We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lucia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat
Ranked #1 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Little paradise”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We startet our holidays at the Kwalucia Guesthouse and got greeted at the door by the amazing hosts Serge and his wife Fabienne. He gave us a very warm welcome with refreshments and a lot of informations and tips about Wildlife Parks, Beaches, viewing spots as well as Restaurant for the upcoming 3 days in St. Lucia.
The rooms, (there are 4) ours was No. 3 in a tropical garden with our own privat patio are very nicely decorated in a African Safari Bungalow style with a large half open bathroom with a rainshower and a free standing bathtub.
In front of the breakfast lounge is a nice terrace right by the pool to enjoy the delicious and beautiful prepared breakfast cocked and served by Fabienne & Serge and their lovely staff.
We appreciated all the infos and tips about the parks and trips in the St. Lucia area.

Room Tip: We got room No.3 with a large secluded patio surrounded by a lot of tropical greens. Would go again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
166
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

At the end of the holiday we stayed at this lovely exclusive place (only 4 rooms) in the middle of the small town but totally quiet and secluded. The rooms are all in a beautiful garden and have everything one needs. The breakfast is lovely and Serge is forever helpful in anything one wants to do or see. And we also saw the hippos walking through town. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

From the moment we stepped into Fabienne and Serge's little paradise, we felt welcome and comfortable. The property consists of various buildings connected by a beautiful tropical garden filled with planta and life. Nothing is left to chance and yet feels quite natural. We could feel that there is a lot of passion behind all this and not just a business. The rooms (we stayed in #3) are large and nicely decorated and held in warm earthy colours. The bed was extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent and generous, the hosts were very caring. We never felt like customers but like guests.

My only criticism if i had to say something was that I would prefer a separate toilet in the room but it was not a big problem at all.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2011

we stayed 3 nights at Kwalucia private safari retreat as the 'closure' of our holiday in South-Africa. it was an amazing experience overall. Serge and Fabienne welcomed us in their 'garden of eden' and made us feel at home. The rooms are warm and personally decorated, a piece of artwork, every detail thought through and a sight for sore eyes. the garden with the boma and the swimming pool, the terrass, the breakfast room...everything makes you want to stay in and enjoy the environment. maybe we shouldn't make too much publicity, everyone will want to go there and never leave!!! we sure 'd love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilse-werner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We just spent 24 days in So Africa and were in 7 places. Kwalucia was my favorite. I loved the beauty and feel. Serge was a wonderful host. The food was good, Serge helped us with all the local activity and answered all our questions.....and believe I had plenty. I especially enjoyed the beautiful colors and works of art in the room. The grounds were lush and well kept. Africa stole my heart and I will be back to see Kwalucia and visit Serge. If you're lucky you will too.

Cheryl USA

Room Tip: Spend three days if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Serg & Fabienne were truly wonderful & inspirational hosts. They have created, through hard work & imagination a small, intimate & unique oasis of African tranquility in St Lucia. The bedroom was very comfortable & beautifully decorated, complete with its own fire pit outside to enjoy sitting round in the evening with a glass of wine or beer! The breakfast was varied and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble, no questions left unanswered. Their website was very professional,very user friendly & packed with relevant information. We stayed 5 nights here but it should have been longer. We have no doubt this place will be a tremendous success.
Phil & Kay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This review is long overdue. Spent 2 fantastic days in Feb at this hidden gem. The other reviews say it all....you have to stay here! Some of our memorable moments are bumping into a hippo on the way to dinner in the town and having one of Serge's fantastic breakfasts with two fruit bats just snuggled down in the tree next to us. Thank you for sharing your dream home with us Serge, it was truly memorable!!

Cliff and Mason

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat

Property: Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat
Address: 17 Katonkel Av, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat is an exclusive African Safari Retreat born from the combination of the Zulu spirit and the passion for unspoiled wilderness. Located in St Lucia,the only private village in Southern Africa to be completely surrounded by a Natural World Heritage Site. St Lucia is part of the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, covering a area of 332 000 hectares . (Formely the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park).Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat has 4 exclusives African style en suite rooms all of which have private patio leading onto a lush romantic tropical garden with indigenous trees.Kwalucia is situated within a safe walking distance (just watch out for the hippos at night) from the main street where numerous restaurants are situated to cater all your desires. English,French,Dutch, Spanish and Catalan spoken.Owner management. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing