We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Igwalagwala Guest House
Ranked #10 of 31 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

In a town that seems to be set up for tourists you certainly will find a lot of accommodation available but Igwalagwala was indeed perfect for us. Not usually a fan of b&b's I was pleasantly surprised by the privacy and professional attitude of Glynnis and her team. Breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable.

Room Tip: Make sure to try the delicious cheese omelette!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Shalin1ZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 160 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very nice B&B in a safe area and on a 3 minute walk from town. Bruce and Eugene are very good hosts. They will help you organize your stay. We stayed in the room by the pool for two nights. The bedroom was clean and the breakfast was royal. We very much enjoyed our stay. When you stay in Saint Lucia this is definitely to place to be

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartHLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful place. Bruce and Glynis are the perfect hosts. They had so many suggestions for us and organiced the crocodile feed in the crocodile centre in last minute, the wale watching, the hippo and croc tour, good restaurants,... Thanks a lot. Glynis is a perfect cook. The breakfast is great and the Braai with Bruce, Glynis and some other guests was a high light. We are pleased to recommend Igwalagwala Guest House to all visitors of St.Lucia and hope to come back some time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wolfgang p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We planned to stay only one night in St. Lucia. After all the information and tips Glynis gave we decided to stay two nights. The room was clean and situated next to the garden with swimming pool. Breakfast was great, especially the home-made muffins. If you need a place in St. Lucia this is a perfect option!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this B&B. Safe area and a 3 min. walk to the main street so restaurants on walking distance. Good beds, clean rooms and good breakfast. Free wifi! Owners Glynis and Bruce are perfect hosts, they give you all the necessary info and suggestions and provide you free of charge with beach towels, cooling boxes and other gear for the beach and also maps. They offer to make reservations for instance for the hippo boat trip or night drive in the Isimangoliso Park. We will recommend Igwalagwala Guest House to all our friend and we will certainly stay here when visiting again St. Lucia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Arrived early after doing a mountain bike race in nearby Imfolozi Game Reserve, desperately needing a shower. Although the room was not ready, we were allowed to freshen up before heading off to Cape Vidal. Thanks Bruce and Glynis for your warm welcome, we slept like logs and headed off home with full bellies after your amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great B&B with big comfortable rooms, swimming pool, comfortable lounge and the best breakfast we had in S.Africa. Shops and restaurants and laundrette were nearby. Glynis was a very cheerful and welcoming hostess and happy to help advise and organise excursions. A very happy place. Thank you to both Glynis and Bruce for making our stay so merry.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.2 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#17 of 31 in St Lucia
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#11 of 31 in St Lucia
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkers Cottages
Parkers Cottages
#13 of 31 in St Lucia
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Avalone Guest House
Avalone Guest House
#9 of 31 in St Lucia
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Igwalagwala Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Igwalagwala Guest House

Address: 91 Pelican Street St. | Kwa Zulu Natal, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: $81 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Igwalagwala Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iGwalagwala Guest House is located in The Greater St Lucia Wetland Park, now known as Isimangaliso Wetland Park, South Africa's first natural World Heritage Site. This entire coastline including the surrounding big five game reserves is known as the Elephant Coast. iGwala is the Zulu word for the Turaco (Loerie) bird found in abundance in the tropical gardens of our establishment and the surrounding area. The whole area is a birders' paradise as more than two thirds of the entire South African bird species is found in this Park. Just two and a half hours from Durban and six hours from Johannesburg, iGwalagwala Guest House offers one-on-one owner hospitality with a wealth of information on the area to assist you to make the most of your adventures exploring the Wetland Park and nearby estuary mouth of Lake St Lucia. Our five comfortable, double rooms are en-suite and equipped with fans or air conditioning & tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy our hearty country style breakfast or alternatively opt for a continental-style buffet. Dinners are available on request and the large fully equipped kitchen gives guests the option of self-catering. Relax in our lounge or around the sparking pool in our tropical garden, sipping cocktails or enjoying our famous high teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Igwalagwala Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing