We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding tours both day and night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shakabarker Tours - Day Tours

Shakabarker Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #3 of 15 Tours in St Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our company specializes in the Greater St. Lucia Wetland Park. We offer accommodation and a range of personalized tours and packages. Tours include guided bicycle rides and walks to learn about Zulu culture, medicinal plant uses and animals. Join us for ecological tours of the iSimangaliso Wetlands Park and surrounding area. These adventures include Turtle Tours (in season) to view gigantic Leatherback and resident Loggerhead Turtles, Chameleon Night Drives to view hippo, leopard etc., Game Drives, and excellent Bird watching. Options include packages and tailor-made tours.Explore your Heritage with the professionals.
Kfar-Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
207 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Outstanding tours both day and night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have done 3 Tours with Shakabarker. The first one was an after boat trip to see the hippos and the crocodiles. It was truly an outstanding experience. The boat is lovely, Kian was amazingly knowledgable, he took us to all th places where thank all could be, he spotted special birds and help us see them and he was a lovely host on the boat,
Then we had a full day game drive in isimangaliso with Sakile who was our guide, the guy is outstanding, both nicer, funny, full of knowledge and is able to spot animals from far away. It was a lovely lovely day we also went to the beach in cape vidal and right after it Sakile prepared great BBQ as well as bananas on the BBQ which was delicious. Sakile continued the drive with us without looking at the watch and trying to fninish it as early as possible. On the contrary, we passed the panned time as Sakile manage to show us both white as well as black rhinos.
The 3rd trip was a night game drive in isimangaliso with Kian. Just as we started the drive, we spotted hippos going in the streets, eating grass and as we continued we saw many more animals. Kian had an amazing ability to spot animals at night and t explan about them.
The cars of this company in which you do the tours are far better then the car of Eurozulu.
Great experience and highy recommended,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank iritv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    18
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Lake, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time on the Hippo/Croc tour with Shakabarker Tours. Kian was very knowledgeable and friendly. I appreciated the snacks that were provided! The boat was the perfect size. I think we had 10 people and it was very comfortable. Thanks!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LakesideLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a relaxing couple of hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We did the hippo/croc estuary evening tour. The tour guide and his companion, Brown were excellent. We did not see a huge variety of animals/birds but the information given on what we did see was excellent. The setting is stunning.
The barge is just the right size to accommodate a comfortable number of people. Great way to spend a relaxing couple of hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Wand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakabarker, Guest Relations Manager at Shakabarker Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you Ian, we really appreciate your review and the fact that you enjoyed the size of our boat. That is what we see as our advantage on this estuary. We hope to see you soon again and hopefully you get to see more animals next time as well.

Kind Regards
Shakabarker Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We did the 3 hour night drive with Kian Barker and that was simply fantastic. He is very knowledgeable and cares about nature. In the dark we first drove trough the city and later entered the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, where we went off the usual roads. We saw a jackal, a porcupine, a snake, buffalos from close by, spiders, chameleons and a lot more. But it's not only about the animals, it's all about the experience. We had a very bright night with a lot of stars and Kian could tell all about them. The cup of coffee in the middle of the dark is legendary. Very much recommended!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chameleon Night Drive -Best of the Best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

What to say about this drive other than that it was simply and overall the best of the best and we would do it over and over again, drinking in the wealth of knowledge offered by guide Kian!!
How he spots the chameleons the way he does, is quite incredible!! I will never forget the experience of having one placed upon my hand whilst he took the camera to take a shot for Facebook...LOL!!...Kian's vast knowledge of the Wetlands Fauna and Flora is unsurpassed...his in depth cover of all things bright and beautiful [including the stars] was amazing....he took time to explain the details...no matter how small. He stopped often along the way to chat and show us the wonders of the night...kite spiders weaving their webs...and encouraging their catch by attracting moths with his searchlight..we watched in awe as the spider left the small prey and cut out the larger, 'clingwrapping' it and storing it in her larder...the small chameleons who rested at the ends of grasses to avoid prey, cupping your ears to distinguish the differnt sounds of croaking frogs.....the list is endless...but I have to mention hot chocolate and rusks at the side of the vehicle after just encountering an injured buffalo and her youngster was quite an exhilarating experience...standing in the pitchdark with nothing but Kian's small torch for light whilst the wildlife moved[unseen] all around us....it was initially quite a daunting task to get out of the vehicle let alone stand in the dark at the back of it....but once he explained why we would be safe...it became a wondrous experience..just us and nature....
This trip is a MUST for all!!!...invaluable!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakabarker, Guest Relations Manager at Shakabarker Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review Vanessa! It is quite special to be out in the park at night and to have knowledgable guides are even more important then. We are happy that you enjoyed it so much and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Shakabarker Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakabarker Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Shakabarker Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing