We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge Afrique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodge Afrique
Ranked #3 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town , South Africa
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We spent four nights at the Lodge Afrique and had a lovely time Te rooms and lodge are beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was excellent and Tessa was a friendly and charming hostess.
We'd certainly stay again and recommend it thoroughly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the lodge clean and comfortable. It was nice getting to know you as you stayed for four days and we had some time to have nice little chats. I hope the rest of your holiday was great as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    51
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
294
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is definitely the place to stay in st. lucia! Great hotel with a clean and nice pool and a very kind and helpful staff. Great rooms and a delicious breakfast! There is just nothing to improve :)!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your very nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a guest from Canada and stayed at Lodge Afrique for two nights. It was clean and well cared for.The manageress, Tessa, was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are really good too. Rooms are air conditioned with a bath as well as a shower. I would definitely recommend staying at Lodge Afrique.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
I am glad you three ladies arrived home safe and sound to your loved ones. It was so nice to meet you and I am very glad you enjoyed your stay here.
Thank you for the nice review, I just hope next time you will give us full marks for all categories as we try to give the best possible service in all the categories.
Till we meet again, be well and stay as sweet as you were when you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wateringen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were 3 nights in lodge Afrique. very nice cottages in a beautiful garden. All cottages are aircondisionerd. Bar and lobby however not, so are very warm. Very friendly people.
Price/quality is prefect.

Room Tip: all units are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FerryJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of Lodge Afrique.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and I will inform the owners that you feel the bar and reception area is very hot and humid in the summer time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our second stay at Lodge Afrique and again we can say it was excellent ! The new manager Tessa (as well as Robyn had been in 2011) was brilliant in making us feel very welcome and helped with everything. We love the type of little houses in african style embedded in a lovely garden. The room was very clean with A.C. working very well. The pool also was in perfect condition so we enjoyed it very much after a long day´s tour. We´d definitely choose this little paradise again !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ernst B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
It was so nice to welcome you here to Lodge Afrique for your second visit to us. You are correct, our AC in the rooms take the sting out of our high humidity. We are having the most wonderful sunny days and the beach are full of people swimming and sunbathing.
I am sure you want to come back now for the third time and you are ever so welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a fantastic bed and breakfast. Rooms were beautifully furnished, breakfast excellent and location right in the centre of things but quiet location. Close proximity to all the sights and things to do. Tessa the Manageress was so helpful and efficient and really made us feel so welcome and made great suggestions of the sights and restaurants to visit. We definitely will be calling back for a much longer stay on our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms of very high quality and standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your words of appreciation for this beautiful lodge that I manage for the owners.
It was so nice to have you here and we hope you really come back for a visit in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Good location. Very spacious room in a rondavel. Beautiful spacious bathroom. Very friendly and helpful staff who will give you tips and will make reservations for you. Breakfast is wonderful. We will absolutely return here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LdVries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
It is very warm and humid here at the moment and we are all making good use of the pool. I see good friendships starting around the pool and that makes the atmosphere so light and friendly.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Lodge Afrique and looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Coast Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Afrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Afrique

Property: Lodge Afrique
Address: 71 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Afrique 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Afrique is a 4 star Guest House with eight free standing Luxurious Thatched Suites, each with full Afro/Victorian bathroom. Lodge Afrique can cater for up to 16 people at a time. The spacious and Luxurious Air-conditioned Suites, each with a Private outdoor shower leading off the patio, are situated in a Tropical garden with a Sparkling pool. All the suites are connected to the Central Lodge by a raised wooden deck pathway over the Beautiful Lush Garden. Guests gather in the Central Lodge which includes the Breakfast, Bar, Braai and Leisure Area equipped with satellite television. Allow us to turn your honeymoon at Lodge Afrique into a truly memorable experience. Romantic picnics, forest walks, gentle horse rides, pampering treatments, sensational soaks in a bubble filled bath, sun-downers on your patio and a delicious champagne breakfast to start your day. Our aim is to make sure our guests are well looked after. We have Generators and Boreholes on the property to insure that neither drought nor Load-Shedding interferes with your stay at Lodge Afrique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lodge Afrique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing