We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel staff taught us how to dance (imagine tribal South African style). It was amazing how they moved! It was a very memorable experience. Aside from its accessibility to lower Sabie Kruger park, it was a very pleasant and clean hotel. Food buffet was superb and wine was good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear mamabelz,

Great to hear we have been able to exceed your expectations. Your kind comments around the services received as well as the hotel's facilities are much appreciated. And clearly, we expect you to come back to us soon for your follow up course "South African Tribal dancing - Part 2".

Greetings from the entire TEAM at Protea Hotel The Winkler!

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Premier Hotel The Winkler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 261 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

My cousin and I were invited back to visit Protea Hotel The Winkler following our first disastrous experience in March. What a difference! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one - the food was good, the service was great and it was a real treat to arrive at our rooms to find flowers sprinkled on the covers and a platter of dried fruit, biltong, wine and cooldrink.

Special thanks to the Acting General Manager, Jason Hobbs, who was absolutely amazing and kept in constant contact with me, even following up after our trip. Without his intervention I doubt we would have bothered to return. I sincerely hope our second experience is an example of the new attitude of the hotel and that this was not just for our benefit.

Two small issues: a) the housekeeping staff really need to be trained on how to make a bed. This time around I could see the bed had been made up, but verrrry haphazardly; and b) the dining room had not been swept since dinner the night before and during breakfast a dustpan was left lying in the middle of the dining room.

Also very evident this time around was the presence of security patrolling the premises at regular intervals, which was great for two women travelling alone.

All in all a great trip. Thanks to all concerned and I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Rooms 142 and 143 are great (interleading but with own bathrooms) but this side of the hotel is extr...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janineducie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Janineducie,

On behalf of the entire TEAM at Protea Hotel The Winkler, we would like to thank you for your kind and generous review. We are extremely excited to hear we have been able to meet and exceed your expectations the second time around. Again, our apologies for the initial disappointing experience but glad we have been able to turn around your perceptions of our lovely hotel.

Your detailed and constructive comments will be used to further improve our product and service delivery and will be discussed during our departmental meetings.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon when visiting the Kruger Park area.

Warm regards,


Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place was not on our navigation system that we got from Avis, but Google navigation was able to find it. It is far out of town...just follow the R538.

We got there late at night and had a prepaid reservation with Expedia (about 1.900 for two nights in a suite incl. breakfast). The night operator however charged us 1.400 Rand again (that was the rate that Expedia pays to the hotel...now I know why they can give rebates so often!!!). The next morning I clarified the problem and got a refund without any problems. And of course they excused themselves for the misunderstanding.

The place just got recently renovated...you can still smell the fresh paint in some areas. The suite (132) had a living room (with windows all around) and a bedroom with a king-size bed (not as soft as a Marriott bed but still soft enough). Both rooms had AC (the one in the bedroom was a newer model with a "night mode" so that I did not hear to much noise from it at night).

The "Numbi Gate" to Krueger was just 20 min driving away. Be carefull as the road is full of potholes (we lost one wheelcover).

Breakfast was excellent and had nearly Hilton/Marriott Standard. The staff was very friendly. It is served till 10.30 AM.

WIFI is only available in the Lobby area, the bar, the Restaurant and still at the pool. There is no WIFI in the rooms (maybe only in the room next to reception). We tried to establish WIFI over our phone via CellC, but with just two bars and Edge it took forever to open any page. But the bar area consists of two big room with a fireplace and lots of sofas and chairs to find a private spot for online business.

The bar itself closes at 10pm. Drinks are realy inexpensive. A beer (local Castle) was just 18 Rand and the Gin Tonic about 22 or so.

The Restaurant usually has a buffet for dinner which did cost around 240 p.p.. We opted for the a-la-carte menue as we were looking for a vegetarian meal. They had a view things on the menu and the portions were big. Ordering some pasta (68) and a Greek Salad (45) was way too much for one person! The quality of our dinner was good.

What I liked most about this hotel is the huge garden with the pool. You dont have any other hotel around you. In the Garden you will find a good sized pool with enough loungers and umbrellas. We never so any other guests hanging out there (maybe in the afternoon when we were on photo safari in Krueger). There is even a playground for children.

Overall please keep in mind that this place is not a new hotel any more and that is not Capetown. So not everything is perfect like in a brand new property. But because there is lots of open space and it has some interesting architecture, I will return for sure when going back to Krueger next year.

Room Tip: Room 132 is a nice sized two room suite that gives you some extra space. The living room had windows...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joerg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Joerg04,

We can't thank you enough for your extensive and detailed feedback on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel The Winkler. The TEAM and I are extremely excited to hear you enjoyed our hospitality when visiting the Kruger Park area.

We are very content with the fact you enjoyed our breakfast offering as well as our newly introduced a la carte menu. And I agree with your comments that although the Protea Hotel The Winkler is perhaps not the newest hotel in the area, it does have great well looked after facilities and is surrounded by beautiful luscious gardens.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Warm regards,


Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel, WOW, outstanding service, location, food and staff. To put it simply, they will see us again. Well done to the team because for something to be this enjoyable it HAS to be a team effort. 10/10

Room Tip: The room we were in was perfect in every way, Room 238.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Kevin S,

Thank you for the OUTSTANDING review! We are so pleased to hear that we have been able to meet and exceed your expectations. And I fully agree with you, service excellence is all about TEAM work. Thank you for your kind acknowledgment.

We look forward hosting you again soon.

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Whenever we travel to our holiday home in Mozambique we always make an excuse to stay over at the Winkler on the way there or back, and often in between when ever we are in the vicinity. It is always a pleasurable experience, with friendly staff, great accommodation and excellent food. We always recommend the Winkler to friends and acquaintences with a clear conscience that they will find their stay as good as we do.

Room Tip: Try one of the executive suites. very comfortable and spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cellodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Hi Cellodp,

Great to be of service yet another time around! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, which means a lot coming from such a loyal guest such as yourself.

Greetings form the entire TEAM at the hotel and hope to welcoming you back again soon!

At your service,

Jason Hobbs - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had booked rooms for the family in February--my credit card was charged twice, and when we arrived our reservation had been cancelled. Staff was at least helping to find alterantive accommodation. Now we stayed again at the hotel for two nights (no cancellation this time!), but found the overall experience average, at best. Our room on the ground floor was humid and smelly, the ventilation in the bathroom did not work (and no way to open the window), the breakfast buffet was truly uninspiring. We tried a few times to have a drink on the nice terrace, but had to chase down somebody form the staff to get what we wanted. Sad to see that such a potentially nice hotel is so poorly run!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krugerfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Krugerfriend,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your honest feedback on your recent stay with us. Its highly valued and will be used constructively to consistently improve our product and service standards.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Your feedback on the various issues experienced such as the below par standard of your room on arrival and the slow bar service experienced on the patio is certainly not reflective of the levels of service and product standards we strive to offer to every single GUEST of our hotel.

I would therefore like to confirm with you that corrective action has been taken to ensure that this is not a repeating occurrence. I am also happy to inform you that we have recently introduced a new a la carte menu in our restaurant and revamped our breakfast offering, both in content as well as presentation and has been very well perceived by our guests already.

Again, your interest and concern are much appreciated. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and the TEAM is looking forward to welcoming you to the Protea Hotel The Winkler again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Hobbs - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute since we missed the Kruger gate closing time and had to get a hotel outside the park. The location is convenient to the Numbi gate and MQP airport, and the rate was fair given the location. We ended up booking a "suite" with a king and single bed, which was comfortable for three adults and cheaper than two individual rooms. The check-in staff were fine, and offered us welcome drinks.

The room was fairly dated and spartan, with some bright orange curtains in the windows. Everything seemed clean enough.

The restaurant was nearly empty the night we arrived, and we saw one of the buffet attendants scooping food off the tray holder with a dirty rag and putting it back in the buffet dish - ewww. When he saw us looking at him, he stared back in surprise. The problem is, there wasn't anywhere else to eat, so we ate the buffet anyway (avoiding the rice tray). They had canned soda at the buffet with a "limit 2" sign, so I took one. As soon as I opened it, someone came over to our table and said that the canned soda was only for conference attendees, and I would be charged. What the...? It took a lot of back-and-forth before he (reluctantly) removed it from our bill.

For a single night stay, this hotel was fine. Don't go there expecting stellar service or luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear TheInternationalLine,

Thank you for your honest comments and feedback! And please accept our apologies for not consistently meeting your expectations throughout your stay.

I am embarrassed to hear around your experience at our restaurant and I can assure you we will deal with the TEAM member involved in a serious matter as this behavior is inexcusable. Furthermore, we will make sure not to confuse our individual guests with additional beverage services provided to our conferencing guests. Thank you for pointing this out to us.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the Protea Hotel The Winkler in nearby future when visiting the White River area..

Warm regards,

Jason Hobbs - Acting General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
3.9 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
211 reviews
16.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
11.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.3 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#1 of 10 in White River
317 reviews
18.9 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 13 in Hazyview
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel The Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Winkler

Address: R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range: $78 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Hotel The Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel The Winkler White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing