We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a suitable place for people of color”
Review of Sunset Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lucia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not a suitable place for people of color”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

upon our arrival there was no electricity and no manager so me and my girlfrends decided to have a braai. when the manager arrived she didnt bother to greet us but in stead gave us a disgusted look. not to mention Ben the dog who kept barking at us the entire duration of our stay and the numerous cats who were in and out of our chalet. During our stay we felt ostricized and not wlecome at all. The chalet we stayed in was too small for 4 adults and the chalets themselves are far too close together,and the parking area is pathetically small. There was also construction going on behind the lodge for the entire duration of our stay.On our departure there was no-one to see to us and recieve the key so we had to leave it hanging on the reception door. i wouldnt recommend this lodge to anyone of color as you can feel and see that your presence is not welcome. Ive travelled to various places in and out of the country and ive never been treated in such and appaulling manner. it was really such a dissappointment

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zonke w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley K, Owner at Sunset Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
SUNSET LODGE welcomes people of all nationalites.
We are log (wooden) cabins on the St Lucia Estuary where people from all over the continent, are most welcome. We invite you to relax and enjoy the tranquility and picturous view of our magnificent African sunset. We live in a WORLD HERITAGE SITE where hippos graze grass on our front lawn, mongoose run wild and bush buck nibble our plants.
We do not allow inebriated partying and raucous behaviour as I have to take my other guest into consideration.
I fell your review is totally unfair and I choose not too go into further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
62
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great place, nice views. Too bad there weren't any hippos on the lodge lawn when we were there. During our stay there were some noises from a construction site next door, but this was no problem for us since the owners mentioned it, at the end of our stay they even gave us a discount because of the noise, good job! The Sunset is really really beautiful! It's a small place at the right price!

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin closest to the sunset :) Best views guaranteed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtubatuba, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The most beautiful sunset in Africa! An enormous giant red ball peacefully going down in the West over the beautiful St. Lucia Estuary is your view from the equally beautiful Sunset Lodge. Accommodation is in lovely neat log cottages tastefully furnished. A peaceful haven with beautiful old trees, full of bird life, Red Duiker, Bush Buck, Banded Mongoose, Monkeys and Hippos will keep you entertained during your stay. The Lodge borders both the Estuary and the beautiful Gwala-Gwala Forest which is full of Knysna and Purple Crested Loeries from which the Zulu name of the forest comes. The entrance to the Mfabeni Game Reserve and Cape Vidal Beach is two kilometers from the lodge. The owner Shelley and her lovely family are very special to make this a home from home place to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

As a family we have come up to St Lucia over the years having stayed at various places in St Lucia. Having discovered this little slice of paradise many years back we have never thought to stay anywhere else.

Shelley is an absolute star and has a wonderful family who welcome you to Sunset Lodge with a warm smile and many wonderful tips on what to do in St Lucia and the surrounding areas.

I love the log cabins which all have a lovely view of the estuary. There is a stunning pool area and place to have a braai (BBQ) in front of your cabin or on the lawn in front of the pool overlooking the estuary while you watch the sun set over the water.

We were lucky enough to see hippos on the front lawn one night and it was truly a wonderful experience.

HUGE THANKS to Sunset Lodge for another amazing holiday... Can't wait for next year!!!

Candice P
Durban, South Africa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We absolutely love Sunset Lodge. I have been visiting many years and my daughter since the age of 5 has been accompanying me. Sunset is our 1st choice of many that are in St. Lucia, but nothing quiet compares. The cottages are very well maintained on a daily basis and it is fabulous to come back after a day out and sit on the front lawn to watch the sunset. The hippos come up to the front of the lodge and are a sight to behold. Birds abound, making this a bird watchers paradise too. Shelly, the owner has many helpful hints on where, what and how and is one of the most friendly proprietors you will have the pleasure of meeting. We hope to be back soon to enjoy the beautiful estuary, beaches, horse riding in the veld and other incredible adventures. Thank you to all at Sunset Lodge for our wonderful holidays.
Barbara E. - California, USA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I would just like to thank the owner of Sunset Lodge for being so hospitable. I know we can be pains at times, wanting more towels, our noisy kids and all the questions we had about the area. We have already booked for next year, as we felt that as a family this was the perfect place to be. The weather was great and Cape Vidal just 45 minutes away made it even better, as we got to experience the wild life as well as the ocean.

I would highly recommend this destination and the homely accommodation

Room Tip: The front chalet looks the best .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CarrynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We liked the quiet area in the end of St Lucia. The price of 560 Rand was good and the place comfortable and cute. Only minus is that is smelled a little moldy and the floor in both bathroom and toilet was broken

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingTurtleSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.6 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Lucia Wilds
St. Lucia Wilds
#11 of 32 in St Lucia
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Cabanas
Lakeview Cabanas
#19 of 32 in St Lucia
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge

Property: Sunset Lodge
Address: 154 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing