We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel, WOW, outstanding service, location, food and staff. To put it simply, they will see us again. Well done to the team because for something to be this enjoyable it HAS to be a team effort. 10/10

Room Tip: The room we were in was perfect in every way, Room 238.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Kevin S,

Thank you for the OUTSTANDING review! We are so pleased to hear that we have been able to meet and exceed your expectations. And I fully agree with you, service excellence is all about TEAM work. Thank you for your kind acknowledgment.

We look forward hosting you again soon.

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    90
    51
    15
    17
See reviews for
58
72
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Whenever we travel to our holiday home in Mozambique we always make an excuse to stay over at the Winkler on the way there or back, and often in between when ever we are in the vicinity. It is always a pleasurable experience, with friendly staff, great accommodation and excellent food. We always recommend the Winkler to friends and acquaintences with a clear conscience that they will find their stay as good as we do.

Room Tip: Try one of the executive suites. very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cellodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Hi Cellodp,

Great to be of service yet another time around! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, which means a lot coming from such a loyal guest such as yourself.

Greetings form the entire TEAM at the hotel and hope to welcoming you back again soon!

At your service,

Jason Hobbs - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engelhartszell, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had booked rooms for the family in February--my credit card was charged twice, and when we arrived our reservation had been cancelled. Staff was at least helping to find alterantive accommodation. Now we stayed again at the hotel for two nights (no cancellation this time!), but found the overall experience average, at best. Our room on the ground floor was humid and smelly, the ventilation in the bathroom did not work (and no way to open the window), the breakfast buffet was truly uninspiring. We tried a few times to have a drink on the nice terrace, but had to chase down somebody form the staff to get what we wanted. Sad to see that such a potentially nice hotel is so poorly run!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krugerfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Krugerfriend,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your honest feedback on your recent stay with us. Its highly valued and will be used constructively to consistently improve our product and service standards.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Your feedback on the various issues experienced such as the below par standard of your room on arrival and the slow bar service experienced on the patio is certainly not reflective of the levels of service and product standards we strive to offer to every single GUEST of our hotel.

I would therefore like to confirm with you that corrective action has been taken to ensure that this is not a repeating occurrence. I am also happy to inform you that we have recently introduced a new a la carte menu in our restaurant and revamped our breakfast offering, both in content as well as presentation and has been very well perceived by our guests already.

Again, your interest and concern are much appreciated. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and the TEAM is looking forward to welcoming you to the Protea Hotel The Winkler again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Hobbs - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute since we missed the Kruger gate closing time and had to get a hotel outside the park. The location is convenient to the Numbi gate and MQP airport, and the rate was fair given the location. We ended up booking a "suite" with a king and single bed, which was comfortable for three adults and cheaper than two individual rooms. The check-in staff were fine, and offered us welcome drinks.

The room was fairly dated and spartan, with some bright orange curtains in the windows. Everything seemed clean enough.

The restaurant was nearly empty the night we arrived, and we saw one of the buffet attendants scooping food off the tray holder with a dirty rag and putting it back in the buffet dish - ewww. When he saw us looking at him, he stared back in surprise. The problem is, there wasn't anywhere else to eat, so we ate the buffet anyway (avoiding the rice tray). They had canned soda at the buffet with a "limit 2" sign, so I took one. As soon as I opened it, someone came over to our table and said that the canned soda was only for conference attendees, and I would be charged. What the...? It took a lot of back-and-forth before he (reluctantly) removed it from our bill.

For a single night stay, this hotel was fine. Don't go there expecting stellar service or luxury.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear TheInternationalLine,

Thank you for your honest comments and feedback! And please accept our apologies for not consistently meeting your expectations throughout your stay.

I am embarrassed to hear around your experience at our restaurant and I can assure you we will deal with the TEAM member involved in a serious matter as this behavior is inexcusable. Furthermore, we will make sure not to confuse our individual guests with additional beverage services provided to our conferencing guests. Thank you for pointing this out to us.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the Protea Hotel The Winkler in nearby future when visiting the White River area..

Warm regards,

Jason Hobbs - Acting General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I went to this hotel for my honeymoon. It really is a wonderful property with welcoming staff and fun entertainment.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SharonO138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Sharon O,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with your fellow TripAdvisor reviewers. And great to hear we have been able to assist in creating memories that last a life time..

Glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and the TEAM is looking forward to welcoming you back soon when visiting the Mpumalanga region.

Warm regards,

Jason Hobbs - Acting General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A big and special thank you to Jason Hobbs, the Acting General Manager of The Winkler. Having left my jacket at the hotel after a business trip, he not only secured it for me, but arranged for his wife to bring it back to Johannesburg for me when she visited him for a weekend in White River. I did not even have to follow up; it was just done!

One rarely finds this kind of care and personal service. In fact this is the experience that you will find at The Winkler where the staff do care and make you feel special.

Thanks Jason, you are my hero!

Michele
Gauteng Branch Manager
ST LEGER & VINEY

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Michele R,

Thank you for sharing your kind recommendations with the entire TripAdvisor community. Of course, we were more than happy to make the necessary arrangments to ensure your jacket would be returned to you as soon as possible. We do consider this to be part of our day to day tasks, providing the best possible hospitality to all of our GUEST at the Protea Hotel The Winkler.

We are extremely happy to hear the TEAM at the hotel has been able to make your business trip a success and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Jason Hobbs - Acting General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed just for one night - on business, Extensive and secure grounds suitable for families with play ares and outdoor pool. Check-in and bar staff very friendly and bar/restaurant in main building all very nice. Bar meal was excellent.
Rooms are "motel style" in separate blocks - with parking outside the rooms.
Had a ground floor room with view of the garden which would be nice in Summer.
Decor in rooms is a little tired although clean and no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilY0rkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hi NeilY0rkshire,

On behalf of the entire TEAM at the Protea Hotel The Winkler - thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. Great to hear you enjoyed our sumptuous food offering in the Bar & Lounge and were greeted and served with a friendly smile.

We wish you all the best for the remainder of your business trip and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

At your service,

Jason Hobbs - Acting General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
3.9 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
203 reviews
16.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
6.9 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
202 reviews
11.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
20.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel The Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Winkler

Property: Premier Hotel The Winkler
Address: R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Premier Hotel The Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel The Winkler White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing