We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Isolated Beaches”
Review of Cape Vidal Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lucia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Vidal Camp
Durban
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Isolated Beaches”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a great time at Cape Vidal. Stayed in log cabin 23 and it suited the six of us perfectly.

Key to enjoyment here is to moderate your accomodation expectations- it is a camp, not the Hilton.

Cabin is clean and spacious (dining area, lounge and balcony). Bedding is comfortable but not luxurious. Bathroom a bit on the small side.

BUT- you are 30m from the beach, surrounded by a natural forest with awesome wildlife. In addition, there is fantastic security and you dont need to worry about vagrants etc like other beaches in SA.

New favourite spot!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeanR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    30
    17
    15
See reviews for
55
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We visited Cape Vidal with friends. We had 3 caravans and 1 tent.

The camp sites are not bad. Alot of sand. The monkeys just wreck havoc. You have to pack EVERYTHING away if you go to the beach.

Ablutions clean and tidy.

Only thing is. I thought you would see the ocean from the camp site. Not at all. You need to drive to the beach.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Koen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We always wanted to come too Cape Vidal. Now we did. The beach is wonderfull. The camping part of the setup is done over. But that is it.

If you are staying over in the cabins you should rather bring your own pillows and don't expect much luxury. Do not expect to have clean airy cabins. The monkeys and bats are taking over the cabins.

We had a SERIOUS bat and batdropping infested roof. It really is something they could clean up.
Really now is a dump and we were soooo looking forward to come after many years.
This is one of the most expensive dumps we stayed in and a shame.
Next stop is the chease factory. It can only be cleaner.......

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Wilhelm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Lucia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I must begin by saying that this is not the first time that I have encountered Ezemvelo Wildlife's disorganized approach to bookings. The man at the desk spent his days shifting customers from one room to the next and when you complained he behaved as if you were lying about your booking in some way. The chalets themselves are okay with old faded curtains and rusty, self electrifying hot plates. The water is red coloured and the whole place stinks of monkey urine. All is forgotten however when you run through the tall, swaying trees and straight into the most wonderful beach with the best snorkeling EVER!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Broadbentjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtubatuba, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The camp is still in a good condition , there are signs of wear and tear starting to appear since the major upgrade to roads and ablutions. It remains to be seen if neglect starts to creep in ? The monkey problem has been dealt with recently so at least that was not much of an issue. The weather was fantastic , Vidal is still without a doubt one of the best beach locations on our coastline.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vumaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to cape vidal for as long as I can rember. One the most beautiful places to visit but some of the vicinities need upkeep. The fishing cabins need to be looked after as it is starting to get eaten by white ants. The cabins could have a beautuful view of lake bangasi but the tree has been overgrown. It is an absolutely amazing place for a holiday but a little bit of upkeep could be even better!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Katiebarz323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in the log cabins. The roads in between the cabins is in a total state of disrepair. The cabin is clean (as it can be) but totally neglected. The upholstery is torn and faded, floor tiles are broken, stove was rusty, fridge was leaking, bathroom smelly and mouldy. No aircon and you cannot open doors and windows because of aggresive monkeys. The day time temperatures were above 34 degrees C From the reviews here we were not expecting the Ritz, but it is worse than you think. The Reception lady told us that no 18 that we were in "was one of the better units". She said that renovations would start after January 2014.

It is such a shame. Cape Vidal and Isimangaliso is such an amazing place but with the state of the cabins I won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linmic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Lucia
19.9 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
19.7 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
358 reviews
20.0 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
489 reviews
11.5 mi away
Makakatana Bay Lodge
Makakatana Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
162 reviews
20.0 mi away
Little Eden St Lucia
Little Eden St Lucia
#5 of 32 in St Lucia
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Vidal Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Vidal Camp

Property: Cape Vidal Camp
Address: St Lucia, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Also Known As:
Cape Vidal Camp Hotel Saint Lucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing