We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome 3 day Safari in and around St Lucia”

Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heritage tours & Safaris was established by people that LOVE wildlife. Family owned and proudly South African, our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion with all the satisfied tourists that have been though our hands.Heritage Tours & Safaris offers the widest range of Big 5 Safaris, night drives, hippo and croc cruises and Whale Watching.Our safaris/activities are not only affordable but also offer our guests a value-filled product with a personal touch.We invite you to find out for yourself what sets us apart as a safari company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked the 2 night package and were picked up from our resort in Durban on the first day at 11 and driven down to St Lucia. After checking into our Lodge which was superb we headed off for our first trip the Hippo and Croc boat trip. After a quick dinner we then had a night drive into the Isimaangaliso wetland Park. The day was tiring and exhilarating at the same time. Day 2 up at 4.15 for a 5am start for the Big 5 Safari in Hluhluwe Umfolozi Game reserve. The weather was against us to see the lions and leopards but we did see tracks that they had been about, however what we did see was awesome. Day 3 Isimangaliso Wetland park again awesome despite the weather. Stacey and Phillip were our guides, they were outstanding and loved what they were doing. They were so enthusiastic to share their knowledge with us and desperate to show us as much as they could we were out longer than they were scheduled to be at no extra cost to us. They definitely went that bit extra to give us the experience of a life time. We will definitely go back and find those lions and leopards and will book through Heritage they ticked all the boxes for us.

2  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritagesafaris, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

If their is anything that we enjoy more it is hearing from our clients, thank you so much for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 305 of 424 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have booked the 2 nights safari package with Heritage Tours. We did the Kroc and Hippo Boat Trip, the night drive, the full day game drive and the Cape Vidal tour.

All was perfectly organized by Heritage and we had a wonderful accommodation in St. Lucia. A very big thank you to our tour guides Bryan and Trevor who both did a fantastic job on the tours and we had so much fun with you. We would definetely book again with Heritage!

1  Thank PhilipRiedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritagesafaris, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our safari package thank you very much for the review it is much appreciated. From the Heritage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a great time during the 3 days we stayed in St. Lucia. Bryan, our tour guide was great! He took us to the iMfolozi Big Five Safari, which was amazing. He also gave us a tour around the iSimangaliso Cape Vidal Bush and Beach, which was a dream. Not only did he know a whole load about the wildlife but was also super passionate about his job. It is evident he knows what he’s talking about and that he wants everyone else to love the nature as much as he does. I would highly recommend Heritage tours and safaris. It was an unforgettable experience.

1  Thank Adriana280395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We did 4 trips with Heritage Safaris and loved all of them. The guides are not only very knowledgeable, but also about incredibly passionate about wildlife and conservation. Trevor, our guide to Hluhluwe explained to us the backstory behind the injured warthog that we saw and shared his personal experience about being on the anti-rhino poaching team. I also loved the hippo tour. I learned so much from Stacey and couldn't believe how close to the hippos we got. Bryan was our guide for the night game drive and the Cape Vidal tour. I swear he has eyes in the back of his head. His ability to spot animals is incredible. We wouldn't have seen 75% of the wildlife that we saw had we not gone with Heritage Safaris. I would highly recommend them.

2  Thank Laurel_C_Robbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My sister and I went on a 4 day/3 night safari with Heritage and had a wonderful time. We were picked up at the Durban airport without any issues. The vehicles used for transport are comfortable. At pickup we were provided with a full itinerary and everything was very organized. Bryan was our tour guide for most of our trip and he was great! We saw the big 5 before lunch on our Hluhluwe/Imflozi safari. We went on a night safari in iSimangaliso. The hippo/croc boat ride during sunset was beautiful. The iSimangaliso wetland park was different from the other sites, which made for a nice variety. We even had a private cookout one day near a beach. Heritage arranged for us to stay at a local B&B in Saint Lucia, which was basic but comfortable. The proprietors were extremely nice and cooked wonderful homemade meals. One of the nicest things about being based in Saint Lucia and traveling out to go on safari is that you get to see different parks and sights rather than staying at only one game reserve. Saint Lucia is a wonderful town to explore and is very walkable. The folks at Heritage were so pleasant. I got sick while on the trip and they helped to get me to a doctor and rearrange our schedule so that we didn't miss out on anything. I would recommend using Heritage for anyone!

3  Thank biscottie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritagesafaris, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you and we truly hope that you left with amazing moments that will last a lifetime. Kind regards Heritage Tours & Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Day Tours & Safaris also viewed

 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Heritage Day Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing