We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gannaga Lodge”
Review of Gannaga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northern Cape
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gannaga Lodge
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Four of us were on a motorbike trip circling the Karoo and spent one night at this amazing lodge. Johan and his staff welcomed us and spoilt us. What a beautiful place, on top of a mountain in the middle of nowhere. The rooms of these very old buildings have been beautifully restored with everything that one might need, all the way to electric blankets. We had supper and breakfast there and we were spoilt. Even though we had not booked for lunch, we were starving when we arrived and Johan made us sandwiches from what he could find.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Gannaga Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were traveling with friends through the Tankwa Karroo. After traveling through the magnificent Karroo landscape we arrived at the charming Gannaga Lodge. The manager, Johann, met us with a welcoming smile and directed us to a cosy fire where we could have a well awaited drink.

Dinner was a three course gustatory delight and well worth it. The rooms were rustic but in a charming not a dilapidated sort of way. The rooms have aircon and warm blankets so we were nice and toasty during the night.

The only complaint was the shower the next morning. Very fickle in deed. One minute scorching hot and the next ice cold.

Other than that we had a great stay and felt welcome and relaxed. The area is just magnificently beautiful and well worth a visit.

We stayed at Gannaga Lodge during the winter. They do have a lovely swimming pool with a view stretching over the Karroo. I can just imaging lazy summer afternoons lounging by the pool.

Room Tip: The outside rooms are charming but I suspect more rustic.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We, 2 grandparents, 2 parents, 2 young children, spent 2 nights at Gannaga Lodge. Although the accommodation is quite modest it has all you need and we enjoyed it.
It is inexpensive and very good value.
The rooms are a reasonable size located in old farm buildings. The beds are all singles with immaculate bedding. I personally would prefer the bathrooms to be fully separated from the bedrooms.
The food was good. Set menu. No choices. Lots of delicious Karoo lamb. A vegetarian might find it difficult.
The host, Johann, is extremely helpful with local information. Guests are encouraged to mix.
The surroundings are the Karoo. If you like empty open spaces you will like this. The swimming pool is tiny.
I would certainly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HasHout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had an absolutely marvellous two-night stay. Johan's cooking and Robert's bar service were outstanding. The weather was bitterly cold, but the rooms were warm and the beds couldn't have been more comfortable -- sprung mattresses, snow white linen and electric blankets. The old house where we stayed has a fireplace with no shortage of wood and we were encouraged to keep it on.

On one night we had slow-roasted lamb neck as the main course for dinner. It was the best lamb dish that we have ever eaten.

Johan and the Scot, Robert, were attentive hosts and kept us entertained with with their amusing stories.

We have recommended Gannaga Lodge to friends who came back similarly enthusiatic. Five-star service at two star prices.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiljoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Genuinely sad not to give this a glowing review, but to call it spartan would be kind. The beds we had in the main house were rickety so you thought they'd break if you moved, thin high-density-foam "mattresses" placed on boards tied to the frame by wire. The staff are friendly, but I'm afraid it does not make up for it. We booked for two nights but left after one.

Beautiful location though. Just a shame it's not better implemented maintained and provisioned.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepeckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northern Cape hotels
312.1 mi away
Geluksdam Guest House
Geluksdam Guest House
#1 of 2 in Olifantshoek
9 reviews
298.5 mi away
Onze Rust Guest House & Caravan Park
299.0 mi away
Waterfront Guest House Vanderkloof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
336.5 mi away
Kathu Inn
Kathu Inn
#1 of 3 in Kathu
159 reviews
363.1 mi away
Cunningham Cottage
Cunningham Cottage
#1 of 13 in Kuruman
65 reviews
299.1 mi away
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
#4 of 28 in Colesberg
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gannaga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gannaga Lodge

Address: Tankwa Karoo National Park | Middelpos, 8193, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Northern Cape
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing