We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Safari Experience”

Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heritage tours & Safaris was established by people that LOVE wildlife. Family owned and proudly South African, our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion with all the satisfied tourists that have been though our hands.Heritage Tours & Safaris offers the widest range of Big 5 Safaris, night drives, hippo and croc cruises and Whale Watching.Our safaris/activities are not only affordable but also offer our guests a value-filled product with a personal touch.We invite you to find out for yourself what sets us apart as a safari company.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Ames, Iowa
1 review
“Fabulous Safari Experience”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We traveled to South Africa from the United States on business and decided that we would like to end our trip with a two day safari. I learned of Heritage Tours and Safaris via internet searching and reading reviews on-line. After reading many positive experiences, and several e-mail questions to Mandy (the owner/operator of Heritage Tours) we decided to make our reservations. Thank goodness we did, because Heritage Tours helped to provide us with one of the most positive memorable experiences of our lives! Mandy took care of our travel to and from Durban, our lodging (Umlilo Lodge was great), and our complete Safari. The guides were super and did their best to find as many animals for us to see as possible. The food provided was also very good. Thanks for such a wonderful experience Heritage Tours!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    51
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Brian & Trevor - Amazing”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

In the beginning of January 2013 we had an amazing experience on the Hluhluwe Game Drive and the Hippo & Croc boat cruise.

After the excellent reviews I got from family (both local and UK) based on the two excursions, I had the opportunity to go and see for myself.

Brian was the perfect guide, living for his job and the outdoors being his passion. The breakfast spread in the park under the trees and the braai lunch in the park next to the river was great!

Trevor, thank you for the knowledge and friendly attitude you conducted the cruise with! You truly releate to any and all people :)

Thank you for a wonderful experience, you will be highly recommended to all!

It showed me one is never too old to learn new things.

Thank you also to Mandy, Quinton and Etienne.

See you again soon!

L.Bruwer - Fairfield Tours - CPT ZA.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LA0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritagesafaris, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
It was our absolute pleasure, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hippo and Croc Boat Trip on the St Lucia Estuary”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We booked and paid in advance for the trip. Bookings were made easily via email and our enquiry was handled timeously. Trevor was our guide aboard The Shoreline and proved to be really informative and interesting, sharing his up to date knowledge about the history and future of the estuary....and his wealth of information regarding the animals viz hippo, crocs and birdlife made for an entertaining tour!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The entire day was brilliant and very informative. Big thank you to Bev and our guide Gert. Gert was very knowledgable and accomodating. Thanks again. You will definitely be seeing us again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor701110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such good hospitality”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We went in to the office cause we had had a attempted break into out car and they are connected to europcar. The man gave us such good help and warm hospitality. We ended up booking a river tour to see the hippos and got on one within 30 min. The tour was fantastic and the girl driving the boat and guiding us was great. Later that evenin we went shopping and met the man in the supermarket and he gave us extra information about our car and that he had arranged for us to go to Richards bay to have it changed. I am really happy for his service.

Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingTurtleSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I will be sure to let Ettienne know, thank you very much for the review, it is so nice to hear how helpful he was and that you enjoyed the hippo boat cruise with Stacey.

Kind regards

Heritage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Day Tours & Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Day Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing