We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots and Lots of Game”

Mokala National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lots and Lots of Game”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in Lillydale overlooking the Riet river. The view was beautiful and the unit well equipped. The staff were very friendly and professional. When you go for a game drive you see a lot of game, including mountain reedbuck, sable antelope, swart wit pens, baster gemsbok and many more. We were lucky enough to see a rino. Well worth a visit but just for 2 days.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ToyMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    40
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Unique location, great staff, excellent accommodation - our guide on the night drive were really good - first time saw an aardvark in the wild!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RedRover_no_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Mokala is well worth a visit, wonderful Kalahari scenery. The animals and birds are abundant. The staff at the lodges where helpful and friendly. The chalets were very spacious. The only missing thing was an outside light on the veranda overlooking the Riet River.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New but wonderful”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were very impressed by the quality of the Accomodation and the dining facilities, (and the food!!) The staff were helpful and kind. The Cottage we stayed in was really beautiful, with views over the waterhole. To see the Kudu and the Nyala wander onto the immaculate grass by the restaurant in the evning was out of this world!! We also saw the Rhinos and we felt that the game looked really healthy. It was lovely to see the Sable and Roan Antelope as well. I can thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay for a few days. We stayed for three nights and really felt we benefitted from it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dickthed0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ein Bokek, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“wine land in northern cape town”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The road to northern cape town is not less beutifull. It is worth a while to drive north along the famous wine route all the way to "michel pass"and see the serene and impressive view, as can be seen in the next video : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-wT7UyVmUc
There are rivers, green fields, sheeps and cows, and all sorounded by soft heals.
Sunset time is especially attractive and quiet, as many workers left the fields and the land is empty and clean.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokala National Park also viewed

Northern Cape, South Africa
Northern Cape, South Africa
 
Springbok, Northern Cape
Waterberg, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Mokala National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing