We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, personal & honest service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casterbridge Hollow
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What an experience! Friendly, honest and helpful service. Finishes of the highest quality. Do not look any further.....book this establishment right away! The staff were extremely friendly and are always looking to assist with any queries you may have. The hotel is tucked away behind an adjoining shopping/hotel complex so you must keep a close eye out for the signs. We were in a first floor room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquesviljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 349 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed for one night on a weekday when everything in town was fully booked. The property is fantastic, and the bedroom is BIG. This is the best and bigger bed I ever sleep in South Africa. The decor is great and all the rooms face a beautiful pool.

However, considering the rate you pay, the service is not balanced with the property. The TV has only a few (6) channels, and the WiFi should be free!!!! An hotel that charges their customers for Internet access is outdated. In-room WiFi is essential as a working shower or air conditioning and that it needed to be offered free, fast, and reliably (www.hotelchatter.com/story/2013/4/27/12444/1162/hotels/The_2013_HotelChatter_Hotel_WiFi_Report)

The breakfast, served at the attached restaurant Magnolia, is nothing special (anything you can find at Wimpi's for R50), I think for this kind of hotel, a breakfast buffet with many options would be the best match (like StayEasy offers to all the guests).

Room Tip: Try the rooms far from the main road to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPratas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just finishing off a week at Casterbridge Hollow and do not have a bad word to say about the place.
The staff were extremely friendly and are always looking to assist with any queries you may have.
Wifi is freely available in the hotel and surrounding bars and restaurants.
The hotel is ideally situated if you want to travel around the area and is with short distance of various animal sanctuaries.
White River golf and country club is only a five minute taxi drive away.
If requiring a taxi the local driver Sam is also on call at all times of day and night.
His knowledge of the local area is second to none.
All in all a lovely part of the world.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank The_scoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for one night en-route to Johannesburg from Kruger National Park. The hotel is tucked away behind an adjoining shopping/hotel complex so you must keep a close eye out for the signs.
We were in a ground floor room close to the road, but we didn't notice any road noise at night. However, our traveling companions who were staying next door did comment on the road noise.
The accommodation wings are built in a rectangle overlooking a very nice pool area situated in the middle. Room balconies overlook the pool area.
Bedrooms are quite large and very tastefully furnished and decorated with separate bathroom and toilet. Air conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities and in-room safe are standard. Free Wi Fi is not available; you must pay for it.
The hotel contains no public facilities such as a bar and restaurant. Dining facilities are catered for by a restaurant adjacent to the hotel, which is part of the adjoining retail complex. We had dinner there and the meal was excellent. Breakfast is also served in the ground floor of the restaurant. The breakfast was a simple continental buffet with hot breakfasts also available separately. There is a pub if you want a drink, but it (and other shops) were closed on the Sunday we were there. The restaurant has a bar if you want a drink before dinner.

Room Tip: To play safe, ask for a room away from local traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed at the Casterbridge Hollow over the Easter weekend.
Reservation experience: Took 3-4 phone calls before finalised
Rooms: Stayed in a family room - spacious and very well-equiped. RIght above the outside of the reception area and very, very noisy. Guests returning late at night and buses leaving early in the morning, people takling constantly.
Bathroom amenities e.g facecloths not replaced timeously
Service: Good
Dining: Excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner at Magnolia (deserves 4 stars)
Location: Excellent
Gym: Website and ervices offer the gym as an option should a guest want to use it (not part of the hotel) it was closed for the entire weekend
No room service

Room Tip: Family rooms above reception are noisy
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Anna-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Casterbridge hotel in March '13 for my brother's wedding. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff were friendly, in particular, Precious. She was always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything.

The swimming pool was right outside our room and beautifully clean. The grounds were well kept. With an array of shops close by, we weren't short on things to do or places to eat.

This was a stunning location for the wedding and the staff helped make the whole event run smoothly and with no hiccups throughout.

I would highly recommend a stay at the Casterbridge hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaniaJ214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Easy to book online, and a great solid option in White River. Charming rooms with a slight farm/ industrial feel. Large rooms with an amazing pool in the centre of the hotel grounds.

Magnolia restaurant maybe a tad pricey for what you get and the choices a little narrow for non meat eaters.

Great breakfast and very friendly staff.

Fast WiFi in the rooms.

Aircon did not work, but at least there was a ceiling fan. Road to Kruger next to hotel a bit noisy but with the balcony door closed you dont hear much.

We couldnt find an in-room menu even thought they offer in room dining.

We paid R1400 per night and was one of the cheapest hotel options in White River.

Easy reach to Kruger/ Sabie and Pilgrims rest as well as Blyderiviers Canyon.

The place is not perfect but it is very far from average.
We'll most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wikusdutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
19.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
8.2 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in White River
193 reviews
19.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 9 in White River
285 reviews
2.5 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 9 in White River
229 reviews
19.3 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casterbridge Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casterbridge Hollow

Address: 538 Cnr R40 & R, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in White River
Price Range: $132 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casterbridge Hollow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the sweet Mango trees of the original Casterbridge Farm...Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, is ideal for the business traveller and is a convenient base from which tourists can access Kruger National Park and the Panorama Route.Casterbridge Hollow, Mpumalanga’s first “green hotel”, is a concept that has evolved with great charm, using the simplest and most basic materials. Colours are reminiscent of romantic hillside villages in Provence and Tuscany. It’s contemporary style is enhanced by richly textured baskets, sleek furnishings and designer fabrics featuring proteas and ‘bokkies’ which give the hotel an original handprint and convey its South African roots. Accessories such as wire-work baskets, hand-crafted tiles and decorative light fittings were all made by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casterbridge Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel White River
Casterbridge Hollow White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing