We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm attentive service and a wide range of cuisines”
Review of Magnolia

Magnolia
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: MAGNOLIA RESTAURANT & CAFE A Breath of Fresh Air on the White River and South African Culinary Scene Situated opposite the Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, Magnolia Restaurant & Cafe is a breath of fresh air on the White River and South African culinary scene. Inspired by rural French charm, it offers a sophisticated yet relaxed taste of the best the region has to offer. Unique in the diversity its multi-dimensional interior provides, it is simultaneously a romantic, intimate experience with inspirational views over the surrounding landscape; a relaxed outdoor venue set in gorgeously manicured gardens, or an upmarket business venue – perfect for large parties or small, informal get-togethers, vibrant cocktail parties, family gatherings or special occasions. The split-level interior and upstairs veranda create an interior with indoor-outdoor flow, a welcome breeze on hot summer’s days and delightful visual interest. The main restaurant is situated upstairs with a mezzanine level, which, with fantastic natural light, makes it ideally suited to private functions. Magnolia’s indulgent menu, created by leading chefs, is inspired by the use of fresh local ingredients – so whatever is in season makes it onto the menu. Meals are accompanied by a superb selection of South African wines, and rounded off with the most decadent desserts. The unique decor is a treat in itself... rustic, yet elegant – with a European twist. The quirky unexpected accents (most of which were made locally) and attention to detail create a pleasing and layered scene to be peeled away and explored bit by bit.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“warm attentive service and a wide range of cuisines”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

a lovely light and welcoming atmosphere with the warmest waiters in town! The hospitailty is always brilliant here and the selection of dishes from sishi, to pizza and curry to steak means the whole family is happy. Could do with a more interesting dessert menu, but dinner was so filling it didnt matter anyway. A mention for Given, our waiter who really cpuld not have done enough for us. X

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoeman171, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi Aliya

Thank you so much for your comment on Trip Advisor. Given was very pleased to see your review. Thank you!! Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Have a lovely day

Kind Regards

Jana Schoeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    216
    47
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love love love the idyllic restaurant”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Fell in love when I walked through the door. Booked by email as we didn't have wifi - they replied within 3 mins offering a table. We were warmly greeted and offered any table available. The restaurant is beautifully furnished and beautifully lit. They also have all their wines on display. The staff are so attentive throughout the evening followed by the chef coming to the table for his appraisal (wonderful). The menu serves everything from pizza to fresh fish, fillet steak and best of all kudo - everything we ordered was beautifully cooked and exquisitely presented. It was so amazing we went back for lunch the next day. Thought it was closed until we were directed to the rear where lay the prettiest patio area. Strongly recommend - your loss if you don't go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ajbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoeman171, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Good day

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor comment.

We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your time spent with us. We are very proud of our food and service, comments like yours just makes all the hard work worth it. :) Thanks

We really hope to welcome you back real soon.

Warmest Regards
Jana Schoeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Dreamy”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were welcomed warmly in and shown to our table, our waitress introduced her self and ask if we would like anything to drink, she got our drinks and complementary flat breads, she made sure we were comfortable with cool breeze blowing in as storm was building, my boyfriend and I did not wait long for our food +- 20min each dish was heaven we will be back again and again :) When we left it was raining cat and dogs the manager help we to the car with their umbrellas this was the cherry on the top for a wonderful romantic evening with my love

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoeman171, General Manager at Magnolia, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Good day

Thank you so much for your Trip Adviser post.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Warmest Regards

Jana Schoeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Wait Staff in White River”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I work as a missionary with Ten Thousand Homes in White River, South Africa. There are mornings when I just need some quiet time to read and write in my journal. My favorite place to go? Magnolias! Why? The food is great, the coffee is great, and the wait staff is AMAZING!! Jabu and Vusi are my absolutely favorites! They always greet me with a smile and, to be honest, know what I want when I hit the door. I generally spend about an hour and a half sitting at a table journaling my thoughts and they are so great to make sure I'm ok but also to give me the space and quiet I so desire to have. Jana, one of the managers, is quick to speak, as are the other managers that I've met.

My final thought would be this...if you come to our beautiful corner of South Africa be sure to visit the quant little Magnolias and start your day with great food, great coffee, and amazing people!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joyinsouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoeman171, General Manager at Magnolia, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hey Joy

Thank you so much for your comment. Vusi and Jabu were doing happy dances all day! Thank you for your regular support and it is great to know that you are part of our Magnolia family.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warmest Regards
Jana Schoeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stylish”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice atmosphere and good food.
Staff was very helful in selecting food and drinks and very friendly with welcome and goodbye.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sembar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoeman171, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor comment and sharing your pleasant experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards

Jana Schoeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia also viewed

 
White River, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing