We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance and good food”

St Lucia Ski Boat Club
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in St Lucia
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The name says it is a club but the restaurant /pub is open to the public. It has a fantastic view from the outside tables where you can watch hippos, corcs and more. I would like to write a review for this, I also have photos.
Boksburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ambiance and good food”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

On Sunday, we went to the Ski Boat Club (now called the Deep Water Angling Club) to have lunch at their Pub and Grill. This has a lovely setting at the mouth of the estuary. A cool breeze blows through it and it is clearly very popular as there were a good number of people there. I think the pub is more popular than the club! The food is good, the prices are reasonable and the ambiance is pleasant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    281
    117
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“a hot spot for locals”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

we were directed here by our hosts at the st. lucia wetlands guesthouse. what a find! we ate on picnic tables overlooking the estuary as hippos languished in the sun. Had great lunches of prawns and chips (heads and all -- yuck!). The place was filled with locals drinking beer and shooting pool. Excellent local find, once you find your way there!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a place to have lunch!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

what an amazing view over the river mouth, while eating whatch hippo grazing on the little island in front of you. No gourmet food but good english pub style food with fisch and chips, calamari, burgers etc.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricaAdventureSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food and a view”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

After eating out in a couple of other restaurants in St Lucia, we tried the Ski Boat Club. As others have said, the food was very good (we had their curry - excellent) and prices were very reasonable. Also, from what we could see from other restaurants, the Ski Boat Club is the only one in St Lucia with a view of the estuary - the others having a view of the main road or the trees along the estuary's banks! We didn't see any hippos but there were quite a few flamingoes on a sand bank.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RacingRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good food friendly atmosphere and staff value for money, I would highly recommend the Ski Boat Club.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RodgerLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Lucia Ski Boat Club also viewed

St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to St Lucia Ski Boat Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing