We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute hotel”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I feel bad for the staff when we arrived in pouring rain our group was a little travel weary but then we perked up later on. It's a lovely hotel, nicely decorated, friendly staff - beautiful views from the back deck area. Dinner and breakfast were great. Our rooms were nice. Watch out for frogs on the walkways and in the pool! It's a bit humid there but I don't think you can help that depending on the season/weather. It's a bit of a remote location but you are there to access Kruger, so no complaints there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear "Janey_Red",

Greetings from the entire TEAM at Protea Hotel Winkler and we sincerely thank you for the genuine and kind feedback. Glad to hear we have been able to create a memorable stay when traveling through the beautiful surroundings of Kruger Park.

We look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa soon and would be thrilled to host you once more at our lovely hotel in White River, Mpumalanga...

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    95
    51
    15
    17
See reviews for
59
75
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Returning from Kruger Park back home, we decided on a 2 night stay at the Winkler. My previous stay at the hotel was at the time when it was still privately owned and since Protea Hotels took over they've done an excellent job to it. We booked 2 rooms and management quickly upgraded our room to a suite in order for the rooms to be adjacent (at no extra cost!). The buffet dinners were excellent, so was breakfast, bar is well stocked and as a whisky drinker I always look for a dram that I haven't tasted recently, this instance found Glenfiddich 15yr. Rooms are neat & clean, bit dated but the friendly staff and excellent views makes up for it. Overall a great hotel, well done to the management and their team.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Piet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Piet F,

Just a quick note to thank you for acknowledging the service received by the TEAM at Protea Hotel The Winkler... We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, including the amazing views from the hotel overlooking the glowing fields of Mpumalanga...

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were here Jan/Feb 2011.
We were there with a 2yr old. The waiting staff were great, at meal times they knew just how to keep the little one busy at the table, a proper high chair, paper and crayons, chatted to her, really included her and even sent her ice cream to the room... She loved it and 2yrs later remembers it! It can be hard to relax when you have a little one on holiday with you, this was something that really stood out for us.
The kiddies play room is not as nice as the pictures show - well used by now.
The pool was a huge hit, they even have a water slide they put up. Large grounds and play areas for kids.
Being a very hot spell, the waiter suggested that we go to the Elephant sanctuary instead of the Kruger. (The animals would be in the shade and not a good time to go spotting) Best idea ever! Really enjoyed it.
Lots of mozzies in the area but luckily not a malaria area!

Room Tip: We had a room on a far South corner, we got a large corner balcony. We were not on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarriorBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear "WarriorBunny",

Its great to hear we have been able to turn you into a loyal GUESTS of Protea Hotel The Winkler. We much appreciate your kind recommendations on TripAdvisor and look forward welcoming you and your family back again soon!

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna, philippines
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel staff taught us how to dance (imagine tribal South African style). It was amazing how they moved! It was a very memorable experience. Aside from its accessibility to lower Sabie Kruger park, it was a very pleasant and clean hotel. Food buffet was superb and wine was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear mamabelz,

Great to hear we have been able to exceed your expectations. Your kind comments around the services received as well as the hotel's facilities are much appreciated. And clearly, we expect you to come back to us soon for your follow up course "South African Tribal dancing - Part 2".

Greetings from the entire TEAM at Protea Hotel The Winkler!

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My cousin and I were invited back to visit Protea Hotel The Winkler following our first disastrous experience in March. What a difference! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one - the food was good, the service was great and it was a real treat to arrive at our rooms to find flowers sprinkled on the covers and a platter of dried fruit, biltong, wine and cooldrink.

Special thanks to the Acting General Manager, Jason Hobbs, who was absolutely amazing and kept in constant contact with me, even following up after our trip. Without his intervention I doubt we would have bothered to return. I sincerely hope our second experience is an example of the new attitude of the hotel and that this was not just for our benefit.

Two small issues: a) the housekeeping staff really need to be trained on how to make a bed. This time around I could see the bed had been made up, but verrrry haphazardly; and b) the dining room had not been swept since dinner the night before and during breakfast a dustpan was left lying in the middle of the dining room.

Also very evident this time around was the presence of security patrolling the premises at regular intervals, which was great for two women travelling alone.

All in all a great trip. Thanks to all concerned and I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Rooms 142 and 143 are great (interleading but with own bathrooms) but this side of the hotel is extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janineducie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Janineducie,

On behalf of the entire TEAM at Protea Hotel The Winkler, we would like to thank you for your kind and generous review. We are extremely excited to hear we have been able to meet and exceed your expectations the second time around. Again, our apologies for the initial disappointing experience but glad we have been able to turn around your perceptions of our lovely hotel.

Your detailed and constructive comments will be used to further improve our product and service delivery and will be discussed during our departmental meetings.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon when visiting the Kruger Park area.

Warm regards,


Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfut, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place was not on our navigation system that we got from Avis, but Google navigation was able to find it. It is far out of town...just follow the R538.

We got there late at night and had a prepaid reservation with Expedia (about 1.900 for two nights in a suite incl. breakfast). The night operator however charged us 1.400 Rand again (that was the rate that Expedia pays to the hotel...now I know why they can give rebates so often!!!). The next morning I clarified the problem and got a refund without any problems. And of course they excused themselves for the misunderstanding.

The place just got recently renovated...you can still smell the fresh paint in some areas. The suite (132) had a living room (with windows all around) and a bedroom with a king-size bed (not as soft as a Marriott bed but still soft enough). Both rooms had AC (the one in the bedroom was a newer model with a "night mode" so that I did not hear to much noise from it at night).

The "Numbi Gate" to Krueger was just 20 min driving away. Be carefull as the road is full of potholes (we lost one wheelcover).

Breakfast was excellent and had nearly Hilton/Marriott Standard. The staff was very friendly. It is served till 10.30 AM.

WIFI is only available in the Lobby area, the bar, the Restaurant and still at the pool. There is no WIFI in the rooms (maybe only in the room next to reception). We tried to establish WIFI over our phone via CellC, but with just two bars and Edge it took forever to open any page. But the bar area consists of two big room with a fireplace and lots of sofas and chairs to find a private spot for online business.

The bar itself closes at 10pm. Drinks are realy inexpensive. A beer (local Castle) was just 18 Rand and the Gin Tonic about 22 or so.

The Restaurant usually has a buffet for dinner which did cost around 240 p.p.. We opted for the a-la-carte menue as we were looking for a vegetarian meal. They had a view things on the menu and the portions were big. Ordering some pasta (68) and a Greek Salad (45) was way too much for one person! The quality of our dinner was good.

What I liked most about this hotel is the huge garden with the pool. You dont have any other hotel around you. In the Garden you will find a good sized pool with enough loungers and umbrellas. We never so any other guests hanging out there (maybe in the afternoon when we were on photo safari in Krueger). There is even a playground for children.

Overall please keep in mind that this place is not a new hotel any more and that is not Capetown. So not everything is perfect like in a brand new property. But because there is lots of open space and it has some interesting architecture, I will return for sure when going back to Krueger next year.

Room Tip: Room 132 is a nice sized two room suite that gives you some extra space. The living room had windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Joerg04,

We can't thank you enough for your extensive and detailed feedback on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel The Winkler. The TEAM and I are extremely excited to hear you enjoyed our hospitality when visiting the Kruger Park area.

We are very content with the fact you enjoyed our breakfast offering as well as our newly introduced a la carte menu. And I agree with your comments that although the Protea Hotel The Winkler is perhaps not the newest hotel in the area, it does have great well looked after facilities and is surrounded by beautiful luscious gardens.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Warm regards,


Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel, WOW, outstanding service, location, food and staff. To put it simply, they will see us again. Well done to the team because for something to be this enjoyable it HAS to be a team effort. 10/10

Room Tip: The room we were in was perfect in every way, Room 238.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Kevin S,

Thank you for the OUTSTANDING review! We are so pleased to hear that we have been able to meet and exceed your expectations. And I fully agree with you, service excellence is all about TEAM work. Thank you for your kind acknowledgment.

We look forward hosting you again soon.

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
3.9 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
204 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
16.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
176 reviews
11.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2.4 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel The Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Winkler

Property: Premier Hotel The Winkler
Address: R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Hotel The Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel The Winkler White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing