We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay in saint lucia”
Review of St. Lucia Wilds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Lucia Wilds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

the self catering was homely, clean et cheap.
the staff helpfull and nice
it's located just at the starting a tiny trail through a forest where you see hippos footprints and a lot of birds
I would recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Franckvet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda D, Manager at St. Lucia Wilds, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The iGwalagwala trail is a birding hot spot forest trail which are used by hippo at night as it leads to and from the lake, it is a short walk and suitable for the whole family. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for St. Lucia Wilds
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 101 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had an amazing time in St Lucia and our stay at St. Lucia Wilds made it exceptional. The cottage was basic but very clean and comfortable and the service was friendly and welcoming. The owners have an extensive knowledge of the area and local wildlife. We would recommend St. Lucia Wilds accommodation to anyone and we are already looking forward to our next trip to South Africa and would defiantly return to stay at St. Lucia Wilds.
Graham & Tania Egan from the UK.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda D, Manager at St. Lucia Wilds, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you very much, we are delighted that your family enjoyed their stay and accommodation.
St Lucia is a treat for the family and when you like nature it is just so much better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

St Lucia Wilds is situated in a wild garden of wich a smal section is your private garden. The flats are very oldy woldy, but clean and with a good shower and bed. Staff is very helpfull and friendly. If your on a low budget and stil want your own self catering unit this is an option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patty v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda D, Manager at St. Lucia Wilds, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Good day, we appreciate your review. We have taken notice that you found the rooms old fashioned and that you enjoyed your stay and the garden setting. We use quality bedding and linen and do our best to keep everything in good working order for our guests' convenience. We are an "old" establishment and better alternative for backpack hostels for those individuals and couples who require better, cleaner more private accommodation in a more relaxing atmosphere. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

All advertised appliances were available and in working order. Beds comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. Lovely casual, relaxed atmosphere. Easy access to town and estuary viewing spots. Our overseas visitors loved our stay in St Lucia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda D, Manager at St. Lucia Wilds, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Ingrid and family,
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having your family here and great that they enjoyed St Lucia. Regards. Imelda D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Friendly and welcoming self catering place just the right distance from town (10 minute walk max). Nice and quiet. Good cooking facilities, excellent hot showers, comfy bed. Not the poshest place you'll stay but very pleasant. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mk101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda D, Manager at St. Lucia Wilds, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we are situated away from the town noise, especially at night, at St Lucia Wilds you can hear the owls (if lucky see one) and see the fireflies. You can still walk to the shops and carry a bag from here. St Lucia Wilds is one of the old establishments and we are not tiled from roof to floor, so posh we are not. Here you can relax in the units, even children do not have to worry about knocking expensive decor over, we try to make it homely. As we offer self cooking accommodation we try to provide utensils etc. to make your cooking here easy. We will try to update the look and do replace the old and broken with more modern items. We hope you enjoyed your trip to SA and that we will see you again! Imelda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank crh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 559emilel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ingwenya Lodge
Ingwenya Lodge
#7 of 32 in St Lucia
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lucia Wilds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucia Wilds

Address: 174 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range: $52 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lucia Wilds 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small coastal town St Lucia is uniquely situated inside a World Heritage Site, the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, which makes it an ideal base to experience our unspoilt natural heritage in one of the oldest, most diverse reserves in the world. Watch the sun rise over the sea and set over the lake in one day. Experience a game drive, snorkel/swim in the sea, birding, fishing, a boat trip on the lake and short walking trails in a nature reserve from here or just relax and enjoy the sunshine, clean air and tropical forest smells and sounds. We are located in the main street away from the busy noisy town centre, still within walking distance to shops etc. Units are set in a natural tranquil garden on the bank of the St Lucia Lake. All cottages have access to the garden on lake side via a communal path through the premises. Cottages have no view of the lake. You can enjoy the scattered front garden view of the lake/reeds, relax on a lounger chair under the trees or cool down in the swimming pool. We provide lots of information and map of this area. The garden is visited by resident wildlife and we share our living space with all creatures. We try to maintain a healthy food chain by using environmentally friendly products. We offer self-catering holiday accommodation, with owner family living on property. We have 3 joined garden units with each little garden separated by plants. 1 Affordable (budget type) flatlet (backpack friendly) with steps. Cottages are standard, comfortable, no-nonsense, very well equipped, clean and neat. You will feel at home. All opening windows and doors have insect netting protection. Parking is under roof cover on site at car port. Children: we offer a tree house with slide and toys for small children. Swimming pool with fence but not child proof. Children must be supervised at all times. We provide all bedding and linen, 1 bath towel pp, toilet paper, cutlery, crockery, cooking utensils, pots and pans, dish towel, cloth and sponge and dish wash soap. Cleaning service included, once daily in the mornings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your St. Lucia Wilds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing