We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South African peaceful resort”
Review of Pine Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“South African peaceful resort”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent a week here in March 2013 as a timeshare exchange. We were very pleased. The quaint three-bedroom unit was nice enough. It was multilevel and had everything we needed really. Two queen-sized and two twin beds, full kitchen, dining, new tv with cable, outdoor bbque area on the patio. The only negatives were no screens on the windows or sliding doors and no air-conditioning except in master bedroom, uncomfortable pillows, wi-fi only available in the lobby and game room area, musty smell under the sink and mold in the shower. However, the staff was very accommodating and kind. When I mentioned the mold they had the shower cleaned AND painted that day while we were gone.
The grounds were beautiful with the lovely lake view. The pool wasn't quite up to my standards but there was a tennis court, miniature golf, row boats, pool table and ping pong (all for a small fee). The gym was small but empty. It was very safe with two gated entries and a full-time guard at the entrance. You do have to go over a very bumpy stretch to reach the resort, but it only adds to the adventure.
The energy fee only added up to a few dollars for the entire week, so that isn't a big deal.
It was a great location for exploring the area. Kruger's Numbi Gate is only a half hour away. We left before dawn and returned after dark a few days and the undivided roads can be a bit stressful at night. The panoramic drive is right there with waterfalls and canyons that were breathtaking. Nelspruit is close; flying into the Kruger/Nelspruit airport would be an easy way to get there. (We rented a car and drove from Johannesburg which took 4 plus hours, but was pleasant during the day on good freeway toll roads.)
Grocery stores and restaurants are close by in White River. Oliver's situated on the golf course just down the lane was excellent and gourmet. Gumtreez, just past the round-about in the lovely Caster Bridge Centre was delicious as well.
In general South Africa was a wonderful country and felt very European. The week went by much too quickly and I would gladly return to this peaceful resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    55
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
107
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Did a last minute booking which was surprising there was availability. Now we know why. Following bad experience.
* charge of full rate charge for a kid under 4 for breakfast where they only eat a bowl of cereal.
* shut down of room aircon because we used it full time
* complaint by other neighbors because of our room aircon
* lock of boats for no use and no key
* no sundowner cruise boat available
* no ice buckets available for room when needed
* no attendance to housekeeping after 8pm by phone

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja M, General Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Pine Lake Resort is a self catering resort and does not have restaurant facilities, therefore this review is not relating to this property and should not feature here. Please check that you have entered the correct property detail before making comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasolburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed there for a week break away. The road can be challenging especially if there has been some rain. The unit was comfortable but it was a bit of a surprise that one had to pay for the electricity. It was however not clear how they measured it. On that note it was not so hot that the cleaner left the lights in the flat on. The housekeeping crew was not always the sharpest tools in the shed. The so-called convenience store can be closed as really is of no value. Scenery was great but would have liked to see hippo. Make sure you have all the maps you need because the hotel staff would not be able to help. Very conveniently located to explore the area

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Friends booked this as we needed accommodation near Sabi and they had some time share points which they could use. We had no idea what to expect but we were very pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful, the chalets were clean and spacious and had everything you could need, the gardens were very well maintained and the pool and other facilities were exactly what was needed.

Although our chalet was set a bit further back from others we still had a view over the lake and the recently redone bathrooms as well as the lovely balcony and patio all made for a great experience. You can hire paddle boats which is quite fun and they also had a games room with pool and table tennis.

The little tree frog on our last morning was the cherry on the top of a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a chalet closer to the dam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moose-JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a fantastic stay! From the moment we were greeted at check-in from such welcoming and efficient staff, to the moment we checked out. A beautiful and picturesque place to relax and unwind. And so close the the Kruger National Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khidra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have time share with the resort in February. Based on the total relaxation and Top Quality accommadation, we visit there outside the time share week. This is a place where you can TOTALLY relax and switch off. Concidering all the activities surrounding the resort, you can also just sit on the patio and enjoy the scenary without having to start the car.
The staff are always friendly, and why not, look at the surroundings they work in!!

Absolutely Fantastic!! Top Class

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pieter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My friends and i stayed at Pine lake resort on the 18 to 21 Aug 2012,on the day of arrival we received a warm welcome at the receiption Sibongile was the best,the chalet were in very good condition well maintained with a beautiful view of lake, i have been to lots of resort around Mpumalanga but Pine lake is the best from all of them ,the only down side of it is that its frezzing cold in the evening but Thanks to the fire place we keep our selfs warm while we were parting the night.Every-one was very friendly and the service was excellent.This wouldn't be the last time i sleep at Pine Lake Resort

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mildred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
17.1 mi away
Pine Lake Inn
Pine Lake Inn
#6 of 10 in White River
98 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
833 reviews
17.2 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
2.1 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Resort

Property: Pine Lake Resort
Address: R40 Main Hazyview Road | PO Box 3027, White River 1240, South Africa (Formerly Pine Lake Lifestyle Resort)
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation offers comfortable and private, self-contained chalets that have been tastefully decorated and furnished. These cosy chalets are each equipped with a kitchen, spacious living area with television, private patio and braai area with a fireplace to ward off winter chills.Nestled in the mountains of Mpumalanga and along the banks of Lake Longmere, lies the calm and serene Pine Lake Resort. The wonderful location allows for daily excursions to all the local sightseeing spots, superb golf courses and quality restaurants. Guests can also enjoy a unique shopping experience at the Caster Bridge Farm which lies in close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Lifestyle Hotel White River
Pine Lake Inn
Pine Lake Resort White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing