We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is an experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is an experience”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Beautiful and charming entrance. Lovely personnel. Excellent food. Monkeys and birds everywhere. Book a photo safari. Well worth it. Dinners were great. Watch the monkeys, they are fast and furious in stealing food from your table. And, are they clever. They watch you for the least distraction and, Bamo!, they hit the table and grab your food. This did not bother us in the least. We made a game out of it. All we can say is WOW!! and put this place on your bucket list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeyesandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Buckeyesandi

A visit to the Kruger National Park is definitely something for the bucket list. Thank you for your raving review and recommendation of Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.

Knowing that the STAFF provided a welcoming environment during your stay, as well as delicious dinners is exactly what I like to hear.

The monkeys are certainly entertaining and I happy that their mischievous personalities provided you with some entertainment.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    294
    102
    29
    14
See reviews for
219
328
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 days it to be comfortable. The desk people were not as attentive as they could have been. The bar was empty and it was difficult to get a drink. The rooms were wonderful and comfortable. The food was OK at dinner. You could always find something good to eat., Breakfast was sonderdul and service was very efficient. It was very close to the park gate. The viewing area always had something to watch. After 8:00 at night the place was very quiet. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Kruger.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Marilyn M

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

After completing our recent refurbishment of the hotel, it is amazing to know that your stay was comfortable and that your enjoyed the rooms.

I am sorry that the service from the desk and the bar area were below par. I can understand your frustration and assure you that I have addressed this with the relevant TEAM members. Offering the best GUEST service is of the utmost importance at Protea Hotels.

As most GUESTS go for long safaris and explore the bushveld, our breakfast TEAM make sure that the spread is tasty and wholesome. They will be thrilled when they see your comments.

After a long day, I can certainly recommend the viewing decks whilst sipping on a drink. One can relax whilst catching a glimpse of the animals walking by.

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Next to Kruger gate. Beatiful hotel in the middle of wild country. People are very nice. Try to do a night park trip lot of lions and other animals difficult to see during the day. Awsome experience.Breadfast was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andres m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear andres m

With a title like ‘Fantastic’, I find it very hard not to smile. Thank you for such a great review.

I am fortunate to work with such friendly, efficient and passionate STAFF. I will congratulate them once again on delivery the best GUEST service.

One of the beautiful things to experience when visitin the Kruger National Park is watching the animals in their natural environment. I hope you managed to see lots of them whilst on your safari.

Be sure to visit when you are next in the bushveld.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful facility. Charming rooms with large floor to ceiling windows overlooking lots of green plants with monkeys and birds right out side your room. The buffets for dinner were great. Would recommend this facility highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear CarolR7

It is always humbling to receive such wonderful feedback and to know that our GUESTS have enjoyed their stay with us.

A holiday in the bushveld is always special. Being surrounded by the wildlife and the flora does wonders for the stress levels. Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is designed to blend in with the natural surroundings and it seems as if you go the rest and relaxation you were looking for.

I will pass on your comments regarding the buffet dinners to the chef and TEAM. I am positive that this will inspire them to deliver the best food at all times.

Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel which is situated within meters of Kruger Gate at Kruger National Park. I was quite impressed with the style of the hotel, the service was good and the food was fantastic.
I regularly go to Kruger and would stay there again in the future

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WOWCapeTownTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear WOWCapeTownTours

What positive feedback! Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

Being located within metres of the Paul Kruger is very convenient for GUESTS. Whether doing a self-drive or going on scheduled safaris, those extra few hours sleep make all the difference.

We have recently finished renovations and I am happy to hear that the new style of the public areas and rooms were to your liking.

The TEAM is committed to providing on the best, and this is evident in your experience of the service and delicious meals. I commend them all on their continuous efforts.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was the only place in SA where we encountered bad service. With only a couple of exceptions the staff were surly and inattentive. Waiting times for service at the evening meal were unacceptable. We had to wait for 30 minutes for drinks to arrive after ordering and when they arrived they were wrong. The staff did not seem to care at all to the point of near rudeness, so unlike the rest of the country!. Room was supposed to sleep 2 adults and 2 children. It barely did. The children were on an L-shaped sofa bed and had been provided with one duvet between them. We requested a second which came quickly but with the usual surly attitude. When we left there was an argument over whether the room had been paid for because they "did not recognise our travel agents name" (unlike everywhere else we stayed!) and they tried to get us to pay again and reclaim the money from our agents. I refused and was thankful I had not given them my card details on arrival. This may have been an admin error but felt like a scam. Good points - it is very beautiful and great location on edge of the national park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Simon B

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback will certainly assist us with our search for excellence.

We are very lucky to have Kruger National Park as our backyard. I am pleased that our location was of benefit to you during your stay.

I am extremely sorry that you had such a below par experience with us. Not only is this disappointing, but very concerning as we aim to offer the best GUEST service. It is unfortunate that this was not the case and I have addressed this with the TEAM already.

There is no excuse for the lack of the bedding in your room or the confusion around your prepayment. I can assure you that these are not the standards we are usually proud to offer and additional emphasis will be put into all areas to prevent this from reoccurring.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you directly. You can contact me via email at gm@phkrugergate.co.za.

I really hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the bushveld to show you true Protea hospitality.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Room was nice with a comfortable bed. It was the rest of the property that made the stay so good. The atmosphere after dark was very nice. This was my first time to Kruger Park and While I wanted to stay in the park, there were no rooms available. I was able to secure a room, site unseen and no ability to do any research. I was very pleased! The reception area, restaurant, etc are outdoors and with the grounds lighting after dark, the effect was great! The food was good with good service and a very nice all day tour of the park. I will return with my spouse!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Kim H

Thank you for your review and I am thrilled with your title.

Our location is in the heart of the bushveld together with the majestic surroundings means that GUESTS can have an amazing experience. Your enjoyment of our hotel rings true to what the entire TEAM aim to deliver for every GUEST.

I look forward to welcoming you back as well as your spouse on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
6.4 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
25.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
22.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Address: Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don't forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing