We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Me and my husband spend 3 nights in April 2013, we really enjoy every moment there, the service were the best we have ever received at any other place, we travel local about 4 to 5 times a year, too even much more expensive places where management are much more interested in your money, then you as a person, we were once put up in a freshly varnish painted cabin at the Lion and Rhino park that was very expensive, and when we complaint, I was threatend by the owner. Will visit this place and recommend this place anytime.

Room Tip: room 212 located right next to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmaine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    75
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
32
120
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent a 2 night weekend here which was certainly one of our nicer stays from a Lodge point of view. Sadly the structure is dated and is in dire need of renewal. The room was spacious and clean with a private porch overlooking the lake. For a couple seeking privacy this is certainly the place to visit. The bathroom is most certainly requires renovation as the facilities are old and outdated.
The dining room has a cozy atmosphere but as mentioned before needs maintenance as the deck area has wood structured in dire need of attention.
The meals were good and tasty with a fresh ingredients and adequate portions. Breakfasts on the deck was pleasant and tasty.
Overall the stay was very pleasant and I certainly would go there again as the setting is breathtaking and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hulala Lodge on 23 March '13 as overnight guests for a wedding. We were booked into room 26, please ensure that you specifically request to NOT stay in that pokey room. A 4 star resort with a 2 star room at a 4 star price. We filled out the guest questionnaire and have had no response. Very disappointing and a very expensive night in an under-whelming room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MargieKnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent the weekend at Hulala between the 15th and 17th of March 2013, what a way to relax and unwind, food is delicious, enjoyed the cruise as well,big and comfortable beds to sleep on, id go back to that lodge anytime if you ask me to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kefilwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you don't want to stay in a hotel room, Hookthorn self catering cottage is ideal. It has 3 bedrooms, 2 en suite, swimming pool, DSTV & a wonderfull view of the Da Gama dam. The bird life is amazing & there are Zebra & a family of Giant Mongoose on the Estate. The security is good & one can just relax around the pool or use it as a base to travel around the area. If you don't feel like cooking, Casterbridge is about 20 minutes drive away or you can go down to the Lodge & eat there. The Sunset Cruise is worth doing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Hulala Lakeside Lodge for 2 nights and had a quiet, relaxing stay. The rooms are spacious and clean. The matress we had in our room must have been the most comfortable I ever slept on! The breakfast, dinner and bar menu is simple but the food is tasty and the service efficient and friendly. The lodge is well located to visit all the major attractions in the Lowveld. The lodge has a tame zebra that roams the grounds. The surroundings are stunning and the lodge well worth the money spent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nix444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is so worth the drive. Relaxing, beautiful, breath taking views. The staff are welcoming, very friendly and very caring. The sunset cruise is peaceful and pleasant. We woke up every morning viewing the lake, the mist and the flakes of the morning sun.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niche789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
3.4 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
204 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
241 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
174 reviews
21.2 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
21.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulala Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulala Lakeside Lodge

Property: Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Address: Farm Etna R40 between White River and Hazyview Mpumalanga 1240 | P. O. Box 1382, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hulala Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hulala Lakeside Lodge is situated on the da Gama Dam surrounded by a Forrest of Indigenous Trees and is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Enjoy our daily Cruise around the Dam and take in the peace and tranquility while experiencing the extensive Bird life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hulala Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hulala Lakeside Hotel White River
Hulala Lakeside Lodge White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing