We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lucia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat
Ranked #1 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is such a great place, right in the heart of St Lucia allowing you to walk to the restaurants, but when you get in it is an oasis of quiet, and Fabienne (Serge was away) looked after us beautifully, and provided lovely and slightly different breakfasts.
Definitely a must if you want a top notch B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
153
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Serge and Fabien are the perfect hosts. With their vast knowledge of the area, they will happily sit down with you to discuss activities and eateries.

The small gestures and attention to detail are what really made our stay, this was illustrated when, having decided to wake up very early one morning to get to the park gates, they provided us with a cool box containing breakfast. We also bought a bottle of Champagne and left it in the fridge and when we came back that evening we found two champagne flutes in our room.

For us, the secluded surrounding, the comfortable and sublime décor of the rooms and the host’s willingness to spend time with us made this one the highlights of our holiday in South Africa.

An absolute must - Our only regret was not staying longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is really a piece of paradise on the borders of the wilds of St Lucia. The rooms are beautiful and considerately built using local trades and craftsmen. The breakfasts are outstanding and the knowledge and hospitality of the owners Serge and Fabienne is incredible. This is about more than bricks and mortar - there is an infectious love for Africa ingrained in this place and while you may find yourself coming back to visit again - after some leisurely chats with Serge, you could equally find yourself staying for good. They recommended a trip to see the turtles with the most amazing guide whose name I have unfortunately forgotten - but you must ask - a total character and such a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buonas, Schweiz
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

After travelling SA so many times, this was our 1st trip to this area. We stayed for two nights at Kwalucia only - unfortunately as we must admit. Not only is the area giving much more opportunities than expected but also because the place Serge and Fabienne are running is a small paradise on earth were you want to stay longer than only two days. Just a few steps from the mainroad in a very quiet neighborhood, all St. Lucia offers can be reach by food. The resort has a beautiful garden (like a jungle), lovely and well equipt rooms, very good breakfast and last but not least very friendly and welcoming hosts. Serge and Fabienne (and not to forget their son) just were great, providing us all kind of information and tips for the area. You feel at home from the very first minute on. Pity that we did not stay longer - but we will come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuYBuonas_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
276 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful place, after a long drive out of Swaziland it was a pleasure to arrive in this oasis in St Lucia.. Serge (Fabienne wasn't there) is a great host, nothing escapes him and it's nice to hear his stories on starting up a B&B in South Africa.. You can really feel the passion for Africa over here !

The room we had was very nicely decorated,very good bed, open bathroom and a small private terrace in front of the room; little downside was that we could hear a bit too much of our neighbours doing their things...

The garden : we don't have enough words to describe this one, a dream, very well thought off, giving privacy to all rooms , a great swimming pool and again very nice eye for details, a real peacefull spot in the more touristic St Lucia. The 'boutique' B&B is at (safe) walking distance from the center, where you'll find the usual food chains, but not a real good restaurant, so don't expect a culinary experience in St Lucia!

Cape Vidal is nearby and worthwhile a visit and other parks are just an hour's drive away.

This place is definitely 'the' B&B to stay at when around . We'll for sure will return to it !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Serge and Fabienne running the B&B were very friendly and welcoming.You could immediately tell that they were sincerely passionate about making sure that you were comfortable staying at there retreat. The accomodations were great and filled with all the modern conveniences. The grounds are lovely, filled with various flowers, plants and trees. The breakfast served was delicious with good choices, probably the best eggs in South Africa. We were very happy that we chose to stay there, and would highly recommend anyone looking accomodations in the area to choose the Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat. We really loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geemanmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weingarten, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at Kwalucia Private Retreat for three days and we were smitten by this wonderful accomodation. Everything was perfect, the guesthouse, the surroundings, the breakfast and most of all the hosts. Fabienne and Serge pay great attention to detail and they really thought of everything to make our stay such a memorable one. When we had to leave we felt like leaving good friends. When we arrived Serge greeted us and immediately offered us something to drink and then he took the time to give us tips in regards to game drives, where to eat out for dinner etc (which are all within walking distance). What we also liked is the environmental consciousness both Fabienne and Serge possess. All in all the retreat surpassed our expectations and we can highly recommend it. We definately would go back should we be in that area of South Africa again.

Room Tip: Guesthouse Number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miami33129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.2 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#13 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat

Property: Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat
Address: 17 Katonkel Av, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat is an exclusive African Safari Retreat born from the combination of the Zulu spirit and the passion for unspoiled wilderness. Located in St Lucia,the only private village in Southern Africa to be completely surrounded by a Natural World Heritage Site. St Lucia is part of the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, covering a area of 332 000 hectares . (Formely the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park).Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat has 4 exclusives African style en suite rooms all of which have private patio leading onto a lush romantic tropical garden with indigenous trees.Kwalucia is situated within a safe walking distance (just watch out for the hippos at night) from the main street where numerous restaurants are situated to cater all your desires. English,French,Dutch, Spanish and Catalan spoken.Owner management. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing