We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 as our family holiday Christmas getaway. We rather disappointed as they advised that the hotel had an extensive upgrade. It was lacking character and felt cold. The facilities are old and few. The food is great and in abundance. The hotel is fine for a stop to do and see other attractions in the area, but does not offer much for family entertainment at the hotel. Dinner is expensive! While in the area, try induna adventures for some white water rafting, was great family fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear "Carla L",

Thank you for your candid feedback on our tripadvisor page. Clearly, we are disappointed to hear we have not been able to exceed your expectations, especially when it comes to our facilities on offer. The hotel has been refurbished some years ago and generally our facilities are perceived positively by our guest. Unfortunately, we have not been able to live up to your expectations, which we sincerely regret.

The kids zone, garden play sections and swimming pool facilities are available at the hotel but we will most definitely look at further enhancing our kids facilities, especially over the holiday periods as mentioned in your review. Thank you for pointing out this improvement area.

We do sincerely hope you will allow us to welcome you back at the Protea Hotel The Winkler, allowing the TEAM to restore your confidence in our hospitality and service.

Yours sincerely,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    99
    54
    15
    17
See reviews for
63
76
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel. Very surprised at this stunning hotel. The location is beautiful amongst the vast roaming hills and rich vegetation. The hotel grounds are so well maintained and ideal for day or night walks. The staff were very helpful at all times. The rooms are very comfortable, well furnished, and very clean. Activities for the kids, which is a bonus. Evening drinks on the porch out side the bar was very refreshing. Lovely and relaxing view. The buffet dinner could however do with some sprucing up. Was a bit disappointing. Planning on going back though. Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are the best, you get an overall view of the roaming hills, vegetation and the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kershree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear "Keshree",

On behalf of the entire TEAM, I thank you for your kind recommendations. Your detailed comments on our services and facilities are much appreciated and will be celebrated with all team members. I will discuss your comments on the buffet offering with our kitchen TEAM and use this during our monthly review.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the tranquility and beauty of our hotel grounds and of course the stunning views of the Lowveld. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon upon your return to Mpumalanga!

Warm regards,


Charmaine Kotze - General manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group while visiting Kruger national park. It was a nicely laid out hotel with a nice pool, beautiful grounds and patios where you could sit out and enjoy the grounds. It's about 45 minutes to the park but a nice place to return to with good food at the restaurant. Water in the room and a safe. Rooms are a bit dated.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank belllasadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear "belllasadie",

We much appreciate your kind and honest feedback on your recent stay with us during your visit to South Africa. We are happy to hear that we have been able to create a comfortable stay and you have enjoyed the views from our patio at the hotel, overlooking the lush hotel gardens and pool.

Do make sure you pay us another visit when returning to South Africa in future.

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here in Feb, 2013. Staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Ate breakfast and dinner which were great both days. Good variety of fruits and veggies. Maddy's omelettes were great. Big plus, the air conditioner worked very well although at night it wasn't needed just to cool off the room in the heat of the day. The entire property is beautiful from the entrance atrium to the pool and open property area behind the hotel. We were visited by massive crickets during the night so it was a surprise in the morning. Just shooed them back outside. About 20 minutes to the entrance gate of Kruger National Park. Well worth considering as a place to stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrottersx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear "Globetrottersx2",


We are thrilled to hear that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to the beautiful Kruger Park area... Next time around, we will make sure we scare the crickets away before arrival... :0

Greetings form the entire TEAM at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again in future.

Yours sincerely,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a great stay here. We coincided with the Ethiopian national football team which was a bonus! The staff are great and really go the extra mile. The room we had was a little close to the road but with earplugs we had a good night's sleep. The bed was comfortable and the room looked onto the gardens. The food was plentiful and good value. The grounds are lovely - very extensive and peaceful. The pool is a bonus. If we were wanting to get to Kruger again from OR Tambo, we would certainly break our journey here. It is very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear "London_Travellers_09",

Thank you for the kind recommendations! The TEAM and I appreciated this tremendously. We are thrilled to hear we have been able to make your stay a comfortable one while visiting the beautiful Mpumalanga province.

Do make sure you pay us another visit soon when returning to South Africa!

Greetings from the TEAM at Protea hotel The Winkler,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The lighting in the bathroom was so so very dim; yet outside of the bathroom was brightly lit. There was no mirror there to do your makeup. Our friends next door to us had to call maintenance because her bathroom was darker than ours. It was not taken care of until the evening after our return from the day long safari. The front office personnel were rude and uncaring to a simple request such as could you break down this 100 Rand note so that I could leave something for the maid. The answer was "no". However, the staff in the restaurant were nice and helpful. The box lunch that they prepared for the safari was dismal; so gave it away and simply purchased something along one of the stops. There were a lot of creepy crawlers outside of the door.

Room Tip: We were with Smartours so everything was prearranged. Navigating steps to the room lugging your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kshlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear "kshlee",

On behalf of the Protea hotel The Winkler TEAM, I would like to offer my most sincere apologies for the various issues experienced with the lighting in your room while staying with us. We sincerely appreciate your candid feedback - as it’s only with true and constructive feedback that we can correct our errors and strive to improve our facilities.

Secondly, I can assure you that I will thoroughly investigate your below par service experience at our front desk. Our front line team members embody our hotel’s image and reputation - and clearly they have not been able to portray the hospitality standards we have been known for in their dealings with you. I am happy to hear you did feel pleased and positive about the service received from our restaurant TEAM members, which I will share with them willingly.

I hope that the lapses experienced will not detract you from future visits upon your return to South Africa.

Yours truly,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these White River hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I feel bad for the staff when we arrived in pouring rain our group was a little travel weary but then we perked up later on. It's a lovely hotel, nicely decorated, friendly staff - beautiful views from the back deck area. Dinner and breakfast were great. Our rooms were nice. Watch out for frogs on the walkways and in the pool! It's a bit humid there but I don't think you can help that depending on the season/weather. It's a bit of a remote location but you are there to access Kruger, so no complaints there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear "Janey_Red",

Greetings from the entire TEAM at Protea Hotel Winkler and we sincerely thank you for the genuine and kind feedback. Glad to hear we have been able to create a memorable stay when traveling through the beautiful surroundings of Kruger Park.

We look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa soon and would be thrilled to host you once more at our lovely hotel in White River, Mpumalanga...

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
3.9 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
207 reviews
16.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
20.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#1 of 10 in White River
304 reviews
11.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
4.1 mi away
Pine Lake Inn
Pine Lake Inn
#6 of 10 in White River
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel The Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Winkler

Property: Premier Hotel The Winkler
Address: R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Hotel The Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel The Winkler White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing