We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Trevor and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court Kimberley
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Trevor and staff”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Although we did not stay at the hotel as it was fully booked, the manager Trevor and his staff went out of their way to find us accommodation when my sister was involved in a car accident last week. We drove from JHB without thinking about a place to stay. Your amazing hospitality made a difference when the family was going through so much. Thanks a million we will never forget it....you reminded us why we love this great country and its people

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridget_mogale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mrs Mogale, thank you very much for the good review and it was a pleasure
for our team and I to be able to assist you and the family.
I've passed your comments on to our team and we hope to see you in Kimberley
again.

Warm regards
Trevor Philander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    111
    42
    7
    6
See reviews for
56
25
9
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you need a clean and decent hotel without a lot of luxuries this hotel is fine.The rooms and bathrooms are basic with soft tones throughout.The bed was comfortable with good linen.The aircon was noisy but worked well in Kimberley's heat.The tv is small with all the basic stations.Amenities: coffee and tea making facilities,hairdryer, shampoo and body wash. The room doesn't have a minibar; but ice is available from the ice machine on the ground floor . Room service is from Spur - adjacent to the hotel. The hotel has a small gym and swimming pool. Breakfast was good with a variety to choose from. The hotel's best asset is their staff - always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zee55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear valued guest, my sincere apology for only responding to your great feedback now.
I've shared your observations and feedback with our whole team and assure you that we are constantly trying to improve and deliver on all our guests expectations. A lot have changed in our rooms and F&B deleivery over the past year and hope you will make this hotel again your prefered stopover when passing through.

Warm regards
Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A nice and clean hotel! Just disappointed now that I see al there facilities like swimming pool and gym as I want to write the review! No-one told us this when we booked in, maybe something that they can work on!

Breakfast was good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal0mien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for the valuable feedback on your stay with us and your comments on the lack of information regarding our facilities on check in.
This shortcoming have been rectified by our team to ensure that our clients and guests
receive the service and required information when visiting our hotel and make their stay a memorable one.

Once again, thank you for your valuable input.

Warm regards
Trevor Philander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Check in was slow but friendly. The room was spacious clean and quiet with comfortable bed. Nice touch to include biscuits with the coffee. The bathroom was clean and well appointed. The restaurant is the local branch of Spur, good value for money. Breakfast was pretty basic

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for the review and valuable feedback on your stay with us which will allow
us to improve on our product and service delivery.

Warm regards
Trevor Philander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Nothing particularly wrong with the Holiday Inn Garden Court in Kimberley, but nothing really spectacular. Rooms are of a decent size, limited satellite TV, ok to below average bathroom...it has an integrated bath shower - these things are normally pretty annoying. Buffet breakfasts offer a decent variety of items to kick start your day. The Spur is adjacent to the hotel which is useful for dinners, although the in-room menu could be a little more extensive. Close to most things in Kimberley but, that being said, nothing is really far in Kimberley. Reasonably priced - fine for a business trip. Wouldn't be my choice for a holiday hotel - rather make use of some of the game-type lodges in the Kimberley surrounds (e.g. Dronfield).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flamingmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Staying at any Garden Court hotel is great when you have no idea what accommodation is like in a city. It is reliable, clean and always the same everywhere. Breakfast has a large selection and generally fresh, though overpriced at times

Room Tip: Not such great views. Better on the lower floors as the lift can be slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabeloN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were in Kimberley for a wedding over Easter weekend and it was a pleasant stay. We had requested a crib for our toddler and it was already set up in our room upon check-in. In other Garden Court hotels (e.g. Eastgate Garden Court in Johannesburg), the shower is separate to the bathtub but at this one there was a shower-tub. The general layout/decor of the hotel is a little outdated compared to other hotels in the same chain, but it's a comfortable stay (especially for families).

The gym is small, but adequate for business travellers. The pool was big and clean (didn't try it due to the cool mornings). Breakfast was satisfactory - there's a chef preparing omelettes to-order, continental (cereals, muffins, croissants, yoghurt) and farmhouse (sausage, baked beans, fried potatoes & tomatoes) breakfast items available along with the usual coffee/tea, toast, fruit, etc.

We had an incident with the iron we got from house-keeping - it was old and the protective coating (as well as dial settings) had worn away so it kept 'sticking' to the ironing board, i nearly ruined the scarf i tried to lightly iron (my daughter's pants wasn't so lucky - that just melted away).

The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. I would stay there again if i ever visit Kimberley in the future

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kimberley hotels
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Kimberley
Road Lodge Kimberley
#7 of 10 in Kimberley
31 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimberley Anne Hotel
Kimberley Anne Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kimberley
52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oleander Guest House
Oleander Guest House
#2 of 72 in Kimberley
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Solomon
The Solomon
#20 of 72 in Kimberley
31 reviews
1.7 mi away
Agros Guest House
Agros Guest House
#8 of 72 in Kimberley
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kimberley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kimberley

Property: Garden Court Kimberley
Address: 120 Du Toitspan Way, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kimberley 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by history, the Garden Court Kimberley is located in the heart of South Africa’s diamond capital, and within minutes from the largest man-made excavation in the world, the Big Hole. A short drive from the airport, guests have easy access to the town’s bustling commercial sector, malls, restaurants and numerous historical landmarks and attractions. Rooms are quaint and cosy, thoughtfully furnished to ensure a comfortable stay. Hotel residents receive 350 MB of complimentary WiFi per day . For business travellers, 3 conference venues are available to cater for meetings and gatherings of varying sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court Kimberley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing