We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive location, good food”
Review of Magnolia

Magnolia
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: MAGNOLIA RESTAURANT & CAFE A Breath of Fresh Air on the White River and South African Culinary Scene Situated opposite the Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, Magnolia Restaurant & Cafe is a breath of fresh air on the White River and South African culinary scene. Inspired by rural French charm, it offers a sophisticated yet relaxed taste of the best the region has to offer. Unique in the diversity its multi-dimensional interior provides, it is simultaneously a romantic, intimate experience with inspirational views over the surrounding landscape; a relaxed outdoor venue set in gorgeously manicured gardens, or an upmarket business venue – perfect for large parties or small, informal get-togethers, vibrant cocktail parties, family gatherings or special occasions. The split-level interior and upstairs veranda create an interior with indoor-outdoor flow, a welcome breeze on hot summer’s days and delightful visual interest. The main restaurant is situated upstairs with a mezzanine level, which, with fantastic natural light, makes it ideally suited to private functions. Magnolia’s indulgent menu, created by leading chefs, is inspired by the use of fresh local ingredients – so whatever is in season makes it onto the menu. Meals are accompanied by a superb selection of South African wines, and rounded off with the most decadent desserts. The unique decor is a treat in itself... rustic, yet elegant – with a European twist. The quirky unexpected accents (most of which were made locally) and attention to detail create a pleasing and layered scene to be peeled away and explored bit by bit.
White River
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attractive location, good food”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This restaurant has both a relaxed section, for breakfasts and lunch, and a more formal dining experience for dinners. Set in a garden, with space enough for children to swing on the swings and play on the jungle gym, the menu changes from time to time, and has a broad range of options. Pizzas are a new addition, though my own opinion is that they are far too big (and thus somewhat overpriced). However, this is not to distract from the fact that their food is consistently good, creatively and tastefully made - all in all, worth a visit. Waiters are friendly and most have worked at Magnolia for as long as I have been frequenting the place (3 years). Decor could be anywhere in the world - ecclectic and arty, with the magnolia taking centrestage.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoeman171, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Good day Neil,

Thank you for your great positive feedback. We make all our pizzas from scratch by hand and do on the odd occasion roll the dough a bit thicker than our standard. We have rectify and retrained on this issue and we will maintain our high standard.

Thank you once again for your comment

Regards
Jana Schoeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    216
    47
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome... Great food. Great place”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Attentive, friendly service, thank you Simple Simon...
The gentle jazz in the background complimented the eclectic farmhouse decor, great ambience coupled with generous delicious portions... The magnolia steak is a must...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoeman171, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Good day Andrew & Christie

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, much appreciated. Simon, was very happy to hear about your pleasant experience.

Hope to see you back real soon

Kind Regards
Jana Schoeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“David Smith and Friends”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had dinner at Magnolia Restaurant on Saturday 9th Feb 2013 our friends from Barbeton recommended that we dine there , we had a lovely evening , Kiddy served us , she was really friendly and good at her job , we enjoyed the food , it was awesome , we will definately be back .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAVESMITHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoeman171, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Good day Dave,

Thanks for the feedback, Kiddy was ecstatic to hear about your pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Jana Schoeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Erratic - can be great, but too often annoying”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've had really good dinners here, with first class food, but the service has almost always been very slow and sometimes bringing the wrong order. We've also had very average meals, mostly weekend lunches, where I would rather eat at home -even if I did the cooking. Unforgiveable to be slow with the drinks and also silly from a business point of view. It is such a pity because it is in lovely surroundings and they show sometimes that they can get it right brilliantly.

On the other hand their little outdoor cafe downstairs has never disappointed for light lunches and delicious breakfasts - I highly recommend that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank camelthief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoeman171, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Good day,

Thank you very much for the feedback, it is always great hosting you in our restaurant. We have identified service issues and with our on-going training programme we feel very confident that the slow service has been adressed.

As you know, our management team are extremely pro-active and we would love to get more on-going feedback. Much appreciated.

Regards
Jana Schoeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit
1 review
“Magnolia W/River could be better”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I had Sunday lunch at Magnolia restaurant in White river, service was poor ran out of top brand of beer ran out of deserts. We ordered pizzas, we would have been better off staying at home and getting Romans pizza delivered. The seafood pizza was oily and disgusting, at R110.00 we were ripped off. It is sad that a well known restaurant is so poorly managed, at least I can say I wont be back but to the tourists it shows that South Africa cannot compete with the service levels expected at the prices charged.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoeman171, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Good Morning Warren,

First of all thanks very much for the constructive feedback, we at Magnolia are extremely pro active when it comes to guest feedback and would have loved to handled your poor experience on the day

We have already identified the reason for the oily pizza, the chourizo on the pizza was not from our normal supplier and did have a higher fat content, thus the reason for the excess oil. This been sorted. We pride ourselves on great value for money freshly made dishes, thus making this feedback priceless.

I would like to personally extend an open invitation to welcome you back to our beautiful restaurant. So you can experience "true Magnolia hospitality".


Jana Schoeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia also viewed

 
White River, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing