We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIP treatemnt for non VIPs”
Review of Pine Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine Lake Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in White River
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I would like to thank the staff of Pine Lake Inn for their superb service and hospitality that we received on our visit this past weekend. I would especially like to mention Angel, Sarah, but most of all, Sally the duty manager. I have rarely seen such professionalism and warmth from anyone in the hospitality industry and my career requires me to travel extensively. She went out of her way to make the stay hassle free and relaxing and I must say she treated all the guests that way. Whomever employed her must hang onto her, because she is an absolute jewel!

We enjoyed everything about our stay from the food to the surroundings, I would recommend The Pine Lake Inn to anyone with the greatest ease, and we will definitely visit again soon!!!

Room Tip: Choose the bottom rooms on the terrace for a great view and easy access
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve d, General Manager at Pine Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Celeste V

Thank you for your positive review, it's very much appreciated will pass on your compliments
to Sally, Angel, and Sarah.
Look very much forward to welcoming you back to Pine Lake inn.

Kind Regards
Steve Daniels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Pine Lake Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 101 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pine lake Inn

1) Room: Very large room with a good shower, clean. Big safe for free. Decoration is very nice.
2) Surroundings: Beautiful place next to a nice lake with a great view. Garden is very big and well maintained
3) Atmosphere: The hotel has a great African decoration which results in a African feeling. They have good African entertainment at night.
4) Food: Maybe I was lucky but I ate the best food ever at the buffet, the taste of the chicken was perfect the rest of the food was very tasteful as well. And the wine….:-).
Breakfast was good.
5) Good items: The food and the surroundings plus atmosphere.
6) Improvements: The road to the hotel was very bad (last part)-Lady at the desk and other employees (except from restaurant) where not very customer friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve d, General Manager at Pine Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Johanpaul

Thank you for your positive feedback on Pine Lake Inn and that you enjoyed your meal in our Restaurant.
Your note for improvements will receive my personal attention.
Looking forward in welcoming you back to Pine Lake Inn.
Kind Regards
Steve Daniels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just come back from a week conference, at pine lake inn and I must say the new conference room is state of the art. The food was very enjoyable and a good variety. It was like being on holiday although I had to work. To top it off they even gave us a nice braai. Looking forward to our next conference , here at pine lake. The new rooms are great they have a beautiful view of the lake and I enjoyed the flat screen TV. very nice place

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve d, General Manager at Pine Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Elaine S

Thank you, Your Recommendations of our Hotel and facilities are much appciated
look forward in welcoming you back to Pine Lake Inn.
kind regards
Steve Daniels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived in the the evening after a twelve hour journey from KZN and was welcommed by very friendly staff. Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The food offered at the restaurant was of a good variety and the service excellent. We enjoyed our time at the lake in the swimming pool.
The situation of the resort is very beautifull, espescially the lake.
Peter & Sheila.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was great, it was on the higher floor,but judging from the overall condition o...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve d, General Manager at Pine Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Peter N

Thank you, for your kind and honest feedback
look forward to meeting again on your next visit to the Kruger park
kind regards
Steve Daniels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My Name is Dean and my family and I have visited Pine Lake Inn on numerous occasions.I have been a regular at this hotel for the past 25 years(1987 to 2013).
I would like to enlighten you on the service that my family and I have received at this establishment.
All the staff are friendly, helpful and the resort is outstanding and homely.It is home away from Home for us.the setting is beautifull
Sally Moodley(Duty Manager) has always exceeded our expectations and that is one of the prime reasons that we return so often. We are greeted with a smiling face that welcomes you on arrival and see this smiling friendly face for the duration of our stay until departure.
Sally has excelled not only with us as a family but to other guests as well which we have noticed.
EXCELLENT SERVICE should not go unnoticed
Sally is more than an asset to this hotel and she deserves recognition for the incomparable commitment she extends to her clients and the dedication she shows to Pine Lake Inn.
We will definitely keep on visiting Pine Lake Inn.

Let me convey my gratitude to your organization for having such highly trained and motivated staff.
The pool is always clean,the grounds are always clean and the rooms are always CLEAN.Rooms are modern and you have a choice of rooms.The tennis courts are excellent and have floodlights.The food is excellent that is breakfast and supper. Pool service is great.
I will recommend this hotel to any traveller anytime

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view for excellent photographs and unforgetable views.Contact Sally(duty m...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 323Dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve d, General Manager at Pine Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear 323Dean

Thank you and your family for tremendous support you have given Pine Lake inn
over the past 25 years!!
it is really very much appreciated
kind regards
Steve Daniels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Let's start by saying this review is of the hotel, not the resort. They are on opposite sides of the "lake" and very different institutions.

The setting is beautiful, and that is where the positives stop. Breakfast was truly poor with little variety and dirty dishes. The room was neatly made but again quite dirty - the arms on the sofa had brown stains from not being washed in ages and the bathrooms are clearly given only a cursory clean every day, with mildew allowed to flourish liberally.

When we arrived back to our room at the end of our second day there, they had neglected to service it - housekeeping just hadn't visited at all. When we called them the receptionist came to clean the place herself, I'm not sure how because she had no cleaning equipment with her at all. We then approached the manager, who was curt in her replies, saying she would sort it out. Our suggestion to just move us to a nearby room (quite a few were open) came as a surprise to her - and this was grudgingly done. The only person who apologised was the receptionist.

The room we were moved into was no cleaner than the original.

All in all not a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DieRooiGevaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve d, General Manager at Pine Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear DieRooiGevaar,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent vist to Pine Lake Inn and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasent experience,the points of concern have been attended too.
Please once again accept our sincere apologies and we would look forward to welcoming you back to Pine Lake Inn for a complimentary weekend (bed&breakfast) of you choice
Kind Regards
Steve Daniels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived late and tired after a long drive. The service at reception was anything but friendly. It seemed painful for the receptionist to welcome us and put a smile on her face. We received absolutely no useful information on how
Anything worked and had to force the information out of her. We were the only guests there at the time so we don't understand the attitude of the staff. We felt an overall bad vibe around the hotel.

The hotel itself inside has some nice african decoration but the rooms are very basic and boring. We thought the bathroom was dirty.

The location is beautiful with a nice lake and hills surrounding the area. But don't go there if you wan't to get an 'africa' feel.

We only had breakfast there but as we were the only guests there was no buffet.
Again we were served by an unenthusiastic waitress who made us feel like we were ruining her day because we were the only reason she had to work.

Don't go to this place!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
0.2 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
214 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
261 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.8 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#1 of 10 in White River
317 reviews
18.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Inn

Address: Main Hazyview Road, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range: $85 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the woodlands and overlooking a vast lake and with its own nine hole golf course,the whole setting for Pine Lake Inn exudes peace and tranquility.An inspiraional setting for your conference or incentive programme andfully equipped with all the technical support that you will need.This home away from home has an intimate atmosphere,lending a feeling of understated elegance and comfort which prefectly compliments the breathtaking scenic beauty of the environment.There is also a swimming pool where you can enjoy relaxed dinning outdoors or enjoy our bowling green and floodlit tennis court,this idyllically positioned Hotel is also just 35 km outside the world-renowned Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Inn White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing