We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 and I can't believe I forgot to post a review! All in all a great experience, the standard rooms are beautifully decorated and very well appointed. The staff and management are very friendly and engaging, and the cherry on top is the breakfast in Oliver's Restaurant - an old favourite of mine. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank bestofspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 352 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had been to this lodge in past but when I visited last week, it was just like old times. The staff bend over backwards for customers. I stayed in a standard room, but there is nothing standard about this room, immaculate spacious and just beautiful

Room Tip: The place is perfect any room goes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeskyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Oliver's is a wonderful lodge with 4 star dinning and the best customer service we have experienced in our trip to South Africa. They stayed up late and provided us a wonderful meal even though we were were very late arriving from Joburg. They have lovey rooms and great meals
I would stay there any chance I could.

Room Tip: all rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, kind words and honesty. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here at Oliver`s and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

One of the better hotels in the area. Lovely setting, beautiful rooms, with special attention to detail. The staff has always been friendly, but frankly seem a bit over-worked. Although not rated, Oliver's can easily be a 5 star hotel, it has such a pleasant atmosphere. The owner, an adorable and genuinely pleasant lady, which will assist where she can. The spa feels a bit like an after-thought. Certainly more a beauty and pamper spa than a proper massage spa. Book in advance though. Oliver's certainly worth a try when you in the area again, its well located for day trips in an around the area. Enjoy

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, kind words and honesty. Our Wellness & Beauty Clinic opened in the beginning of July after our renovations and it`s looking great. Our Menu has also changed and our guests and local visitors are really enjoying the new options. We hope to welcome you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked at Oliver's again on our way to the Kruger Park. We arrived just after 6 pm and had to wait for about 10 mins for someone to check us in. This was the only blemish on a memorable stay. We were upgraded(without asking) from a double to a suite. On entering the room from the welcome sherry, to the space and luxurious fitting's it felt like home from home.Really nicely thought out fitting's we were impressed. We also stayed fro dinner and once again the food was excellent, good varied menu and excellent wine list. We are not breakfast people but after our glorious dinner we couldnt resist. We had the continental and was full up so declined the cooked breakfast. looking at the next table it looked marvelous.If your looking for somewhere a little special then it has to be "oliver's " dont miss out

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmanJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja R, Owner at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and honesty. We hope that you will return soon, en-route to the Kruger or when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This wonderful Lodge is expertly run by the owner who is always around to make you feel special. The food is superb. From enjoying a Pre dinner drink in the cosy lounge or bar to the wonderful service with masterful food. It's a special place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jking29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja R, Manager at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We thank you for your kind words and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope tha you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A tranquil experience of note. Beautiful rooms with modern furnishings. The staff are exceptionally friendly and restaurant is a must to visit. I had a bit of noise coming from the road in front but it was not that big a concern. I'm sure the other rooms will not be bothered by the noise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja R, Manager at Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We thank you for your lovely review and hope to welcome you here at Oliver`s again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
18.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
423 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
10.1 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in White River
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 9 in White River
304 reviews
18 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
9 mi away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 9 in White River
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge

Address: On the White River Country Estate, Pine Lake Drive, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in White River
Price Range: $247 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush forests of the Mpumalanga province, the lodge is situated on the secure White River Country Estate and overlooks the first green of the 18-hole championship White River Golf Course. The area is well known, not only for its superb temperate sub-tropical climate, summer as well as winter, but also for its many scenic and adventurous attractions. The lodge is within close proximity of the world-renowned Kruger National Park as well as the Blyde River Canyon with panoramic drives along the escarpment and lies in a Malaria-free area. The nearby Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport gives easy access to and from any major city local and international. The Restaurant Mouth-watering continental & mediterranean dishes are served from our a-la-carte menu together with only the finest wines from our well-stocked wine cellar. Fun-dining with fondue and raclette may be enjoyed in the privacy and irresistible romantic ambience of our wine cellar. We cater for all functions i.e. weddings, special family occasions, conferences, wine tastings, etc. The Lodge The intimate comfort of our establishment and our beautifully appointed rooms allow our guests to experience the marriage between Austrian flair and subtle African influences. We offer different room categories: - 4 Exclusive Standard Rooms - 1 Exclusive Standard Family Room - 5 Luxury Rooms - 2 Executive Suites - 1 Luxury Family House with 4 bedrooms & 3 bathrooms All rooms have private verandas or balconies with splendid views over the golf course. They are individually furnished with King-sized beds – twin beds may be requested. The bathrooms are all en-suite with separate showers and baths, heated towel-rails and luxury bathroom amenities. Wellness & Beauty Clinic The in-house Wellness and Beauty Clinic is operated by professional health and skincare therapists and offers a variety of massages, face and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Hotel White River
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing