We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel! Kruger animals can be seen here (the not scary ones).”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel! Kruger animals can be seen here (the not scary ones).”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place was definitely an amazing and extremely memorable hotel--I knew it would be nice, but the photos didn't do it justice. It's basically set in the middle of the rural area that is Kruger Park (it's technically outside of the park). But there are animals from the park walking around--like monkeys and impala, not lions or anything.

Everything else is super high end and really nice, and dinner and breakfast are included (dinner is a massive buffet with safari-esque stuff like venison) so all things considered, it's pretty good value for the money.

The rooms were fine, just like a normal nice hotel. But it's definitely the rest of the hotel that's worth the experience.

Two pieces of advice:
- Make sure you figure out exactly where it is and how to get there beforehand. We winged it in a taxicab from Maputo, but it turned out to not be a good situation. It's pretty remote.

- Massages there are cheap, but not very good. My masseuse definitely hadn't gotten much training.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Rachel E

What a great review and thank you for sharing your memorable experience on TripAdvisor.

We are so lucky to be located in such a beautiful area where, as you noted, one is able to view the animals in their own environment.

I would like to apologise for your below par spa treatment and I will be looking into this matter.

Good food, great ambience and friendly STAFF are part of the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate experience and we hope that you will come back soon to enjoy it all over again.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    297
    102
    29
    14
See reviews for
220
329
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Bad:
Our initial reaction to the hotel was not so good. After a nice 7 hour drive from Johannesburg, the only thing we wanted to do was sit down, chill, and freshen up for a short while before our afternoon safari. It's located about 2 minutes from the entrance to kruger, so super convenient.
They'd given us a room that had all the bedspreads overturned, hadn't been cleaned yet at 3PM and was absolutely filthy. The previous occupant had ordered in and had sloshed ketchup everywhere. Needless to say, we asked the front desk for a room change. The room we got was definitely a downgrade, - super dark and dingy, but clean. I would probably have no issues with this hotel had it not been for the initial filthy check-in, but first impressions are lasting.

You won't get internet in your room, you can only access it through the center lounge. Not a huge fan, and think they could update this...it certainly couldn't be that expensive to upgrade the wifi access to be available to each room rather than a communal area, and it would make your customers stay much nicer.

Bring your own toiletries. Theirs smell weird and aren't so good.

The Good:
Breakfast has a decent spread, dinner is ok as well, they put on an interesting show each night. Service is excellent. Super accommodating and nice people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaLolaLola555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear ayh210

Thank you for providing us with such valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings. The TEAM sure knows how to put together a delicious spread for any occasion and they will be thrilled to hear your comments.

I am a firm believer in setting positive first impressions and it is disappointing that yours was so unpleasant. It is one of our standards to provide a fresh room for every GUEST and your experience was not what we are usually proud to offer. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience and I will be speaking with the housekeeping department about this.

Due to our location in the heart of the Kruger National Park, Wi-Fi signal strength goes up and down. We are always looking for ways to improve our GUESTS experience and we will look into ways of improving this.

The STAFF make a large effort to welcome our GUESTS and make them feel at home. I will commend them all on their efforts and pass on your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are recently revamped, and lovely. The rooms are spacious and modern.
I loved the wooden pathways raised in between the lush trees, from which the entire resort can be viewed,
The hotel amenities are exceptional and the bar and lounge facilities overlook the Kruger national park, across the riverbed from where we spotted elephants, leopards etc.
Staff were superb and the evening boma dinner a divine experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mercades S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Mercades S

The Kruger National Park is most definitely an ‘African Surprise’ and we are only too happy to be able to provide GUESTS with a unique experience.

Our recently renovated rooms are beautiful and we are almost complete with the refurbishment project. The designers and TEAM will be thrilled to hear that their hard work is already being appreciated by GUESTS.

The hotel is designed to offer GUESTS the opportunity to experience the bushveld, and the walkways and viewing decks are one of the ways to do this. Relax in comfort whilst watching some of the beautiful wildlife pass by.

I will share your positive comments about the STAFF as their commitment to providing the best GUEST service does not go unnoticed.

Thank you for your review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Protea Gate Hotel is just outside the entrance there are a variety of rooms some hotel style and also self-catering lodges some of the paths connecting the rooms to the main hotel are suspended wooden walkways, you get the feeling that your in a tree house and your very aware of the proximity to the park with cheeky monkey’s trying to steal just about anything, indeed there’s a guy employed by the hotel to chase away the monkeys with a catapult! One of the terraces of the property looks over a fence to the Sabi River, from here you can sit in a tree-house and watch Elephants and other game whilst sipping a cocktail. Dinner was an out door BBQ and in the morning we set off early for our first game drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Peter S

Thank you for your compliments and for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

Offering a unique safari experience and great value at the same time is definitely something we are very proud of. Your recognition of this is reassuring as we are continuously striving to achieve excellence in all areas.

The walkways and viewing decks are without a doubt a must see when visiting Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. One truly feels in touch with the bush and its surroundings, whilst at the same time being able to sip on a sundowner or some warm hot chocolate.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to South Africa!

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here as our base for exploring Kruger Park, returning after a long time (amazingly over 10 years - that wont happen again) on basis that it was great the last time. Well, it was even better this time. It is literally walking distance to the Kruger Gate but with a hire car to venture into Park this didn't worry us. We stayed in a self-catering chalet which was very well supplied, quiet, secluded and had cheeky velvet monkeys climbing all over it! The chalet was probably a good choice at this time as the renovation work on main hotel could be noisy according to others. The hotel has now expanded down to the river (other side is Kruger) with a drinks/ viewing deck and it is difficult to describe the pleasure of watching the sun go down with a cool drink sitting listening to the hippos snorting in the river. As it is Kruger on other side there is wildlife - we saw lots of elephant coming to river, bush buck wandering the grounds and we did have a leopard visit the hotel. Restaurants are really good but what makes this hotel is the staff who are spectacular (special mentions for Thandi, Sena and Moses), helpful and friendly. Running out of superlatives - just go there and try it !!!

Room Tip: Hire car is really a must as with all South African activities. If you can try for a chalet rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldbolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Oldbolter

What an amazing review to compliment what seems to have been a wonderful stay!

Whether using a hired car or a tour guide, our location is unquestionable and being so close to the Paul Kruger Gate really makes such a difference to ones stay.

We are very excited about the renovations coming to a close by mid-2013, but also glad that you enjoyed your time in the self-catering chalets. They offer great privacy and amenities, not to mention the odd private game viewing experience.

Between the viewing decks, which are relaxing and breathtaking, and the delicious offering at the Lapa Restaurant; GUESTS will be treated to great experiences and service of the highest quality. I will make mention to the TEAM on a job well done.

We look forward to your next visit to the bushveld.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Best location to explore Kruger Park from. Rooms are nice. Water is provided daily for room use.
Had a problem with my shower so you might want to check yours on arrival. Isolated room issue, I'm sure.
More smiles from the staff please.
Common areas are lovely and the food rocks. The evening buffet was awesome. Very large and with more choices than the other buffets I encountered in Africa. Grilled game offerings if you please.
Happy to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Godsgirl66

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay with Protea Hotels during your visit to South Africa.

Situated minutes away from the Paul Kruger Gate, you are 100% correct that we have the best location to explore the Kruger Park from.

I apologise for the issue regarding your shower and we will be attending to this immediately.

We are delighted to receive such amazing feedback about the buffet and the Chef and TEAM will be motivated to continue to source fresh produce and cook tasty dishes.

I hope you had a great time in Cape Town and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Me and my husband we are great fans of Kruger Park and we go there very often during the weekends. Normally we stay at PH Paul Kruger Gate. We find that this hotel is very well located, staff is very friendly and the renovation works have improved it a lot. Before the renovation the rooms were a little bit depressing, but now they are very cosy. Food is good, dinning at the Boma, specially in winter, it's a good moment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Alexandra M

Thank you for your support of Protea Hotel Kruger Gate and for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

A getaway to the Kruger National Park is a treat that everyone should experience. We do our best to enhance our GUESTS’ stay with the great lookout decks and comfortable rooms.

The TEAM is extremely excited about the renovations and I am pleased to let you know that we are now on the home stretch. It is good to know that the rooms are cosy and fresh.

I will congratulate the Chef & TEAM on their ongoing success in producing delicious dishes for all to savour.

I am sure we will be seeing you again soon and look forward to your next trip.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
6.4 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
372 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
10.5 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
297 reviews
12.5 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Address: Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don't forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing