We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Kruger, positive atmosphere”
Review of Selati Station Grillhouse - CLOSED

Selati Station Grillhouse
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: this is a resturant at the main rest camp in Skukuza in the Kruger National Park - its in the old train station and is very unusual, very good and not well known
Maputo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food in Kruger, positive atmosphere”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We discovered this restaurant by accent a few years ago when wandering around the camp. There were hardly any customers then, but lately one should not forget to book his table in advanced during week-ends. Kruger’s main camps used to have a decent buffet with two different roasts but since they have abandoned the buffets, eating from the menu in Kruger’s main camps is very disappointing. We now often go to Skukuza because of this excellent new restaurant. The location is pleasant and the children find it fun. We are especially pleased with the food, friendly young female cook and the friendly service. Their lamb shank is the best we ever had. We will go back to Skukuza in September, to enjoy Selati restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waterbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nelspruit
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nice setting”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

this was my second visit to selati. nothing has really changed, food prices went up R68 or 7usd for a burger, pizza a bit more R65 for a salad and about R80 for a bottle of wine. food is at best very average (see pics) and service friendly but slow, the girls enjoyed their salads. however it is still the best place to eat out when you at skukuza and sitting on the old station platform is unique and enjoyable.
also nice to enjoy a after dinner cocktail in the old train,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank filip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Best restaurant at Skukuza”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

There are a couple of dining options at Skukuza camp, and Selati Station Grillhouse is easily the best. Its set in the old train station, is competitively priced and offers good quality food. The service is friendly, if a bit slow when it gets busy.

We had 2 dinners here and enjoyed both of them.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley UK
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Best Resturant in Kruger”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have eaten here a couple of times now; nice setting (a little chilly in May compared to last time in Sept so take a fleece or something to keep you warm) as its fairly open - the menu has a good variety to choose from and reasonable priced, way above the standard of any of the other restaurants in Kruger. We don't really like staying in Skukuza as its bigger & not so well laid out as other camps but we stay here just to have a meal as Selati thats how good we think it it, It was busier this last time with a little wait between courses made for a relaxing evening. Definitely worth having a meal here, its only open in the evenings so you have to stay in Skukuza.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annettet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenvale, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rest Camp Restaurant Retreat”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

After 4 days of camp food this was a welcome change. An excellent setting in Skukuza camp, the old steam train as the background and the tables set on the platform with the night sounds of african bush make it unique. Good food at a reasonable price with attentive service make it a must visit if you are overnighting at Skukuza.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandramacSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selati Station Grillhouse also viewed

Kruger National Park, South Africa
 
Skukuza, Mpumalanga
Skukuza, Mpumalanga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing