We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night in S.A.”
Review of White House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 36 White River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hillerstorp, Sweden
1 review
“First night in S.A.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

When we drove down the dirt road I wondered, what place is this ! But when the gate opened automaticalty ( ? ) I had no more doubtes. Waiting was our hostess and the feeling was " hospitality" which kept all through our stay ... the evening dinner, the rooms, the pool, the breakfast ( which was a special reguest; fresh fruit), the view towards Legogote mountian, was stunning !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Majlen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    41
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
108
117
31
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My family and firends stayed in a Luxury Cottage and Gogo. Very well decorated with everything inside.
Nice breakfast and the owner always very friendly.
Awsome. Very well equipped safety and clean. I will be there again for sure.



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pedro Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The stay was wonderful once again. The host, a German couple, can tell very interesting information about the country. The cozy lodge offers everything you need: Pool, terrace, park, the ever-ready coffee machine and service in the background allow a very relaxing holiday.
I have already planned my next vacation in the White River Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgBreuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Amazing place, clean, INCREDIBLE views, lovely people and great value. Only thing letting it down is that it is a little way out of White River if you were wanting to go and eat out but the compromise on this is that you get the most incredible views. Wish we would have been staying longer and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Fabulous venue overlooking beautiful views of SA!! Run by Susan & Detlef, two of the most welcoming people you will meet. Close to the Kruger Park gates, but also within easy driving distance of God's Window, the extraordinary 'Potholes' and the 'Pinnacle'. Fab waterfall's and not forgetting Pilgrim's Rest...another world totally!! Check out their website! It's all it says, and much more!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PhilandPaulineMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salgareda, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in the family chalet. It was comfortable, well kept and clean. Breakfast was very good, served in the patio garden. The location was fantastic with a beautiful garden, breathtaking views and lovely pool. The host, Mrs Susan was very friendly, kind and helpful. We had an excellent stay unfortunately just for one night. We highly recommend this place and hope to come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anto2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We traveled in South Africa for 3 weeks and being here we felt like home, in fact we went back after our first stay. We liked everything, Susan and Deitlef are a great host and run the place in the best way. The place is very clean and comfortable and breakfast was great. Thank you and we hope to visit you again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Massim010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these White River hotels
4.6 mi away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
297 reviews
5.6 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
177 reviews
5.0 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
247 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
315 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nut Grove Manor
Nut Grove Manor
#2 of 36 in White River
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Lodge

Property: White House Lodge
Address: PO Box 4490 | White River, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White House Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White House Lodge is situated 5 km out of White River close to Kruger National Park and Blyde River Canyon and offers you comfortable and affordable accommodation. Enjoy the magnificent views and tranquility of our place. Relax at our pool area or let us spoil you with international food and South African wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your White House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House Lodge White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing