We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel...”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in April 2011 and because of excessive noise from a Wedding Party the GM kindly invited us back..but sadly our second experience was no better than the first...The service you expect from a 4 star establishment is almost non existent ..my wife booked a spa treatment in the room ..she waited at the appointed time and nobody arrived ...no excuses just nothing...The rooms are clean but in need of general repair or upgrade ..loose door handles ,broken coffee table ,tatty outdoor chairs on the balcony..nothing other than a fantastic location tells you this is a 4 star hotel ..having stayed at numerous venues in S.A and in many other countries ...this hotel falls far short ...absolutely nothing memorable .....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianA29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    297
    102
    29
    14
See reviews for
220
329
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Common areas were really lovely with dining under the stars. Good food, but all is buffet style. Wifi was free in the main lobby. Many kids there with good activities for them, like swimming, mini-golf, tennis, etc. Our room was out dated and a crumbly, but size and cleanliness were fine. Not really any game viewing unless we did the short drive into Kruger which cost US$65 each time we went in. We did drive over to Blyde canyon from here. It was an easy drive with beatuiful views and quiant towns.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSK3some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engelhartszell, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel, just a minute from Kruger Park, some years ago, and was thoroughly impressed by all the amenities at that time. Returning after a couple of years proved to be a rather sober reality check, since the hotel seems to be stuck in time (and duly deteriorating). It seems that management is trying to capitalize on the truly incomparable location, rather than thinking about how to keep the place in good shape. Our room, althuogh as before spacious, had a lot of things not working (coffee maker, a/c, windows not closing well). Also, in 2011, it is increasingly debatable if any hotel can do without offering internt, except in very limited locations. In sum--the location is superb, but the hotel should not rest on its laurels...let's revive the sense of excitement that was always a mark of cexellence before!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krugerfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Upon arrival at the gates we were met by friendly staff who already made us feel welcomed. Check-in was quick and my daughter was treated to a little gift, just enough to liven her up after a long drive from Pretoria. The whole treehouse effect is really wonderful especially for the kind of holiday that we were there for. Very unique concept.
Rooms were spacious with a sleeper couch for my daughter prepared in the room. There are also tea/coffee making facilities in the room which is a double plus incl a mini-bar fridge.

The proximity to the Paul Kruger Gate is another HUGE plus point especially if you want to do a drive during the early morning, you can come back to the hotel to freshen up. You'd have to ask the people at the gates to stamp a re-entry onto your slip/ticket, so that should you wish to return later in the afternoon, you don't have to pay again.

Spent 2 nights there and would definitely recommend it to others as well especially if you're not staying within the park. There's a viewing deck from where you can view the animals coming to drink water from the Sabie River in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This was the fourth hotel on the Smartours South Africa trip. The rooms were good, the lodge great and the game drives excellant. We did the bedbug inspection and found nothing, nor did we get any bites during our two day stay. We enjoyed wandering around the lodge and spending time on the observation decks. The pool area was nice. There was free internet, but only one terminal so there was usually a waiting line. The game drives were all we had hoped for. We saw the big 5

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Don't blow your $ on a lodge inside the park when you can have all this at half the price. The location again is excellent just several hundred metres from Paul Kruger Gate. This allows quick access into the park for early morning and evening spotlight tours. The National Park tours pick up from the hotel. The hotel is built on a grand scale of a rustic tree house concept. Lots of timber walkways built around trees and within sight of the National Park boundary. The rooms are average but comfortable and a good size. The staff vary from hopeless to excellent depending on your enquiry. The food is very good in the restuarant but I would skip the boma dinner. Overall a good hotel and a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubenjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Were had stayed 2 nights of 4 and kept wondering why were were iching....night 3 came along and as I went to tuck my 2 year old in and 2 bed bugs ran out from the duvet!!! I called management and was told it would have to wait til he was back in 2 days time...in the meantime they could offer us poisonous spray for the room....only after throwing a tantrum the next day did they both to bring management in!!! Ridiculous....we were all biten to smithers! On top I found them to be slow and unattentive....we waited 95 minutes for room service and when it arrived it was wrong and cold! FOOD awful!!! .No don't go to this hotel! Toilet leaking, fridge broken!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zanzibar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
6.4 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
372 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
10.5 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
297 reviews
12.5 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Address: Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don't forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing