We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little piece of paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lucia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat
Ranked #1 of 31 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2011

we stayed 3 nights at Kwalucia private safari retreat as the 'closure' of our holiday in South-Africa. it was an amazing experience overall. Serge and Fabienne welcomed us in their 'garden of eden' and made us feel at home. The rooms are warm and personally decorated, a piece of artwork, every detail thought through and a sight for sore eyes. the garden with the boma and the swimming pool, the terrass, the breakfast room...everything makes you want to stay in and enjoy the environment. maybe we shouldn't make too much publicity, everyone will want to go there and never leave!!! we sure 'd love to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilse-werner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 277 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

We just spent 24 days in So Africa and were in 7 places. Kwalucia was my favorite. I loved the beauty and feel. Serge was a wonderful host. The food was good, Serge helped us with all the local activity and answered all our questions.....and believe I had plenty. I especially enjoyed the beautiful colors and works of art in the room. The grounds were lush and well kept. Africa stole my heart and I will be back to see Kwalucia and visit Serge. If you're lucky you will too.

Cheryl USA

Room Tip: Spend three days if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Serg & Fabienne were truly wonderful & inspirational hosts. They have created, through hard work & imagination a small, intimate & unique oasis of African tranquility in St Lucia. The bedroom was very comfortable & beautifully decorated, complete with its own fire pit outside to enjoy sitting round in the evening with a glass of wine or beer! The breakfast was varied and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble, no questions left unanswered. Their website was very professional,very user friendly & packed with relevant information. We stayed 5 nights here but it should have been longer. We have no doubt this place will be a tremendous success.
Phil & Kay

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This review is long overdue. Spent 2 fantastic days in Feb at this hidden gem. The other reviews say it all....you have to stay here! Some of our memorable moments are bumping into a hippo on the way to dinner in the town and having one of Serge's fantastic breakfasts with two fruit bats just snuggled down in the tree next to us. Thank you for sharing your dream home with us Serge, it was truly memorable!!

Cliff and Mason

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

The stay, the rooms, the surrounding nature, the host were absolutely fantastic! Serge, the host, his enthousiasm and his stories are really inspiring. The rooms are really wonderfull, such as the breakfast and the swimming pool. A nice cool off after a trip to the beautiful St Lucia wetlands and the Hluhluwe reserve. We travelled 18 days in South-Africa and the nature of St Lucia and surroundings is the most beautiful we've seen. We come back one day, that's for sure :-)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoreP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Because of the exeptional reviews about Kwalucia B&B and the numberous leisure-time possibilities in St. Lucia and surroundings we booked three nights in this fabulous place, and no reason was given to regret! The accommodation is cozy, stylish and affectionately furnished right down to the last detail. Serge, the host, gave us many usefull and handy tips of how to exploit our stay here: Dreamlike beaches, extraordinary flora and fauna, and also those fascinating talks with Serge drinking wonderful South African wine made the time pass much too quickly. An absolute Highlight on our South Africa Trip! We are looking forward to visit St. Lucia and the Kwalucia Safari Retreat again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fab3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

When we arrived at Kwalucia we were immediately strike by the atmosphere….A true African gem situated in the small village of St Lucia. A place where nature is a priority and comfort associate with luxury is obvious. Here you will really feel the melting of 2 worlds: The warm African style and decor and the Western attention to details and comfort. Every rooms is decorated in a beautiful African style, basketry, wooden and stone carving ,painting ,bead works…. the love of the African Art is everywhere. It’s ideally situated , 2 minutes by car from the entrance gate of Isimangaliso Wetlands Park and the beaches and 2 minutes by foot from the main street and the restaurants. Fabienne and Serge are 2 passionate host. They knows Africa very well and all their advises and knowledge about the area were very helpful, they have organized all our activities. During all our stay we couldn’t believe how Fabienne and Serge were dedicated, passionate, professionals and they haven’t spare any efforts to make our stay the most memorable one and we had the true impression to be already part of the family. The breakfasts were gorgeous and in abundance. That evening around the fire with a good glass of South African wine,our conversations in all simplicity but with open heart will stay in our memories for a long time.Thank you Fabienne and Serge to have share with us your passion for Africa and your sense of respect for the wilderness and the wildlife in general. We will definitively come back at this very unique and awesome place called Kwalucia.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#4 of 31 in St Lucia
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Coast Guest House
0.1 mi away
At Heritage House
At Heritage House
#8 of 31 in St Lucia
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat

Address: 17 Katonkel Av, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: $110 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kwalucia Private Safari Retreat has 4 exclusive African style en suite rooms all of which have a private patio leading onto a romantic tropical garden. Suites are furnished with comfortable 2 extra-long twin beds or 1 extra-long king size bed. All suites are equipped with bar fridge, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning, ceiling fans, window insect screens, wall safe, hairdryer, bathrobes, slippers, beach towels and electrical heat blankets to keep you toasty warm during the winter nights. All bathrooms are equipped with a large walk-in shower,a hand-wash basin and a Victorian free standing bath. Kwalucia is situated within a safe walking distance (just watch out for the hippos at night) from the main street where numerous restaurants are situated to cater all your desires. English,French,Dutch, Spanish and Catalan spoken.Owner management. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing