We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful property”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights before our safari to take in the Panorama route. We arrived early at about 10:30 am, but our room was cleaned and ready for us. A great way to start! The grounds and gardens at Oliver's are absolutely gorgeous! I could have stayed to enjoy them a little longer. Our room #5, was on the first floor with a covered patio and a walk out directly to the pool. If I were to return, I would request one of the rooms on the second floor or #9 on the top to take in the views. The staff were extremely friendly and professional. We ate all of our meals at Oliver's except the day were went up to Blyde River Canyon and can't say enough good things about the quality of their food. Not only great tasting but so reasonable in price as well! I have already recommended it to my friends and would gladly return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcianluanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    54
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
164
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Quick one-night stopover after safari - we thought Oliver's offered good value and comfortable accommodation. The spa was an added bonus. I had a very nice massage and manipedi for a very reasonable price.

Rooms are very floral and country-style. We got upgraded to a luxury room so cannot comment on the standard one, but ours was directly by the pool on the ground floor and had a nice terrace with a swing. Room itself was spacious and well appointed. Especially the bathroom was very big - had both bathtub and shower. Underfloor heating was a very nice touch. Whilst the decor wasn't exactly to my taste (more for the 50+ target market?), we couldn't really fault the room. The hotel is on a road (though not a busy one) so would've been a bit uncomfortable to be on the groundfloor if the resort hadn't been fenced with a guard at the gate. No noise to the room though.

Friendly staff at check-in and restaurant. Food was our only disappointment - fish etc wasn't very tasty and the pasta dishes just weren't very good (e.g. extra thick ravioli with very little inside so just eating dough). Very nice breakfast though with youghurt, muesli, beautifully presented fresh fruits, omelette etc.

Recommend as a pit-stop en route to / from safari and for older couples / groups who enjoy the country style and golf. Golf course literally on your doorstep and that was reasonably good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmiliaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding which was near Sudwala Caves, It's very handy for Mpumulanga / Nelspruit airport and took about an hour to the wedding, with great touring around and easy access to the Kruger Park. The hotel is perfectly appointed with comfortable chairs and table outside under cover, a pool and the ability to walk round the golf course after 5pm. The food was good being a blend of Austrian and South African cuisine. We especially liked the breakfasts.

Room Tip: We especially appreciated our room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinDesBoisBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Most people stay at Olivers for a few nights so it was extremely unusual for guests to stay for the 10 nights we stayed for. From day one to day ten we were treated like royalty, all of the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us, setting an exceptionally high standard. We ate at the hotel most nights where we happily worked through the large menu of amazing food served with a fantastic selection of wines, so be prepared to put on the odd pound or seven. Each day started with a hearty breakfast and then we went off sight seeing and were greeted back each evening like members of the Olivers family to find out what we did during the day.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at Olivers and special mention to Maria, Ernest, Yolande and Neville who made our stay so memorable.

Each room has its own theme and is kept clean throughout the day, from the morning cleaning service to the turn down service which includes a further room clean and my favourite chocolates on the pillow!

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone, its perfect to relax and unwind with its beautiful gardens and pool area. We hope to visit again in the future.

One small tip - there are a few cats at the hotel (it is a family run hotel) so if you have any allergies to them it might be worth packing some antihistamines.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed at Oliver's for 3 nights to acclimate to a 9 hour time difference and to tour the Panorama Route. We couldn't have been happier. The staff was fantastic, the food was excellent and the location was perfect for what we wanted to do. Our room had a beautiful view of their grounds and the golf course. As we reflect back on our 3 weeks in South Africa, Oliver's had one of the best breakfasts of the trip. They have a new chef and the first dinner we had was so good, we ate there our remaining two nights.

Room Tip: Believe all rooms were good from what we saw. They have a main building and one that is newer next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1NevadaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We were booked in overnight since we were en route from Jburg to Kapama. Deeply regret that we only arrived at about 7 p.m. and were being picked up the next day at 10. Everything about Olivers was exquisite - the room was large, perfectly equipped with a wonderful bed, two comfortable chaises, an excellent bathroom (with separate toilet which is always nice) and a large furnished terrace overlooking the pool and golf course We had made dinner reservations in advance and it turned out to be a special chefs dinner with wine tasting. A perfect meal, reasonably priced and very well served, I can only say the same about breakfast the next day. If and when we return to South Africa we will definitely stay for a few days at Olivers. Based on a few trips, I have found the quality of South African hospitality is very high - this is one of the best. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVLTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

On our silver wedding trip Oliver's was unfortunatley just a stop-over. We would have happily stayed longer. From the welcome, to the room, to the restaurant everything had been carefully studied to provide maximum comfort and as they say themselves "gemutlichkeit". The staff were all friendly and helpful, the gardens and the pool were delightful. The food was delicious. The prices were all very reasonable, at least by European standards.
We'll go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
10.1 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
176 reviews
18.0 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
18.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.6 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
204 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge

Property: Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Address: On the White River Country Estate, Pine Lake Drive, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush forests of the Mpumalanga province, the lodge is situated on the secure White River Country Estate and overlooks the first green of the 18-hole championship White River Golf Course. The area is well known, not only for its superb temperate sub-tropical climate, summer as well as winter, but also for its many scenic and adventurous attractions. The lodge is within close proximity of the world-renowned Kruger National Park as well as the Blyde River Canyon with panoramic drives along the escarpment and lies in a Malaria-free area. The nearby Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport gives easy access to and from any major city local and international. The Restaurant Mouth-watering continental & mediterranean dishes are served from our a-la-carte menu together with only the finest wines from our well-stocked wine cellar. Fun-dining with fondue and raclette may be enjoyed in the privacy and irresistible romantic ambience of our wine cellar. We cater for all functions i.e. weddings, special family occasions, conferences, wine tastings, etc. The Lodge The intimate comfort of our establishment and our beautifully appointed rooms allow our guests to experience the marriage between Austrian flair and subtle African influences. We offer different room categories: - 4 Exclusive Standard Rooms - 1 Exclusive Standard Family Room - 5 Luxury Rooms - 2 Executive Suites - 1 Luxury Family House with 4 bedrooms & 3 bathrooms All rooms have private verandas or balconies with splendid views over the golf course. They are individually furnished with King-sized beds – twin beds may be requested. The bathrooms are all en-suite with separate showers and baths, heated towel-rails and luxury bathroom amenities. Wellness & Beauty Clinic The in-house Wellness and Beauty Clinic is operated by professional health and skincare therapists and offers a variety of massages, face and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Hotel White River
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing