We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT - totally perfect, everyone has to experience this place”
Review of Parkers Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkers Cottages
Ranked #14 of 31 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We chose Craig's place from hunting on the internet, and could not be more pleased by what we seemingly stumbled upon. Craig from the moment I sent the first email (and had a very quick response) to the moment we left (hugs and all!) was efficient, very pleasant, relaxed and understanding. Craig, the staff, the room, Oscar the cat - EVERYTHING - was wonderful. Craig was extremely helpful and knowledgeable, but at the same time more than aware that we were on our own holiday and so let us do our own thing as well as helping us organise everything we could possibly do in St Lucia and around and about the area. Craig has excellent contacts in the area which means his recommendations for activities are of a very high standard.
The room was very clean - spotless - and large. Minimal decor made it feel very relaxed and inviting. The perfect place to crash after a day on the beach/on safari/on a boat ride/croc tour/turtle watching and all of the other things to do. Lovely large bathroom and great patio - mozzies not so great but I think that was the only thing Craig had no control over.
Pool was lovely, gorgeous flowers in the gardens too - honesty bar was also very nice as there is no having to disturb anyone for what you may want. Food was great and having the different breakfast everyday was such a fun idea. Our 9 year old LOVED it all, and that is no easy feat!
We will be going back as soon as our lives allow and I only hope more people get to visit too as Craig made our trip to St Lucia so enjoyable, we loved seeing him each day

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Hey thanks a lot for the fantastic review I really appreciate it looking forward to seeing you the next time you through. Big Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 173 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spend 4 nights with Craig who is a nice guy and younger than the 'normal' owners of an b&b. The room we had was very large and the bathroom offers everything you need. Breakfast is also good. The location is calm. St. Lucia has so much to offer when the weather is fine. So we have to get back and we will surely stay again with Craig

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namibia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thanks guys for your review. Hope to see you next time with the sun!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and again for a further 5 nights because we enjoyed it so much. The location is ideal and we felt as if we really had the run of the place , assuming that Austen the very friendly cat allowed of course. No hesitation in recommending the cottages - Craig is very responsive and will do what he can to help. He can book whale watching trips and does not charge additionally over the cost of the charter which I am sure some places do. We would book again if we come back.
Phil and Judy

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Many thanks for your very positive review. I was glad to see you back and that you managed to do and get everything you needed to. Hope you made it back alright with all that stuff!
See you next time you are passing this way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

St Lucia is racked out with places offering B&B, but Parkers Cottages - in the new hands of Craig - is still up there with the best. Staying for 5 nights in Fisherman's Cottage, we felt instantly at home, enjoying a lot of R&R after a superb Hluhluwe-Imfolozi adventure. There is so much to do in the region and Craig is ideally placed and well-connected to advise and organise activities. Breakfasts were superb and varied daily, with specialities coming from the kitchen that just blew your taste buds away! A pool, good book-stock and freedom to roam the completely safe St Lucia neighbourhood make Parkers Cottages an ideal, laid-back base from which to explore. A highly recommended B&B, centrally placed in a laid-back community. What better?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vestysoffagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thanks guys for the review. Glad that everything was to your satisfaction. I hope to see you again next time you passing through this way! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I spent three great nights in St. Lucia at Parkers Cottages! We stayed in the main house as the cottages were all booked during our visit, but the room was wonderful! It was large size, with a giant bathroom which had a separate shower and soaking tub with two sinks. Craig was a great host and was sweet enough to accommodate any requests and helped organize/manage all our activities for us during our stay! He even made a special order of french toast for my husband (after two weeks of eggs everyday for breakfast he couldnt look at another egg!)
St. Lucia is an amazing little town and a great base of exploration for the wetlands area and Hluhluwe-Imfolozi park if you do not want to stay in the reserve.
You must stay here if you are in the area! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hundleychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Great review thanks French Toast all the way!! Keep well and see you next time you're through this way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The cottages were booked so Craig put us up in the main house which was gorgeous. The master bedroom was large and you could have slept 4 in the bathroom! St. Lucia is a must do if you are on the East Coast and Craig did a great job of pointing us in the right direction. Make sure you head into the park and stop at Mission Rocks as they are not be missed. Will be back and thanks so much!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thanks for the great review. Good luck for the future and I look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Nguni cottage, with 2 adults and 3 kids. Its quite a challenge to find nice accomodation for a family with more kids for a reasonable price. Parkers cottages happened to be such a catch! One room with 3 nice beds, a connecting door to the parents room and 2 nice and confortable bathrooms. Breakfast was lovely. Craigs advice every day was very helpful. We advise this guesthouse to all families!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wezlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigNicol, Owner at Parkers Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Many thanks for the great review. Hope the rest of your stay in St Lucia was as satisfying. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#16 of 31 in St Lucia
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#4 of 31 in St Lucia
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Igwalagwala Guest House
Igwalagwala Guest House
#11 of 31 in St Lucia
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Coast Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#5 of 31 in St Lucia
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkers Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkers Cottages

Address: 55 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: $83 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkers Cottages offer comfortable accommodation in St. Lucia at affordable rates. The en suite cottages have two bedrooms, air conditioning, secure parking and are fully serviced. Set within a tropical garden, there is a private pool and braai area. Breakfast is served in the main house and after breakfast, you can set off to explore the area - we'll be happy to make tour bookings for you or recommend lots of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Parkers Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing