We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't be dissapointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You won't be dissapointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Friends booked this as we needed accommodation near Sabi and they had some time share points which they could use. We had no idea what to expect but we were very pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful, the chalets were clean and spacious and had everything you could need, the gardens were very well maintained and the pool and other facilities were exactly what was needed.

Although our chalet was set a bit further back from others we still had a view over the lake and the recently redone bathrooms as well as the lovely balcony and patio all made for a great experience. You can hire paddle boats which is quite fun and they also had a games room with pool and table tennis.

The little tree frog on our last morning was the cherry on the top of a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a chalet closer to the dam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moose-JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    46
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
95
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a fantastic stay! From the moment we were greeted at check-in from such welcoming and efficient staff, to the moment we checked out. A beautiful and picturesque place to relax and unwind. And so close the the Kruger National Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khidra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have time share with the resort in February. Based on the total relaxation and Top Quality accommadation, we visit there outside the time share week. This is a place where you can TOTALLY relax and switch off. Concidering all the activities surrounding the resort, you can also just sit on the patio and enjoy the scenary without having to start the car.
The staff are always friendly, and why not, look at the surroundings they work in!!

Absolutely Fantastic!! Top Class

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pieter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My friends and i stayed at Pine lake resort on the 18 to 21 Aug 2012,on the day of arrival we received a warm welcome at the receiption Sibongile was the best,the chalet were in very good condition well maintained with a beautiful view of lake, i have been to lots of resort around Mpumalanga but Pine lake is the best from all of them ,the only down side of it is that its frezzing cold in the evening but Thanks to the fire place we keep our selfs warm while we were parting the night.Every-one was very friendly and the service was excellent.This wouldn't be the last time i sleep at Pine Lake Resort

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mildred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

My family of 6 stayed at this resort the end of June and while the rooms are nice enough, it was impossible to get the chill out of the room once the sun went down. Sure, we bought tons of firewood and kept the fireplace going while we were awake, but it is a 3 story timeshare with tile flooring throughout and no heating unit. When we asked about this they did give us one portable heater, but was told not to run it very long because it is very expensive. Fortunately we aren't the types of people who stay in our room much during vacations. We would set off for early morning drives either to Kruger or the panoramic route, etc. But by the 6th and 7th day of our stay I was tired of being cold...it was warmer outside. In fact, we stayed in unheated luxury tents during the 3rd leg of our trip - and I was much warmer in the tents then in the timeshare.

In the US just about every timeshare we have stayed includes electricity; however, with this timeshare you have to pay for it. It was also odd that there wasn't a dishwasher, but instead someone came to the room daily and washed dishes and made the beds. While this was a great perk, it was unnecessary. I'd rather have heat and a dishwasher. Ants would come around unless you washed and dried the dishes immediately after meals. The other negative was not having a washer and dryer in the unit. There was one washer and dryer near the lobby but you had to pay for it - this is pretty unusual to me with my timeshare experience as well. Plus with a family of 6, we pretty much needed a full day of staying around just to do laundry before leaving to our next destination. If it had been in my room I could have done one load before leaving in the morning and another in the evening.

Pine Lake's location was good and the grounds were definitely pretty. There was a small lobby where you can check Internet and grab a glass of orange juice or coffee which was nice.

Be aware that if you stay here it is an unpaved road getting into the resort. Avoiding potholes and rocks was a challenge, but we just drove very slowly each day and made it fine with our Hyundai van.

Would I recommend the place - probably so. Like I said, it was a pretty location - but really just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richtoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was about our sixth stay at Pine Lake Inn over the past few years. It is one of our favourite escapes- the accomodation is excellent, nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff- they are really very friendly and accomodating. The surroundings are superb- beautiful views over the lake- especially at sunrise.
The entire resort is maintained to a very high standard and I would recommend Pine Lake Inn fully for a great getaway.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelle09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay for a week (the quality of the chalets are VERY GOOD). The surroundings are beautiful. The neatness of the garden and lawns show dedication of the staff. We also enjoyed a Sunday lunch at Oliver's as well as their Raclette on the Tuesday. SUPERB

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DanubePretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
17.2 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
18.7 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
2.8 mi away
Sanbonani Resort
Sanbonani Resort
#6 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Resort

Property: Pine Lake Resort
Address: R40 Main Hazyview Road | PO Box 3027, White River 1240, South Africa (Formerly Pine Lake Lifestyle Resort)
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation offers comfortable and private, self-contained chalets that have been tastefully decorated and furnished. These cosy chalets are each equipped with a kitchen, spacious living area with television, private patio and braai area with a fireplace to ward off winter chills.Nestled in the mountains of Mpumalanga and along the banks of Lake Longmere, lies the calm and serene Pine Lake Resort. The wonderful location allows for daily excursions to all the local sightseeing spots, superb golf courses and quality restaurants. Guests can also enjoy a unique shopping experience at the Caster Bridge Farm which lies in close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Lifestyle Hotel White River
Pine Lake Inn
Pine Lake Resort White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing