We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Lucia Safari Lodge
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Be aware before booking or making any payments through supporting website for this location since the Lodge DOES NOT respect such bookings and upon arrival you could be offered a small crappy room whilst you paid for a delux room ( as happened with me and my wife ) , luckily the owner interviened , the receptionist did not give a damm .
Worse was the sewer system though , if not blocked the raw sewer would come through the shower when flushing the toilet , absolutely disgusting !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: First go and see this place for yourself before making any commitments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 207 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

a well weekend spend, and a good place and fairly reasonable price. i will consider staying there again in future.
St lucia a is fabulous destination if you want tranquility. what a cool and calm place

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lucky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The place was very neat and Tidy. The thing I did not like when they kept knocking at the door telling us to keep the noise volume low. The reason we came was to have fun and we were restricted in that way, it was not like we were screaming but playing the board game 30 seconds was a problem.
Even playing music was a problem. We were not informed about the noise policy when we booked in otherwise we wouldn't have booked the place because the reason we came was to socialise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mashnee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSLKZN, Owner at St. Lucia Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

We are really disappointed that you have complaints as a result of our request that you tone down the noise. We had 3 complaints from the Lodge next door, our neighbours, we cannot ignore such requests. Hope you understand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Thank you for the great service, helpful staff, value for money. We had an awesome and memorable weekend. The organistation of the boat trip was professionally done. We highly recommend this place for any family or friendly outing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Room6 is not a 'welcome on holiday " room - sometimes it is the small things that add value.
The bathroom door is old and broken, squicks...which was a terrible if someone uses the bathroom when you are sleeping.
The division between the rooms is of poor quality which did not feel safe to use.
The basin and shower water does not work properly
Broken brick
The kitchen is outdated and not so good looking.
Unfortunately I expected better from a 3 star accommodation.

Locations was good and outdoors is great.
Grateful that the kettle was replaced when the other one stopped working.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Thank you for the great service, helpful staff , assisting with value for money activity bookings. We had a great weekend - kids already talking about a summer holiday stay. Wi if freely available, meant I could also get some urgent business done.
Easy accessible to all activities. Safety and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at St Lucia Safari Lodge. It is clean and walking distance from the town. The people are friendly and pleasant. Pricing is excellent. We recommend staying at St Lucia Safari Lodge.


  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#4 of 29 in St Lucia
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#15 of 29 in St Lucia
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lucia Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucia Safari Lodge

Address: 103 McKenzie Street | St. Lucia Estuary, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range: $43 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lucia Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Lucia Safari Lodge is situated on the North East Coast of South Africa in the scenic town of Saint Lucia. It boasts 27 rooms of which 15 are 4 to 6 sleeper self catering units and 12 Bed and Breakfast Units. Siant Lucia is surrounded by South Africa's first world Heritage Site, initially named as The Saint Lucia Wetlands Park. Visit Game Parks, do Whale Watching, Snorkelling, Kayaking and plenty more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your St. Lucia Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing