We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of John Dory's

John Dory's
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in St Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ahoy Me Mateys! Join us at St Lucia John Dory's - the best seafood restaurant that the whole family can enjoy! Our menu has an ocean of choices for all our seafood lovers! From fresh hand-rolled sushi to tempura battered fish & chips. Shiver your timbers! Our catch of the day, prawns, calamari and fresh oysters are a reason to abandon ship and come ashore! Our kids' menu has a variety of yummy meals for our young mateys too and we also have a cool kids' play area with boatloads of fun activities for little sailors! What are you waiting for? Dock your boat at John Dory's in St Lucia for arrr-mazing food and service.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Only just OK. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful in responding to orders but they needed to be as the food took so long. Nearly an hour by which time we all nearly past it. Dishes OK but nothing particularly special for a speciality fish restaurant. Whole evening spoilt by slowness of service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    68
    32
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very goos food. We tried Sushi, Burger, Calamari platter and Fish with sesame seeds, Milkshake and coffee. Quick and attentive service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MSiddiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dinner with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Best sushi and wine experience. The service was excellent and the two waiters behind the sushi bar most definitely contributed to an unforgettable evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Good choice of food and good service. The food was very nicely cooked and value for money. I would recommend it in Saint Lucia.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luma75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a terrible experience in this JD last week. We decided we wanted some sushi and sat on an empty sushi bar (at 2 30 pm) waiting for the "sushi chefs" to begin working. Not one plate was placed on the empty sushi moving tray in the hour and a half we were there. We ordered what we wanted directly to them and they did it while being very angry for some reason. The waiter told us what they didn't have on the menu a couple of times, only to find out they did have some of those things after we were finished. The fish was badly cut and so the sushi felt a little dodgy, the tempura was also overly fried and lack much of the tempura part. They exaggerate too much with the sauces on the plates, too much mayo! We caught them on a bad day, better luck next time (with other guests, of course, we won't be back).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VKGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Dory's also viewed

St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to John Dory's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing