We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge Afrique-wonderful accommodation St Lucia”
Review of Lodge Afrique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge Afrique
Ranked #4 of 30 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I think that this may be the best accommodation in St Lucia. Although it is not a budget breaker it is luxurious enough to deserve it's 4 stars. The accommodation was clean (cleaned out daily), the pictures posted on the advert are actually what you see when you get there, the swimming pool was sparkling, the venue immaculate. It is well situated away from the busy and noisy McKenzie street. The hostess Tessa is great and accommodating, able to book any activities for you. Breakfast was brilliant and plentiful. There are only 8 units so the place doesn't feel crowded or busy. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricanCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us.
You must come back soon as the new Western Shores Game Reserve Isimangaliso opened last week and guests just love the animal sightings there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 522 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

during our trip of one month in south africa we had very good lodges. the lodge afrique is probably the top one for the ratio quality/price we had ! the welcome and the personnal are very discret and nice. The owner gave us good informations for visiting and restaurants. The area is wonderful ! the paradise !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hello and St Lucia greetings from our paradise. It is getting nice and warm now and the pool is in constant use every day.
The dining area is now permanently open to the pool and the garden with this beautiful weather we are experiencing. You would have loved the sunny days.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Warm welcome by Tessa the manager who is always there to help, give suggestions and directions. Breakfast was always fresh with a variety each day. The rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. For once, the website depicts EXACTLY what the lodge looks like.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We here at Lodge Afrique appreciate your comments and are very pleased to know that you experienced everything here at the lodge as we promise on our website.
Please come back and visit us again in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Wonderful place, a gem. Tessa the manageress is the best manager we have come across in S.A.
The place is peaceful, very clean, staff are brilliant, food excellent. All the staff are very informative about the best places to eat, to visit and if you are leaving early they do a great packed breakfast.
You can even order dinner in the morning or a BBQ and Tessa herself is a wonderful cook.
We will return next year.. We can not praise this place enough...... Book it now!!!

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre... All room are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiep389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hi, I hope you had a safe journey in the wet weather when you left St Lucia.
Thank you for your kind words and we all here at Lodge Afrique are missing you already.
We hope you keep your promise of returning next year. Book early!!
Enjoy the rest of your holiday and the spa in particular.
Kind regards
Tessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The owner of this guest house have certainly researched very well the requirements of tourists. From the moment you slip under the fresh linen duvet cover on the very comfortable bed you know you are in for a great experience. If you are planning a stay in St Lucia try this place first, but book early there are rarely vacancies, if you are successful you will understand why.
A really first class experience thanks and well done.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Good Afternoon and St Lucia greetings to you.
It was such a pleasure to have you at the lodge, and we are looking forward to your next visit already.
We had a wonderful sunny day today after a few days of rain and the garden is just so beautiful.
Oh! and before I forget, the hippo's are visiting us at night again and the guests just love it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were up in the St Lucia area exploring the Hluhlue Imfalozi game park and decided to try and find accommodation to save driving all the way back to our hotel and returning next day to visit the Wetlands.We were fortunate to hear of a vacancy at Lodge Afrique and as soon as we saw the place grabbed the opportunity.It is a really delightfull place to stay.There are eight individual rondavels offering spacious accommodation.The rooms were very attractivly furnished with an African theme which was just right ,not too much as is the case in many places .The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep after a tiring day.The bathroom en suite with a spacious shower.The garden was beautifully landscaped with tree ferns.palms various other shrubs which I couldn't name but an overall pleasing effect.Stone lanterns led us over the raised boardwak back to our rondavel.We had breakfast on the terrace the usual type of food on offer but nicely presented and served.Yessa was extremely pleasant ,most welcoming and helpfull.If we are fortunate enough to visit this area again we would love to stay there again and would strongly advise friends and fellow travellors to go there and discover a little African treasure

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umhlanga252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for the very nice review
You should be here now after the rains to see how beautiful the garden is now! The flowers are blooming and everything is just growing.
We hope to see you back here by us again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The three of us had a superb relaxing stay for 2 nights at this very attractive cosy lodge - very reasonably priced - in a quiet area of St Lucia. Our room was spacious, with a huge bed and modern en suite bathroom, and the surrounding gardens were lovely. We even met the resident turtle poolside. Our hostess, Tessa, went out of her way to accommodate all our needs (thanks for the adaptors, Tessa, and my wife's 10 minute boiled eggs!!) and was a treasure trove of information. On her recommendation we went on a hippo and croc tour of the estuary (large pods of hippos seen close up); and, even better, was a cultural tour of the one of the local villages where we spent time with the local Zulu residents, visited their schools (heartwarming kids, don't forget to buy sweets to distribute beforehand), watched a Zulu dance and even attended a real practising witch doctor. Don't believe people when they say there is not much to do in St Lucia - we spent an afternoon on gorgeous and deserted sandy beaches (great waves, but careful of the undertow) and walked for an hour around the estuary via a boardwalk and saw plenty of birds, hippos cavorting and crocodiles within throwing distance. And of couse you have the iSimalangoliso wetland park on your doorstep, which was stunning (you need a car - we visited Caroline Bay and the giant sand dunes at Cape Vidal. We were told Sodwana and Kosi are also beautiful, though more remote). We saw families of black rhino, majestic kudus and even an eagle sat by the roadside (I missed the money photo, d'oh!!) Plus you are only an hour's drive from Imfolozi Game reserve. So all in all, a perfect place to stay - go before too many people find out!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank LondonTaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for liking St Lucia and Lodge Afrique so much!
It was such a pleasure to have you here at our establishment and to know that you really got to know our little town and the surrounding areas.
I hope we will be lucky enough to see you again on your next visit to South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#5 of 30 in St Lucia
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Coast Guest House
0.3 mi away
Avalone Guest House
Avalone Guest House
#11 of 30 in St Lucia
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Afrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Afrique

Address: 71 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: $92 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Afrique 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Afrique is a 4 star Guest House with eight free standing Luxurious Thatched Suites, each with full Afro/Victorian bathroom. Lodge Afrique can cater for up to 16 people at a time. The spacious and Luxurious Air-conditioned Suites, each with a Private outdoor shower leading off the patio, are situated in a Tropical garden with a Sparkling pool. All the suites are connected to the Central Lodge by a raised wooden deck pathway over the Beautiful Lush Garden. Guests gather in the Central Lodge which includes the Breakfast, Bar, Braai and Leisure Area equipped with satellite television. Allow us to turn your honeymoon at Lodge Afrique into a truly memorable experience. Romantic picnics, forest walks, gentle horse rides, pampering treatments, sensational soaks in a bubble filled bath, sun-downers on your patio and a delicious champagne breakfast to start your day. Our aim is to make sure our guests are well looked after. We have Generators and Boreholes on the property to insure that neither drought nor Load-Shedding interferes with your stay at Lodge Afrique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge Afrique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing