We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place!”
Review of Whalesong B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whalesong B&B
Ranked #9 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Whalesong B&B for 4 nights in late November - early December 2012, when Colin and Colleen accommodated us and our needs at very short notice indeed.
They couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and we immediately felt relaxed and welcome. The accommodation was light, spacious and tasteful and the house itself is well situated in a quiet street within easy reach of the centre of St. Lucia.The breakfasts were excellent! Colleen kindly booked a riverboat cruise for our first day and Colin gave us excellent, informative advice about what to do and see in the area and good places to eat. This was much appreciated as this was our first visit to St.Lucia and we took his advice. We have no hesitation in recommending the Whalesong B&B - it is certainly a 'special place' and with charming hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oaklands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin R, Owner at Whalesong B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our aim is for every person to have that unique experience and delighted that your stay was special. We will do everything to ensure that we live up to your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 196 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in early Nov 2012. We had a great experience. The hosts are incredibly nice and helpful, not to mention accommodating of our many annoying requests (Can you put our freezer pack in your freezer overnight? Can we borrow an electrical adapter? Can we borrow a knife and cutting board for this pineapple we just bought?....). The breakfast is filling and tasty. Also, this was the only place we stayed in KZN that had reliable internet for the guests.

St Lucia is a very nice base camp for a variety of fun excursions. We did a self-guided drive in the wetlands park and saw a bunch of wildlife (including a Black Rhino!), snorkeled and, hiked on some (not terribly well marked) trails at the edge of town. Personally, I found the guided night drive a little disappointing (we saw mostly the same stuff we say during the day), though that is by no means a reflection on Whalesong or the hosts. There are some good restaurants in town, too.

Overall, we would stay stay here again, should be ever be lucky enough to find ourselves back in that part of the World.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GS2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin R, Owner at Whalesong B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. It is fantastic that you had a great experience. You certainly did not annoy us; we were happy to have the opportunity to make your stay just that little bit more special. The black rhino sighting was certainly a bonus. We hope that you will be back to see us and our friendly black rhinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at Whalesong with my newly wedded wife for five nights in November 2012. Coleen had helped us book a few activities in advance, so we had our stay well planned from the get-go. Breakfasts were really great too, a traditional English breakfast with fresh baked muffins, and we always looked forward to it each morning. The room was nice and the bathroom was very spaceous. We would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moss81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin R, Owner at Whalesong B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the activities. We will continue to find new muffin variations so that when you return you will have more surprises to look forward to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A great 3 night stay in a large and comfortable room with a terrace into a beautiful garden. The hosts, Coleen and Colin, made us feel very welcome and gave us great advice and information about the area. The breakfasts couldn't have been better. We highly recommend Whalesong B&B

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The quaint little town of St Lucia offers many accommodation establishments and I have seen only 5 of them, but Whalesong B&B is the place for me. With only 4 guest rooms and the friendliest hosts you feel just like visiting old friends. Collin and Colleen are knowledgeable and passionate about their town, the surrounding nature and the service they offer. The room we slept in was clean, nice decorated and had a spacious shower room on-suite. A large glass door leads out to a private veranda and the house offers lots of space in different areas. A great, perfectly maintained swimming pool surrounded by the lush vegetation tops it. Collin prepares a stunning breakfast, you have home baked cookies in your room and you feel like staying on. Thank you, we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricaAdventureSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Whalesong guest house. Colin and Coleen were brilliant hosts, explaining to us all of the activities St Lucia has to offer and pre-booking the boat cruise as well. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious - homemade muffins and fruit salad to die for, not forgetting Colin's excellent cooked breakfast! Thankyou!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Perfect place in Town and excellent hospitality during our three nights stay. Coleen and Colin are a very nice couple and gave us great tips on what to see/ to do in St. Lucia. We appreciated the Wonderful breakfast: those small pancakes were really delicious! Our room was very spacious and also the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabettatn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#4 of 29 in St Lucia
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Heritage House
At Heritage House
#8 of 29 in St Lucia
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#5 of 29 in St Lucia
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#15 of 29 in St Lucia
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong B&B

Address: 119 Kingfisher Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: $70 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whalesong Bed and Breakfast is situated on the Elephant Coast in the heart of the exquisite iSimangaliso World Heritage Site between Lake St Lucia and the Indian Ocean in South Africa. St Lucia won KwaZulu-Natal’s town of the year in 2010 and 2012. It is unique in that it is the only private village in the world that is surrounded by a world heritage site (natural wilderness). This unique village provides the visitor with flexibility, comfort and freedom to come and go with ease. Come and experience our friendly environment where our intention is to ensure you have pleasant and relaxing experience. We offer five spacious air conditioned bedrooms and the en suite bathrooms are luxurious. Tea and coffee facilities are provided in the rooms.Our delicious full English breakfast may be enjoyed in the dining room or on the sun drenched patio. Relax and enjoy sun downers by the pool or on the peaceful terrace at the end of the day. •Free WI-FI•Free secure off road parking is available. •Large screen satellite TV is provided in the lounge.•In our large tropical garden we have a swimming pool and a lapa with braai (barbeque) facilities. •We are less than 1km from the estuary, iSimangaliso Game Reserve, beach, shops and restaurants. •We strive to be as eco-friendly as possible in line with the local environment. Our aim is to leave you with treasured memories of your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Whalesong B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing