We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've changed our honeymoon plans to stay longer!! it's AWESOME :)”
Review of Parkers Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkers Cottages
Ranked #14 of 31 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a great guest house! We had a wonderful week here and then changed our plans, in order to stay longer...

The room was spacious and beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and the bathroom was massive! Our cottage had an extra bedroom (perfect for kids), which was a lovely surprise when we arrived.

it was so wonderful to be able to sit in garden and relax... The breakfasts were fantastic, each day is a surprise - so something to look forward to... Craig and his staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Craig is passionate about South Africa, and made some great recommendations for things to see and do...

There's a fantastic indoor lounge, private bar and outdoor bbq area at the pool - great for socialising in the evenings if you don't feel like eating out. It feels like home away from home...

The area is extremely safe, and I felt comfortable walking on my own down to the main street, through the park... The locals are friendly & happy to chat!

The laundry service was really good value for money and we got our clothes back within a few hours (washed AND ironed!). Loved the cat!

I would highly recommend staying here. we WILL be back :)

Room Tip: The cottages have two bedrooms, so are ideal if you're a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thanks a lot for a fantastic review. I'm glad I was able to make your stay a memorable one. I think Austin will definitely be missing you. Until next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in Fisherman's cottage for the special of three nights with night safari and river trip included. The cottage was clean, comfortable with extra treats like a fabulous large shower, air con and really comfortable chairs. Robyn took great care of us and made the best egg sandwiches I've had for an early morning breakfast picnic which we took with us for our morning drive and day at Cape Vidal beach. The ability to use the braai was great as unfortunately, I cannot recommend eating out in St. Lucia. Loved the cat. Had a load of laundry washed and ironed for R100 - what a deal! Would highly recommend staying at this beautiful place and three days is perfect to take it all in.

Room Tip: Fisherman's Cottage has an oversized shower and king sized bed with plenty of space in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigmontyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thanks a lot for the review and I will pass on your thanks to Robyn. Hope to see you again next time you are over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed in Fisherman's Cottage for three nights on a package with night safari and river trip included. The cottage was clean and beautiful, a home away from home. Enjoyed sitting on the terrace with the cat, watching the stars and listening to the frogs and bush-babies. Sian and Andrew were excellent hosts - informative, friendly and helpful with a wealth of local information. Breakfast was tasty, perfectly cooked and plentiful.

Best of all were the two tours - we were lucky enough to spot a leopard at close quarters on the night safari and the hippos were magnificent on the river boat trip. I've travelled in many countries and I can honestly say this is one of the best places I have ever stayed in. Treat yourself, and go explore the fantastic Isimangaliso park on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richiewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thanks so much for the great review and glad that you has such a great trip. Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very nice hotel, nice rooms surrounded by a beautiful garden with a great pool. Rooms a very clean, fully equipped and nicely decorated. Breakfeast was great with good choice. Craig,very friendly owner of the place, gave us very important advices about the city and of course about Isimangaliso wetland Park. Unfortunately we did not see any hippo walking arround the city during the evening but we nevertheless enjoyed our stay in St Lucia. Definetly a place where you can stay, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi and thanks a lot for the review. I'll keep an eye out for the hippo for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited Parkers Cottages with the family over New Years 2012. With so much to see and the wonderful hospitality, we decided to spend additional nights which Craig was very kind to arrange. Apart from the wonderful iSimalangiso Wetland World Heritage Site, the fishing and activities in the area were fantastic. Family went on a Turtle Tour one evening and apart from finding 3 nesting Loggerhead Turtles, saw two honey badgers raiding other turtles nests and a leopard, sleeping just beside the road. Our game drive into Cape Viidal produced excellent game sightings in the morning and a very relaxing day of sun and snokelling on the beach. Breakfasts were superb and the wonderful spirit of the ladies Craig has helping really starts off everyday with a laugh and smile. Would definately recommend Parkers Cottages and Craig as a host should you visit this beautiful part of South Africa!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Many thanks for the great review. I hope to see you again in the near future. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the main house as the cottages were full, but both my room and my parents room were beautiful with lovely bathrooms. The pool was a great way to relax in between seeing the many wonderful attractions of St Lucia. Craig was a great host who never failed to point us in the right direction and was always happy to help, providing us with cool boxes and packed breakfasts when we needed them. The varied breakfasts were also great. I would highly recommend staying at Parkers cottages.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thanks for the great review! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This B&B is owned by Craig, a young Scotchman, who settled in the residential area of Saint Lucia.
The cottage was very nice, clean and spacious (there is even a second bedroom for a child).
Every day, Craig prepared a different breakfast … delicious!
He was also very helpful with tips of what can be done in the neighborhood and rang immediately to different tour operators to see if we could still join in on a boat tour on the estuary.
We would recommend this place to anyone.
We went for a boat ride on the estuary, with Whale & Dolphin tours at the tourist information office, and had the best guide ever! (sorry we forgot her name)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Ha Ha thanks for the great review. Glad that you had such a good time and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Igwalagwala Guest House
Igwalagwala Guest House
#10 of 31 in St Lucia
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elephant Coast Guest House
0.1 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#5 of 31 in St Lucia
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Heritage House
At Heritage House
#9 of 31 in St Lucia
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkers Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkers Cottages

Address: 55 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: $91 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkers Cottages offer comfortable accommodation in St. Lucia at affordable rates. The en suite cottages have two bedrooms, air conditioning, secure parking and are fully serviced. Set within a tropical garden, there is a private pool and braai area. Breakfast is served in the main house and after breakfast, you can set off to explore the area - we'll be happy to make tour bookings for you or recommend lots of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Parkers Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing