We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Golfing Tour”
Review of Karula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karula Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 White River B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had a wonderful week-end at this lovely hotel. Always a smile from the staff, excellent service and fabulous dinners. The rooms are average but spotlessly clean. The location is great for doing all sorts of sight seeing nearby, and especially for the golfers. Definate value for your money...thank you for a memorable week-end.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 66 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

A month after a family illness delayed our trip we arrived at the Karula to celebrate a winter Xmas.
The restaurant and reception area were beautifully decorated with Christmas trimmings. As usual the rooms were clean and comfortable. The meals on both evenings was superb and it is really nice to be served rather than queue at a buffet. We were able to spend the day in the Kruger National Park which is relatively close by. There are many other attractions in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It's been a while since we stayed at a hotel on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis so were a bit skeptical at the reasonable price quoted by this hotel on a recent visit.

A fantastic room, a table d'hote (fixed menu) dinner and a superb buffet breakfast is what we received from this establishment all of which exceeded our expectations.

Service at dinner and breakfast was attentive with the owner doing his rounds to check if we were satisfied with everything. A nightcap at the beautiful old-styled bar with a roaring log fire ended a fantastic evening.

My wife and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is nicely positioned with great views. Rooms are OK, not great, bath with shower head in it and plastic curtain, not ideal. Price was different from one quoted over the phone which was irritating. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Real bug bear was that for the price we paid, there was a note in the rooms, with the cups and kettle that if you wanted coffee or tea, you had to buy it at reception for R6 each. Not the price, but a bit cheap for the price they charge! Breakfast was also extra and on a Sunday morning the service ended at 9am, bit early!. Cleaning staff woke everyone up with their loud chatter on Sunday morning very early which was really inappropriate!

Room Tip: 9 &10 close to main hotel, but not that close that you are disturbed by te bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Enjoyed our return visit to the Karula for their fabulous Sunday lunch. It's a wonderfully traditional experience in a brilliant setting - very convivial. Great food and staff. The grounds are beautiful - ideal setting for a few more photos. Thank you all.

Room Tip: We only visited the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MBTravellerMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Amazing mountain view. The hotel have clean rooms, nice breakfast, and great pool area. The staff are friendly and helpfull. I have been there many times with my family over the last years. It a peacefull place to rest and relax from the city stress. The hotel have lots of green areas very well mantained and a good parking area. The view from the montain on the end of the day is amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My family have stayed at the Karula Hotel many times over the past thirty years. My father stayed there in his younger days as a travelling sales rep and our family has enjoyed many stays there since.

The hotel provides comfortable, clean accommodation and excellent friendly service. The highlight, though, must be the food. The hotel offers a full five-course dinner in the evening and a full breakfast service in the morning. The quality of the food is outstanding and it is a real treat to sit down and be attended to by the friendly waitresses.

Karula is fantastic and I recommend it to all my friends visiting the Kruger Park. My parents will be staying there again next week and I look forward to visiting again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these White River hotels
4.1 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
275 reviews
6.4 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 10 in White River
188 reviews
3.4 mi away
ilanda Guest House
ilanda Guest House
#4 of 36 in White River
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ingwenyama Conference & Sport Resort
2.7 mi away
White House Lodge
White House Lodge
#1 of 36 in White River
319 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karula Hotel

Address: Old Plaston Rd, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range: $80 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Karula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karula Hotel White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing