We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to spot animals”

iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$228.41*
and up
St Lucia Wetlands Day Trip from Durban Including Estuary Boat Ride
More Info
$15.71*
and up
St Lucia Estuary Boat Cruise
More Info
$57.10*
and up
Isimangaliso Wetland Park and Cape Vidal Day Trip from St. Lucia
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in St Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect place to spot animals”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Driving through the park with our own car was excellent. Recommended is to take all dirt roads as there we spotted the most animals. We were so proud to spot ourselves a rhino, how good is that.
There are a few spots were you can leave the car and do a short walk to a viewing point, we went there in the afternoon and we did not even succeed to complete the whole drive, as there is so much to see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Welletjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    279
    74
    20
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Really nice reserve with varied habitats”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We explored southern end of park while staying at Cape Vidal log cabins (see separate review).

There are a number of hides and loop roads - explore them all and you will see some great animals and birds in the varied habitats.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank selimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalbarri, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Love the wetlands. Nothing I disliked at all. The beautiful scenery and the wonderful wildlife was all superb.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank helclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just about my favourite place in KZN!! I never get tired of what I discover there! Did the lake boat ride, night game drive on the Western shore of the estuary. Sadly we didn't get to see the extravagant animals, what we did see was amazing! The free boardwalk down the end of the estuary to the beach is probably the most amazing opportunity! Had lunch at the boat club for the first time, the food and the view was amazing!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSharde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“South Africa's unsung gem”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wow, wow, wow. We self-toured the wetlands for a long afternoon in our 4x4 and wish we could have spent a couple of days. This is one of the most stunningly beautiful, untouched stretches of nature to be found contiguous to populated territory. The fact you can just pop into the wetlands as if it was your local park is just amazing. Aside from the most minor of intrusions from mankind as evidenced by the well kept road and handful of small turnouts for scenic viewing, we felt like we were stepping back thousands of years into a glimpse of prehistoric Africa. We felt like we were intruding in to the animal's kingdom (and, in fact, felt unwelcomed a few times! Stay in that car when you are told to!). The beach at Cape Vidal is stunning -- a walk along it's shore is a must do. Adventurous? Try their campground for a prolonged experience. Then take the loop roads -- all of them. They are there for a good reason. Each loop shows you a totally different part of the vast ecosystem encompassed by the park. We hear they limit the number of visitors each day but we felt like we were the only one's there. Don't miss it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed iSimangaliso Wetland Park also viewed

 

Been to iSimangaliso Wetland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing