We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambience Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambience Inn
Ranked #9 of 37 White River B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I agree with the comments of the other reviewers. Izzy and Hannes are both excellent hosts and helped out with where to go for supper. The accommodations are clean and comfortable and the property feels safe. The location is great as it is in White River suburbs so shopping and restaurants are easily accessible and so are the main roads to Nelspruit, Hazyview and Sabie. If I need to stay in White River for a couple nights again this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambience I, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the review came as a complete surprise ! Hope to see you both another time. Kind regards, Issy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
32
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Izzy and Hannes are excellent hosts, they were happy to offer advice and information to help us get sorted. Ambience Inn is a little oasis with beautiful gardens and eclectic decor. We were very comfortable in our rooms and made to feel very welcome indeed. Our breakfast was deliciously fresh and tasty. If you are visiting Nelspruit/White River, definately consider staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estherMaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambience I, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guests, we are delighted to read your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you Hannes & Issy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I decided last minute to travel to White River and we were lucky to find Ambience Inn on the travel website. I was highly impressed with the pictures on the website and it was my first choice out of guesthouses in the area. Hannes was very friendly and helpful when we made the booking literally an hour before we got there. And the welcome was warm. The guesthouse is beautiful and in a stunning part of town - a real hidden gem at the end of the cul-de-sac.

Loved the outdoor shower and pool.

We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicqi_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambience I, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for your words of encouragement. and the overwhelmingly positive review, regards Hannes and Issy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very comfortable rooms including fridge, showers (indoor and outdoor) with verandahs set in magnificent garden with attractive sub tropical plants. You will need to do a few laps of the 20m pool before settling down to the sumptuous breakfast. Fruit platter is as aesthetically pleasing as delicious, following by generous cooked breakfast. Management is first class and nothing was too much trouble for our party, including preparing breakfast very early for some and late for others.
Very highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambience I, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time during your holidays to write a review. It was pleasure to be of service to you all and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope yo see you another time, Issy .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Ambience Inn is a wonderful place! Very tastfully furnished rooms with pivate backyards also with outdoor showers. Incredibly beautiful garden with a nice pool. The Hosts Issy and Hannes serve a delicious breakfast and take very good care of their guests. This was my third visit and I can really recommend Ambience Inn!

Room Tip: All six rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambience I, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Ambience. Al the best for 2013, Issy & Hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Warm welcome from the owners, lovely house and gardens, very confortable room with king bed, indoor and outdoor shower plus fridge in the room, royal breakfast, beautiful swimming-pool and guest areas - Just the perfect B&B in White River.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline-de-Vienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambience I, Owner at Ambience Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks for your delightful review. We wish you a great 2013 and look forward to seeing you again. Issy & Hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

With the beautiful gardens, relaxed atmosphere and most wonderfull hosts, always a place where you can relax and find calmness in a otherwise hectic lifestyle. The rooms are spacious and very clean. I have visit them on several occasions and will definitely stay there again. I already have reccomended them to other travelers as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these White River hotels
3.2 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ilanda Guest House
ilanda Guest House
#7 of 37 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nut Grove Manor
Nut Grove Manor
#2 of 37 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambience Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambience Inn

Property: Ambience Inn
Address: 28 Wally Scott Street | White River, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambience Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ambience Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambience Inn White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing