We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort on the park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Resort on the park”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Kruger park lodge
I have been writing views of our recent travels through South Africa, and did not commence my travel advisories in chronological order.
This presents a problem as each place I stayed at , was nicer than the last,but not qualitative. Each one was amazing for the portion of the experience we were sharing, as it related to the surroundings we were in.
We had travelled 4-5 hours from Swaziland to get to Kruger national park reserve ,with the final 2 hours driving through the park. We had entered the park from the Melalane Gate at the south end,and drove through the reserve building our appetites for this point.
The grounds and layout of this property astounded us in that it was amazing that the developers had decided to create what they did within a 1/4 mile from the reserve, backed onto the river.
My impression was that I had travelled to a south sea island resort, not a game reserve.
The open feeling of the place, the walkways,pool area, raised lookout topped by the amazing outdoor dining barbecue buffet are just hard to beat.It was kind of a shame to go to see animals instead of spending the day just inside these lush surroundings. One can wake up in the AM to impalas waltzing around your rear door, or monkeys swinging by you at the pool.
There is a gym, but this is really just a nice little raised platform lookout room with a treadmill and an all in one machine that was not really worth playing with.
There is also a spa which offers massage and I heard reports that they were very good.
Breakfast buffet was also first class with a multitude of choice.
I would point out here that almost all the places offering the breakfast buffets were excellent, and the only negative is the slowdown when people want their own special omelet ,as everybody stands there holding their plates of food.
It seemed that all places we visited, not a single employee at the egg counter had the ability to prejudge the demand and commence a few at a time,eg regardless of how many people were standing in line in front of them with other food getting cold on their plate.
This is not a critique of Protea Kruger Gate, but a general comment across the board
Still , a top rated place

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear GUEST

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, is it a wonderful experience to feel so close to nature, we are so lucky to be so close to the Kruger National Park.
We are privileged to be situated in such a beautiful setting which allows GUESTS to experience wildlife first-hand. Coupled this with our comfortable newly refurbished rooms, boma dining and friendly service; one is sure to have a great stay

As far as the egg station goes, I will bring it to my TEAMS attention Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
F Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    303
    105
    29
    14
See reviews for
230
339
29
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boksburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The perfect hotel for the bush lover who wants comfort as well as quick and easy access to the Kruger Park without having to stay in the park. Newly refurbished and tastefully decorated rooms. Fantastic Boma dinners each evening with great variety. A lovely pool area to cool off in after a day off searching for animals. A place we love to return to often with our children.

Room Tip: The slightly more expensive rooms offer fridges which helps to keep drinks cool when your heading ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SureTravel24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear GUEST
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the TripAdvisor community.

A holiday in the bush is a great treat and comfortable rooms, with delicious food and beverage offerings make such a difference. To top it all, being located just metres away from the Paul Kruger Gate is convenient and unique to Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.

I am delighted to receive such lovely comments and hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
F Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We chose the Protea Kruger Gate Hotel because of its' proximity to Kruger Gate AND Sabi Sands. The location is excellent.
On the positive side, we had these great experiences:
1. A timely and friendly pickup from the airport by Samson (extra fee).
2. A very pleasant couples massage in a setting that is unique in the world. The massage hut looked out into the Sabi River and we even saw an elephant walk by as we were getting pampered in this unique environment. You actually heard the REAL sounds of birds and insects that are prerecorded in other spas.
3. A great panorama tour (with Samson, again) that he allowed us to customize to our needs. At the end, we wanted to go to Kruger Park for an hour instead of visiting Mac Mac Falls and he changed the route for us. (Of course, we paid the entrance fee to the park).
4. Ample rooms, decent but average buffet food.
5. A great drive to the airport by Brendon Steele of Elephant Herd. Very knowledgeable and friendly driver. We learned a lot on our way to the aiport.

On the negative side, these were the drawbacks:

1. We hired a premium morning game drive by Elephant Herd Safari Tour Operator to Sabi Sands. We had to be ready at 4:45 am and we felt very rushed (by Wayne?) to get us there. Overall, it wasn't worth the premium fee or waking up so early.

2. We requested a late check out of 1pm because our flight left from Nelspruit at 4:40pm. Although the hotel didn't look at all like it was fully booked we were only allowed a 12:00 late checkout. We were certain that the courtesy could have been granted to us with very small effort on their part.

3. The front-desk staff wasn't particularly friendly.

We would recommend it greatly but NOT for going to Sabi Sands. If you wish to go to Sabi Sands better stay in one of their lodges.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear GUEST.
Thank you for your review and for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. Our location and facilities is definitely a huge bonus when visiting the Kruger National Park. Your commendations of Samson in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated him for doing such an outstanding job!
Your feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Kruger Gate again soon.
Yours sincerely,
F Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Location. Location. Location. This hotel has it. It took no less than 5 minutes to get to Paul Kruger Gate for a day's game drive in Kruger National Park. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the wooded setting of the hotel and the good food, especially the breakfast buffet. Our room was nice size and very clean. The gift shop was large and had good prices (we got a man's leather hat for $40).
The spa was a partially open "grass hut" style that overlooked the Sabi river and Kruger Park. The hot stone massage was only $47 for an hour. It was a good massage and a good buy. I only wish I had time for a second massage!
We arranged with the park service for a night game drive and we were picked up at the front entry to the hotel complex; so, it was convenient and about $40 for a 2+ hour drive. Our guide was great. Nothing like dozens of eyes starring at you from a distance when the flood light swept the night landscape.
The service was ok, but not the quality of other hotels such as the Victoria Falls Hotel from where we had just come and had experienced outstanding service. Food service was slow. Our rooms were clean, but special requests were not promptly handled. The maid kept moving stuff around that was unnecessary and annoying.
A second floor room might be better as you get a nice breeze & view of the grounds, and no issues with potential affects of flooding. We had no problems at all with bugs or insects.
We saw monkeys daily on the grounds and on the hall way railings. The monkeys especially liked to raid the maid's service carts! Great entertainment for we tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor. It is convenient by walkways to the public areas of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WireWrapGems2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your comments on the TripAdvisor community.

Our location definitely helps with those early morning game drives as one can sneak in some extra sleep. On top of that, we are lucky to be surrounded by such beauty and that the animals come to visit us. The hotel and it’s design is meant to blend in with the area and there is something about the bushveld that creates a sense of calm, which is perfect for a holiday. We did our best to blend in with the environment when building the hotel and your comments reflect that.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback regarding our room service by no means reflects the high standard of quality and service that Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that I have investigated your comments in a serious light and taken action to rectify the shortcomings.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the Kruger Gate and loved the ambiance and location. The proximity to one of the park's entrances made it very easy to go into the Park at our convenience. Rooms were spacious, though as a family of four we found the bathrooms rather cramped. The dinner buffets were amazing with a variety of BBQ options. We loved the tree-house style of the bar area where we spent the evening sipping on cocktails and looking out into Kruger Park which is right next door. Spotted a few deer and an elephant wandering around too. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. I loved the selection of items at the hotel gift shop!!

Room Tip: Choose rooms which look out into the park if possible. But frankly speaking after a full day in Krug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinitha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear GUEST

Thank you for your positive comments after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.
A holiday in the bushveld is always special. Being surrounded by the wildlife and the flora does wonders. Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is designed to blend in with the natural surroundings and it seems as if you got the rest and relaxation you were looking for.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We wanted to stay in a hotel rather than in a bungalow inside the Kruger Park. Protea hotel was ideal for us. Beautifully clean rooms set amongst trees to protect from African heat.
Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whatdoithink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear GUEST

Thank you for stopping over at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are privileged to be situated in such a beautiful setting which allows GUESTS to experience wildlife first-hand. Coupled this with our comfortable newly refurbished rooms, boma dining and friendly service; one is sure to have a great stay.

It was a pleasure hosting you and hopefully next time you will be able to stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our preference is normally for smaller, more personable, hotels however as far as big hotels go (and this one was very big by our standards) it was excellent. We were 'self-drive' so the location, minutes from the Paul Kruger gate was just perfect. The hotel was very clean and our bedroom and bathroom were very spacious and comfortable. All of the food was buffet style and having had poor experiences previously with this type of arrangement we were a little guarded at first however we need not have been as the food and service were both very good. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JillyWig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear GUEST

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the TripAdvisor community.

A holiday in the bush is a great treat and comfortable rooms, with delicious food and beverage offerings make such a difference. To top it all, being located just metres away from the Paul Kruger Gate is convenient and unique to Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.

I am delighted to receive such lovely comments and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
6.4 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
383 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
22.9 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#4 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
446 reviews
17.3 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#33 of 174 in Kruger National Park
567 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 39 in Hazyview
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Address: Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don't forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing