We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casterbridge Hollow
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel is very well located, with plenty of good restaurants and shops around and also not too far from the Kruger for one-day outing.

The premises are very nice as this hotel is new. Rooms are nicely decorated with plenty of space as well

Unfortunately during our stay power was off for more than 24 hours, which means no TV, no Internet, Etc. The restaurant was open, but since there was no power we had some concerns about how fresh would the food have been. Coming back at night was no fun as there was no light around the path and stairs going into our rooms.

The management could and should have provided with us with torches and should also have communicated with us. There was no staff or no info during the whole time and no communication.

in addition, front staff are beginners and have difficulties understanding our queries. Poorly managed with no senior or responsible staff around.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulysse1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasonsInAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Dear Guest

We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts about our hotel and are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our lovely rooms and location.

We apologise for the power outage that you experienced during your stay. This is the first time that we have experienced such a long power outage, we are usually informed by Eskom if they plan any scheduled outages for maintenance and then able to inform our guests ahead of time.

We take your comments into consideration and will ensure that our staff is better equipped to handle these situations in future.

Kind regards,
Casterbridge Hollow Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 354 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel is well located, not far from Krugger Park and can be a good base to visit the park. The hotel is good and new and no claims about it.
However one thing that puts me nervous was the restaurant so slow, but sometimes we have to adapt ourselves to this specialy in Africa

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The Casterbridge Hollow is an awesome launching or finishing point for your trip to Kruger. It is nicely situated in White River about 25 minutes from the Numbie Gate and about 20 minutes from the Nelsprit airport. It is a really beautiful hotel with a lap pool in the middle of the courtyard, beautifully modern appointed rooms and a great breakfast all for a very reasonable price. There is a great little shopping area connected with the hotel where you can get the best souvenirs we found, a spa if you would like a great massage, about 4 really good restaurants and a barn theater that hosts some awesome local entertainment. It is close to White River that has a bunch of additional shopping and a great little fast food chicken restaurant called Nandos.

The staff at the hotel, at the Casterbridge center and Nandos were magnificent. The beds were the most comfortable we slept in during our three weeks in South Africa. You will not be disappointed to make this hotel your beginning or your end to a vacation in Kruger.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

This newly opened hotel really surprised us. The rooms are located around a lovely swimming pool and are very comfortable, spacious and elegant. An excellent breakfast is served outdoors under a lovely pergola. During our stay we dined at the restaurant called Magnolia, its cousine has nothing to envy to the best Italian restaurants! The hotel staff was very kind and friendly. The hotel is situated just outside White River, near the entrance to the Kruger National Park and close to the most important tourist destinations such as Pilgrim Rest, Good's Window, Three Rondavels and so on.
It was very plesant stay at Casterbridge hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalli28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dysuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla_Coetzee, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
19.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
8.2 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in White River
198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 9 in White River
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
419 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#1 of 9 in White River
345 reviews
16 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casterbridge Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casterbridge Hollow

Address: 538 Cnr R40 & R, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in White River
Price Range: $154 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casterbridge Hollow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the sweet Mango trees of the original Casterbridge Farm...Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, is ideal for the business traveller and is a convenient base from which tourists can access Kruger National Park and the Panorama Route.Casterbridge Hollow, Mpumalanga’s first “green hotel”, is a concept that has evolved with great charm, using the simplest and most basic materials. Colours are reminiscent of romantic hillside villages in Provence and Tuscany. It’s contemporary style is enhanced by richly textured baskets, sleek furnishings and designer fabrics featuring proteas and ‘bokkies’ which give the hotel an original handprint and convey its South African roots. Accessories such as wire-work baskets, hand-crafted tiles and decorative light fittings were all made by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casterbridge Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel White River
Casterbridge Hollow White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing