had a wonderfull time in Kimberley and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Although we did not stay at the hotel as it was fully booked, the manager Trevor and his staff went out of their way to find us accommodation when my sister was involved in a car accident last week. We drove from JHB without thinking about a place to stay. Your amazing hospitality made a difference when the family was going through so much. Thanks a million we will never forget it....you reminded us why we love this great country and its people

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridget_mogale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Mrs Mogale, thank you very much for the good review and it was a pleasure
for our team and I to be able to assist you and the family.
I've passed your comments on to our team and we hope to see you in Kimberley
again.

Warm regards
Trevor Philander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you need a clean and decent hotel without a lot of luxuries this hotel is fine.The rooms and bathrooms are basic with soft tones throughout.The bed was comfortable with good linen.The aircon was noisy but worked well in Kimberley's heat.The tv is small with all the basic stations.Amenities: coffee and tea making facilities,hairdryer, shampoo and body wash. The room doesn't have a minibar; but ice is available from the ice machine on the ground floor . Room service is from Spur - adjacent to the hotel. The hotel has a small gym and swimming pool. Breakfast was good with a variety to choose from. The hotel's best asset is their staff - always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zee55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear valued guest, my sincere apology for only responding to your great feedback now.
I've shared your observations and feedback with our whole team and assure you that we are constantly trying to improve and deliver on all our guests expectations. A lot have changed in our rooms and F&B deleivery over the past year and hope you will make this hotel again your prefered stopover when passing through.

Warm regards
Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A nice and clean hotel! Just disappointed now that I see al there facilities like swimming pool and gym as I want to write the review! No-one told us this when we booked in, maybe something that they can work on!

Breakfast was good!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal0mien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you very much for the valuable feedback on your stay with us and your comments on the lack of information regarding our facilities on check in.
This shortcoming have been rectified by our team to ensure that our clients and guests
receive the service and required information when visiting our hotel and make their stay a memorable one.

Once again, thank you for your valuable input.

Warm regards
Trevor Philander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
1.8 mi away
Kimberley Anne Hotel
Kimberley Anne Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kimberley
57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Road Lodge Kimberley
Road Lodge Kimberley
#7 of 10 in Kimberley
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Club
Kimberley Club
#4 of 10 in Kimberley
146 reviews
0 mi away
Diamond Lodge
Diamond Lodge
#6 of 10 in Kimberley
2 reviews
2.8 mi away
Diggies Lodge
Diggies Lodge
#19 of 75 in Kimberley
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kimberley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kimberley

Address: 120 Du Toitspan Way, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Price Range: $142 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kimberley 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by history, the Garden Court Kimberley is located in the heart of South Africa’s diamond capital, and within minutes from the largest man-made excavation in the world, the Big Hole. A short drive from the airport, guests have easy access to the town’s bustling commercial sector, malls, restaurants and numerous historical landmarks and attractions. Rooms are quaint and cosy, thoughtfully furnished to ensure a comfortable stay. Hotel residents receive 350 MB of complimentary WiFi per day . For business travellers, 3 conference venues are available to cater for meetings and gatherings of varying sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court Kimberley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing