We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay in a Gorgeous Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was fortunate to find Ndiza Lodge. The manager actually picked me up in Richard's Bay since I was traveling by bus. Great location overlooking the St Lucia wetlands. Excellent breakfast and well kept rooms. The owners and managers were a delight to talk to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEEZER_TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 324 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our room was in fact a two-bedrooms flat, very clean and cosy. The owner was very welcoming and gave us good advices about places to visit and good restaurants. Reef & Dune is highly recommended by the way. Don't hesitate to call the office since the bell encouters some problems sometimes. The cabanas are well furnished and have everything you need to feel like home. The pool was clean and the surroundings were beautiful and safe. A perfect place to explore the magnificient St-Lucia area...

Room Tip: The ones next to the reception have better wi-fi signal.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuentinD1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved every minute of our stay here. Good hospitality. Very nice room which also has a good climate inside, everything very clean. A safe place for our car in front and the possibility to get some drinks out of the bar (which must be said also has a great view by the way). We did not use the pool and we didn't do a 'braai' but the possibility seemed very nice with a built-in braai in front of our room. The only problem was, we had only booked for 3 nights and that should have at least been 5 ;). Saint Lucia is a great place also to do some trips and with really incredibly surroundings which are very easy accessible. Yes there are some monkey's. They didn't bother me for a second. Was quite excited to see one actually.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchtraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda d, Owner at Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you very much for the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again sometime. I will keep a couple of beers cold for you.
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

i stayed only one night at Ndiza Lodge and it was a pleasant and comfortable stay in a very beautiful area. As we arrived early we headed down the boardwalk into the trees to have our picnic lunch. Breakfast was delicious with a hugh choice. Rooms were large and very comfortable and well equiped with a fridge , drinks etc
only minor point was some residents were on the deck above my room for a few hours , only talking quietly but their chatter and movement of chairs on the deck etc kept me awake for some time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalesStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda d, Owner at Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

It is good to hear you enjoyed your picnic in the woods. It really is a super spot to visit.
Sorry about the other guests keeping you awake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Ndiza lodge is absolutely beautiful, the rooms open up to spectacular foliage with a chance to spot hippos. Leona went above and beyond to make our stay great, she gave us spot on directions to all the game parks and even let us use her binoculars.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KWwatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda d, Owner at Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

I am so glad you were treated so well! Leona is a valuable asset to Ndiza. Thank you for the kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wow! We had such a nice stay at Ndiza Lodge and Cabannas and will definitely return soon! The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. They arranged tours for us and told us about all the different things to do and places to see. The bedrooms are very neat, modern and clean. Bedding was luxurious and changed regularly. Bar fridge in room was filled every day. Bathrooms are clean and neat. Beautiful view of the Sea and Estuary from the upper deck. Ndiza also has a beautiful deck - quiet and seperate from everything and everyone - ideal for viewing birds or just relaxing with a good book. The most wonderful buffet breakfast was served with yogurts, muesli, fresh fruit and muffins, bacon, eggs, sausages, hashbrowns, omelettes etc, was lovely! We were there while a honeymoon couple enjoyed their romantic time together. The Lovebirds were spoilt the whole time. Apparently they had a hamper with champagne and chocolates upon arrival in the bedroom with rose petals everywhere. They had a lovely Candle lit dinner for two. Very romantic :) I was amazed to see and feel the special treatment and friendliness that we and all the guests had received. I would like to Thank Amanda for all her help with the bookings and her friendly service, as well as Heila and Leona, it was a pleasure meeting you all. A+ for Ndiza!!!

Room Tip: Lodge 1, 2, 3 and 4 are all stunning! Cabannas are also very nice, hard to choose
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bianca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda d, Owner at Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Bianca,
Thank you for the excellent review! It is always so nice to hear that guests enjoyed their time with us. We all try our best to make all our guests as comfortable and at home as possible. Maybe next time you visit us, we will hear the pitter patter of little feet following you! All of the best and hope to see you again.
Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at Ndiza for a week to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and were accompanied by our daughter.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Leona and Amanda did their very best to please us. Although we stayed in the self- catering cabanas we also had a diner and a breakfast at the terrace. Both were excellent.
The cabanas are clean, and the beds are comfortable. There is good privacy. You can be on your own as you wish.

When we return to South Africa we will definitely try to stay at Ndiza again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theavanbeurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda d, Owner at Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Hallo Thea,
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was truly my pleasure cooking a special anniversary dinner for you and family. Shall we do so again on your 30th anniversary?
Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas

Address: 153 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range: $73 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Video available: https://youtu.be/ijrAv3ntETE Ndiza Lodge is a privately owned and intimate establishment committed to service and quality as well as dedicated personal attention while hosting guests in beautiful South Africa. You will leave Ndiza with cherished memories and experiences. Ndiza offers up market and tastefully decorated accommodation bordering iSimangaliso Wetland Park (formerly known as St Lucia Wetland Park), with real hospitality while ensuring your privacy and comfort, as well as a panoramic view of the ocean and famous Lake St Lucia.You will find Ndiza Lodge nestled onto the verge of the Wetlands situated on the Elephant Coast. With easy access to the Restaurants, Supermarkets and rest of the town, yet private and quiet. This ideal location makes Ndiza Lodge your best choice for exclusive accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing