We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful relaxing haven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heuglins on Winmarleigh Farm
Ranked #12 of 36 White River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A wonderful relaxing couple of nights at Heuglins. We stayed in Ibis cottage which was well appointed with all the touches that are part of this estate. The underfloor heating was very welcome at night but not so that it overwhelmed you. The breakfast was very welcome in the new dining room and Brian and Francis are tremendous hosts. I would recommend this b&b to anyone a delightful welcome break during our holiday.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Heuglins on Winmarleigh Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We only spent one night here as a stop over before we could collect a hire car and travel through Kruger. Communication prior to our stay was excellent, and as we had travelled overnight from the UK, and then shuttle bus to Nelspruit, Frances offered us a meal, and further transfers to the hire car depot, both very welcome! We stayed in the Cuckoo cottage and loved the 'kitchen in the cupboard'. We were also able to wander around the grounds and enjoyed the bird and wildlife.
The meal was served at a time convenient for us, and there was ample for our family of 4. Breakfast too was of a great standard and very filling.
Brian and Frances were very welcoming (as was Nugget!). We had plenty of time to discuss things like tipping, driving in South Africa, and our other destinations. Overall a great start to our South African adventure..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuddlewuddled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family spent a night here on our way back to Cape Town. All was fabulous and very comfortable. We had the Cuckoo suite which had underfloor heating in the mes! Brian was a very gracious host and took the time to share a drink with us. Poor Francis in a wheelchair with a broken leg - still so helpful and welcoming. Brian suggested a brilliant restaurant in town called Fez at the Bagdad - Carl runs a great place - good food, good atmosphere and great service! Was very impressed by our first ever stayover in WhiteRiver!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotravel628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We opted to spend a night here before catching a morning flight out of the Nelspruit airport.
It was perfect. We had a wonderful large private self catering cottage in garden like surroundings.
The hosts, Francis and Brian, also offered us dinner at a small extra charge as we didn't want to go out and our cooler was empty....and it was a lovely, home cooked meal. We were the only dinner guests but still were served in a beautiful dining area open to the garden.....and we could even bring our own wine. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Any cottage would be perfect
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blanca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The meaning of service excellence is epitomised here.
This is a location to soothe the survivors of the "rat race" with the accompaning stress. The cottages are surrounded by indigenous bush which creates a feeling of privacy. The birdlife is spectacular. We had an Eagle Owl perched outside our cottage for an afternoon. What a sight! We were also treated to a feeding frenzy by many species when the "flying ants" or termites came out after the rain. Bird watching is enhanced by the knowledge of Brian and Frances.
The facilities are more than adequate. It is evident that a lot of thought has gone into the provision of all that is needed during a getaway.
No review would be complete without a rave review of the gourmet breakfast served each morning. The variety is outstanding. A particular favourite was the sticky bacon stack.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A great spot to settle whilst exploring Mpumalanga- close to all the major sites- Heuglins is just what we were looking for in a neat, clean, comfortable base for a few days' break. Brian and Frances felt like friends by the time we left; we were grateful for their attentive, welcoming service, delicious breakfasts and easy manner. Underfloor heating will be good for winter in the bush, but enjoyed an early morning swim in the lush, tropical garden.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTressel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We loved it there….in our own private cottage nestled in a secure neighborhood in which we could go for walks.
We arrived in winter (July) and were thrilled with the heated floors, comfy bed, elegant décor, kitchenette and expansive bathroom. The 3-course breakfast was gourmet!
Fabulous location to access Kruger National Park, Lowveld Botanical Gardens, Blyde River Canyon, Sudwala Caves and drive along the magnificent Panorama Route.
Our hosts Frances and Brian so generously shared their passion and knowledge about the people, animals and attractions of the area with us. They made our stay absolutely perfect!
Incredible memories to return to Canada with.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenNorthVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
0.0 mi away
Torburnlea
Torburnlea
#8 of 78 in Nelspruit
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House Lodge
White House Lodge
#1 of 36 in White River
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Near2Numbi
Near2Numbi
#12 of 19 in White River
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heuglins on Winmarleigh Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heuglins on Winmarleigh Farm

Address: 5 Darter Drive | Sheffield Estate, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range: $66 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heuglins on Winmarleigh Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heuglins On Winmarleigh Farm White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing