We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Protea Kruger Gate Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is among the worst hotels in which I have ever stayed anywhere in the world. Though in a beautiful location, with a wonderful overlook of the river and animals, and a very comfortable library area ... this is where it stops!!!!!

The rooms are GHASTLY!!! Not properly cleaned. Room amenities are not replenished daily (when I asked for paper handkerchiefs, a maid went into another room and took them as she did not have any on her cart). Overall is the feeling of cheap and dirty.

Food is terrible. Over or undercooked. Staff is most inefficient and not very friendly or welcoming.

Upon asking for an electrical adapter I was told that the few which were available had been given to other guests (poor practice since all guests come with cameras to the area. ALL rooms should be provisioned with adapters). I was told that I should go to the shop and purchase one. VERY BAD!!!!!!!!

Travelers come to The Kruger Park for the beautiful vistas and the animals. However it would be nice to have a decent hotel which enhances the experience NOT detract from it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KIWP131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear KIWP131313

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to bring your concerns to my attention.

I am happy that you enjoyed our convenient locations, beautiful surroundings and comfortable library area. However, the rest of your comments are extremely concerning and are not the standards that we are usually proud to offer.

GUEST service is of the utmost importance to us and we therefore strive to achieve the best possible experience for our GUESTS at all times.

I would like to apologise for seems to have been an unpleasant experience. As we usually receive compliments in many areas, it is obvious that we have dropped the ball in your case and that is unacceptable. I can assure you that my TEAM & I will be looking into the concerns raised in order to improve where necessary.

Once again, your feedback is appreciated and, should you ever visit from Arizona again, we would welcome another opportunity to show you the true Protea Hotels experience.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 872 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed two days on a tour at this hotel with a dramatic, high, open lobby and boardwalks to rooms and other areas. Our room was large, had comfortable twin beds pushed together, a safe and coffee maker. There is free wifi only around the lobby area; a lovely pool area and a delightful multi level viewing area overlooking the river--it was a great place to sit but we did not see any animals. We had a very good buffet dinner with some African items available, good lamb chops and calamari and delicious desserts. Seating was inside or out. The breakfast buffet was good with some great bacon--you can have eggs made any way, but this was a little slow because it was popular. One note--there are monkeys around and one morning one came down on an outside table and swiped a banana at a table where people were eating. We enjoyed our stay at this unusual hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Pnemiller

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for reviewing our hotel with a 4 star rating.

What more could one ask for than comfortable beds and a good cup of coffee when you wake up? Not to mention the great viewing decks and serene pool area. It’s unfortunate that you did not get to see any animals whilst overlooking the river, but hopefully next time.

Your compliments of the breakfasts and dinner are welcomed and the chefs will be delighted to hear that their creations are being enjoyed.

It was a pleasure hosting you all the way from Pennsylvania and we look forward to your next trip.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is the location. It's just a few minutes away from the Paul Kruger gate which makes it extremely convenient for safaris. The property is very nice, we were pleasantly surprised by the entire resort, it has a lovely viewing deck where we saw an elephant on the first night of our stay. The pool is also nice though we didn't take a swim. The rooms are big and comfortable. The breakfast was also good. Now coming to the negatives, as vegetarians we didn't get too much to eat for dinner apart from salads though the chefs tried to be very helpful. The safari was also a bit of a letdown since the driver was not very great in terms of looking for animals, he kept driving around and wanted us to point out to any game. All in all would definitely go back go the hotel if I am staying in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Natarajan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Natarajan_Sankar

I appreciate your constructive feedback and am so pleased that you had a wonderful time on your visit.

The viewing decks are a real treat. With a view of the bush and the animals meandering through, one can relax and enjoy the surroundings.

Your concern regarding the vegetarian option will be discussed with the chef and TEAM. We strive to achieve the best GUEST service and creating more variety on our buffet will help achieve that.

It’s a pity that you did not enjoy your safari ride. The company is not under our management but I will definitely pass on your comments to them to help improve their service.

Thank you for visiting and maybe next time you can try out the pool.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Spent 3 nights here on a self-drive trip around Kruger. The big selling point of this lodge is its proximity to the Paul Kruger Gate and its position as fairly central in the park. Whilst you could journey around Kruger stopping at camps which are fairly basic; staying here allowed us to do a 'loop' each day, taking a different route, e.g. Down to Lower Sabie, Crocodile gate, and Malelane, or north towards the Orpen gate. The additional benefit is taking advantage of the organised safaris that leave from Paul Kruger gate, very reasonable and on the doorstep without the travel time from e.g. Hazyview etc.

Room was spacious with a 'lodge' feel, however, the walls/ceiling and bathroom fittings were tired and the shower continually flooded the floor due to a 2cm gap at the bottom of the glass screen, safe didn't work and a large gap at the bottom of the room door did not prevent mosquitos in the evening! Bed was big and fairly comfortable. Nothing outstanding but did the job.

The communal areas make you feel more like you're in a game reserve, the viewing terrace was great and I think if we had been fortunate to see any animals roaming in front of us, this review would have been 4-stars! Food ok but a little repetitive, it is a shame that the outdoors restaurant was only open on the Saturday we were there - much better quality and atmosphere when we ate there. Despite advertising free wifi in the communal areas, signal too weak to connect...but who wants Internet access when you are supposed to be enjoying a wild experience?

Would stay again simply for location, but the rooms could do with some attention.

Room Tip: Despite emailing to say we were celebrating my wife's 30th, the hotel neither acknowledged this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Tom083

Thank you for staying with us during your self-drive adventure around Kruger. As you mentioned, we are so close to the Paul Kruger Gate which provides our GUESTS with easy access. I am delighted that you were able to try so many different routes.

Your feedback regarding the rooms is welcomed and we have taken note. We will be renovating the rest of the rooms and the new walk-in showers will eliminate the leaking problem you experienced. There is no excuse for the safe fault and this is disappointing to hear. I will ensure that our policy of checking all safes before GUESTS arrive is maintained.

Our chef’s do try to provide different meal options on a daily basis. I understand the importance of this for GUESTS staying at length and will address this with the TEAM.

I apologise that your wife’s celebration was not acknowledge, but I do hope that you enjoyed your stay and have a safe trip back home.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there for a night and I would certainly recommend this place...the view from the lookout was amazing...we saw hippos and elephants strolling casually in the lookout area...the room was big and spacious and the staff was courteous....

The only negative point was the fact that there was no vegetarian options in the dinner buffet

The early morning game drive was also quite good and the guide was quite knowledgeable..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Pavitra_177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Pavitra_177

Thank you for staying with us during your short visit to the Kruger National Park.

Our viewing points are perfect for relaxing, taking in the breathtaking views and catching a glimpse of the wildlife in their natural environment. It seems as if the animals knew you were in town for one night only and decided to put on a show.

Having a knowledgeable guide take you through the park is vital and I will be sure to pass on your comments about the game drive.

I appreciate your comment regarding the vegetarian options and will be sure to include this moving forward.

I hope you had a successful trip to South Africa and wish you a safe trip back to India.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 3N as part of our Kruger adventure. The rooms were of big size with queen bed, sofa bed and an extra bed provided for 2A+2C. this was a surprise for us.The room rate included B.Fast(which was packed neat for our morning safaris) and dinner. Only drawback we faced was the Zero Vegetarian options. Finally we managed to get some Noodles made during dinner at Live stns.Echo Tours have a desk in the Hotel, it is recommended to book Safaris & Airport Transfers through them to get economical rates. Mr. Thulani was of great service during our reservations. Hotel have a nice library with internet facilities + option to print boarding pass:) Overall good hotel and my friend with his family stayed from 24 Dec for 3N.All staff were friendly and courteous. Did not get to test the SPA options.

Room Tip: Inform the hotel to reserve dinner if you are out for night safari. Dinner timing is 7-9pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murali r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear maagworld

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable Kruger adventure with your family and that the room was set up to your liking.

With game viewing being at its best in the early morning or evening, we are only too happy to pack some snacks for the ride. I have taken note of your concern regarding the vegetarian options and will discuss this with the chef directly.

A friendly and helpful environment is what we try to achieve on a daily basis and the STAFF will be glad when they hear of your comments.

We wish you safe travels back home and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed for a couple nights while visiting the Kruger and this is by far a great hotel from the theme of a safari and the staff were amazing ready to help you with anything you may need. The rooms great size and very clean. The food buffet style was great for having the option to eat what you like. We will definitely be going back. The rooms are set back into the trees and you travel over wooden bridges to get to them. The dining area has a large fire pit in the center with your dining tables on sand and lamps to light the area. Very romantic feel. There is a large seating area that overlooks a river and wildlife on the banks of the Kruger. The Kruger gate is 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Sharon D

Thank you for your wonderful review and for highlighting some of our unique facilities.

The STAFF really put so much effort into offering the best GUEST service and I will definitely share your comments with the TEAM.

I am so pleased that you explored the property and were able to enjoy the breathtaking views from our viewing decks, as well as our open-air restaurant. The hotel is set up to enhance the bushveld experience and the wooden bridges leading to the rooms; along with our location near the entrance of the Kruger National Park are just some of the ways we try to achieve this.

All in all I am thrilled that you enjoyed your room and the romantic ambience in the restaurant.

Have a great New Year.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
22.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
6.4 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
417 reviews
22.9 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
513 reviews
12.5 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
462 reviews
20.8 mi away
Sanbonani Resort
Sanbonani Resort
#6 of 12 in Hazyview
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Address: Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Price Range: $216 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don't forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing