We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change not Good this time round”

StayEasy Emalahleni
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in eMalahleni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
StayEasy Emalahleni
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in eMalahleni
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Change not Good this time round”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My previoius stays at Stay Easy eMalahleni were very pleasant - overall excellence. These were, however, last year. This is my second week here, on business, and, although service is OK .. the breakfast is shocking! Where one was once met with variety, Stay Easy only offers 2 breakfasts - Soggy scrambled eggs with Bacon, or Soggy scrambled eggs with choped up pork sausage. Yes, there are cereals, and slightly fresh fruit, but the muffins are a day old(one has to wait for the refill to get fresh ones, the first serving is rock hard), most mornings only 1 choice of fruit juice, the ham\beef slices are dry(day old?), stale cheese(discolored) ... Very Disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    50
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
13
30
12
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed for one night. For the price, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, and the bedroom and bathroom were both good enough sizes. There was a very small coffee-making area that is sufficient for a short stay.

The hotel is less than a minute's walk from the Casino and shopping mall which has a number of restaurants, shops, and a movie house.

The only negative experience relates to the manager's attitude. I assume it was a manager - he was dressed differently from other staff and came to our table at breakfast to ask if we were finished with the plate next to us and if he could clear it. As it happens, my husband and I had sat at a table that had another table pushed against it with another 2 chairs, and another couple had sat there after we had sat down. We had said, 'hi', to one another and continued our meals. The other couple had each left the table one at a time...it wasn't clear whether they were coming back, but the man had left food on his plate and his cutlery apart, so it looked like he was coming back.
When I said to the manager that the plate wasn't ours but that the couple might not yet be finished, he said, "Ah, well, you never know with THEM, do you?" I was so surprised at his blatant rascism that I couldn't reply before he had left. By now you've picked up that the couple next to us was an African couple. It was disappointing to see that attitude alive and in action.

Room Tip: We asked for a high level room to avoid noise. We were on level 4, I think, and our room faced away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UltraMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Have stayed there twice in the last couple of months and very happy with accommodation both times. Customer service is pretty good but there doesn't seem to be much in the way of handover information or consistency in what some people know. Some people are good and there seems to be a few that aren't so great. All very friendly though. This has been same experience everywhere travelled in South Africa.

If you want non-smoking room make sure you book it as they've only got a few of them.

Business travellers - it doesn't have a gym and the business facilities are 2 desks in foyer, but there's a good desk and decent internet connection in the rooms - at level 4, which is non smoking floor. Can't speak for other floors. There is safe and room and I haven't experienced any issues in safety or any staff that made me feel a little wary so would say felt very secure.

Is attached to mall, so eating and shopping is no problem plus there's the cinema and casino there for entertainment. There's no restaurant in the hotel, so if you've got no transport the mall and restaurants there are your only option.

Don't really agree with previous review about size of room. Think it's certainly average.

Back in October there was a water outage issue in Witbank but wasn't an issue at the hotel as they have their own tanks. That apparently happens a bit there so you'll always be okay at this hotel. Same deal with power too.

Breakfast is really good by the way.

It's not a 5 star resort hotel. But it's clean, furnishings are good and certainly adequate and there's good internet reception and there's nothing major to complain about. All things you want out of a hotel in Witbank.

Room Tip: If you want non-smoking make sure you book non-smoking room and email or phone hotel a couple of day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Spend a night on a trip to Nelspruit. Found the room to be a little on the small side. Was a bit taken aback when we were 1st allocated a room that was smelling of cigarettes. Thank fully we were moved to another room without too much of a hassle. Had an issue with water but we are told thats a problem that affects the whole town. Will need to go back again to make up my mind if l really like it or not.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PASTORTMASUKU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My stay at Stayeasy Emalahleni is always delightful,this is home away from home.Their rooms are clean and well functional,their breakfast is continental but it's basically missing bacon for it to be full breakfast coz they serve everything and the staff is just so friendly and professional and always willing to help.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a room for a night or even a week because of their affordable rates.

Room Tip: For complete comfort,choose the standard double room.it comes with a sleeper couch if you a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonhlanhla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near eMalahleni
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Witbank
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Emalahleni Highveld
0.0 mi away
Kairos Home
Kairos Home
#1 of 2 in Middelburg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Garden Court Milpark
Garden Court Milpark
#14 of 66 in Johannesburg
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
StayEasy Century City
StayEasy Century City
#2 of 3 in Milnerton
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StayEasy Emalahleni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StayEasy Emalahleni

Property: StayEasy Emalahleni
Address: Cnr Mandela Drive and N4 Freeway | Emalahleni, eMalahleni 1038, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > eMalahleni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in eMalahleni
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off the N4 highway between Mpumalanga and Gauteng, StayEasy Emalahleni offers affordable, comfortable accommodation in the town of Emalahleni (previously Witbank). Located on the premises of the Ridge Casino and Entertainment Centre adjacent to the Highveld Mall, guests can enjoy the many restaurants or entertainment activities on offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing