We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”
Review of Country Lane Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Lane Lodge
Ranked #3 of 36 White River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Country Lane Lodge during March 2013, and we couldn't have been happier. The rooms are so beautifully decorated, the house is located in a peaceful and beautiful area and the hosts, George and Diana, were such fabulous hosts, enormously friendly, accommodating and genuine and we felt very lucky to have stumbled across their wonderful lodge. I agree with other reviewers on the high-end fixtures and crisp new linens. The breakfast included was delicious, and we were really struck by how well-priced they were given the quality and luxury of Country Lane Lodge.
The best guest house we have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
54
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

George and Di are the perfect hosts -- gracious, flexible, and respectful of privacy. The main house and additional cottages are new or thoughtfully renovated with sparkling floors, new bathrooms with high-end fixtures and crisp new linens. A fantastic breakfast overlooking the macadamia nut trees, pool and aviary are my favorite way to start the day. Only about 5-10 minutes to the airport as well. The service is consistently excellent, and the rooms are a bargain for the quality of the stay. Whether with family, or solo, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohwhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nestled away from the main roads of White River (yet only a minute or two from town), Country Lane Lodge's tranquility on a beautiful farm appeals to all sensibilities. In addition the modern cottages and exceptional welcome from the owners, George and Diana, made our stay immensely enjoyable.

The best guest house experience I've had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived at country lane lodge on the 18th of December 2012. Di and George welcomed us with open arms. They were incredibly accommodating and made us feel like we were at home.

After spending 8 days with them, we were sad to leave, so will definitely be back again.

On their website, they say arrive as guests and leave as friends - and that is true in every sense of the word.

Absolutely amazing experience......from the service, to the food, to the atmosphere - absolutely top class!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Chat to Di - she will make you so comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

our stay in your lodge was the best. From the first day we arrived, despite coming in the early hours of the morning, you welcomed my group with pleasure and assurance. Your swift manner of arranging tours is unbealievably the best, actually you are prompt in your arrangments and handling a group of ten with children involved was overwhelming. I will not forget the food, the rooms and especially your services, food bedding it was five star treat.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYNNE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phalaborwa, Limpopo, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I simply love Country Lane, Di, George and the 2 labradors, Sasha and Duke, what a wonderful place to stay. I booked with Di and George on my first visit over a year ago as my daughter was horse riding in White River, we stayed for a week, and have returned 4 more times over the past year, it is our home away from home. Di and George you are simply incredible, the hospitality you extend to myself, my mom and Rebecca is amazing, we feel so at home with you and cannot wait to return. The rooms are spacious and the surrounding are so peaceful, the perfect place for singles, couples or families. So if you are looking for somewhere in the White River area, you need look no further than Country Lane.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed into the home of Di and George, I say home because this lodge truly is more of a home away from home, warm breakfast, a smile and good conversation set in a beautiful back drop of the beautiful macadamia tree's characterized our wonderful stay. I have no doubt anyone visiting or who has visited can verify my statements. Truly a great stay and Thank you Di and George!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these White River hotels
4.1 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
290 reviews
4.7 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
203 reviews
6.2 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#6 of 10 in White River
240 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 10 in White River
202 reviews
1.4 mi away
White House Lodge
White House Lodge
#1 of 36 in White River
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Lane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lane Lodge

Property: Country Lane Lodge
Address: Y41C, Yaverland Road | Portion 3 of Holding no. 32, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Lane Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is situated 35 mns from the Numbi Gate to the Kruger National Park. Also able to drive the Panorama Route to take in the sights of Gods Window, Bourkes Luck Potholes etc. We are on a 15 hectars Macadamia Nut farm and feel we are a very friendly, self owned and run lodge where you can unwind and rest in the tranquility of our gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Country Lane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Lane Lodge White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing